Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Snakewoman of Little Egypt - A Novel - cover

Snakewoman of Little Egypt - A Novel

Robert Hellenga

Publisher: Walker Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Jackson Jones is trying to decide whether to remain an anthropology professor in his small Midwestern town, or to return to doing fieldwork among the Mbuti people, in their African Garden of Eden. His ruminations are interrupted by the arrival of a late friend's niece, who has just been sprung from jail. Sunny admits that she shot her husband, an evangelical pastor from the Little Egypt region of Illinois, but he had it coming after forcing her to take on a rattle snake. As an anthropologist, Jackson is curious about Sunny's experiences with The Church of the Burning Bush; as a man, he is not immune to her backwoods sassiness. Although Sunny is pleased to be with a kind partner at last, she is also serious about her belated education--funded by her late uncle--at Jackson's university. French and herpetology compete for her attention, and Jackson's plan to take her to Paris to propose marriage are waylaid when she decides to travel to an academic conference with her biology professor instead. Jackson is crushed and heads for Little Egypt in Sunny's absence, to get to know her ex-husband and to study the snake-handling ceremonies at his evangelical church. Complications ensue, including Jackson's near-death experience and Sunny's murder of her ex, but fate is a positive force for all in the end. Packed with both information and emotion, Snakewoman of Little Egypt delivers Robert Hellenga at the top of his form.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Artful Match (London Beginnings Book #3) - cover

    The Artful Match (London...

    Jennifer Delamere

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    Cara Bernay has never fit in. At loose ends in 1881 London after a near tragedy costs her a job, she befriends a carefree artist. With his help, she begins planning a new life and developing her own artistic talent. But soon Cara finds herself at odds with the artist's brother--a handsome but arrogant earl forcing his brother back to a "respectable" life.Henry Burke, the Earl of Morestowe, feels the weight of growing financial burdens. His younger brother is the one person who can save their family, and Henry needs him back home. Despite misgivings about Cara's mysterious background, Henry sees she's a positive influence on his brother and on Henry's young ward, and he strikes a deal with her to return with them to their estate.  But the family has their own secrets, and when Cara, drawn ever closer to Henry, stumbles onto the truth, she must choose between following her heart and pursuing a bold plan that could bring disaster.
    Show book
  • The Last Season - cover

    The Last Season

    Jenny Judson, Danielle Mahfood

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks Fall Must Read
     
    Set in Victorian England, The Last Season is a story of social upheaval, changing fortunes, and an unlikely romance that develops between a well-to-do heiress and a stable boy.
     
    When they meet as adolescents at Drayton Manor, the well-to-do Cassandra Drayton and the manor's stable boy, Crispin St. John, seem destined for very different futures. Yet, the two strike up a secret and forbidden friendship. Once discovered, they are forced apart, with Cassandra staying locked in her father's world and Crispin traveling to India to make his own way.
     
    Years later, when Cassandra's high-society London lifestyle is shattered by her father's spectacular fall from grace, she is surprised to reunite with her childhood friend, no longer a penniless boy but an enterprising young man who has risen through the ranks of the Indian cotton trade. As they navigate changing circumstances, fickle friendships, and social upheaval, Cassandra and Crispin find that the bond they developed as children is a lasting one.
     
    Praise for The Last Season
     
    “Old school historical romance is not typically my genre, but this sweeping, expertly-written narrative by two friends from St. Paul’s boarding school who split ways to go to Harvard and Yale is like a smart dose of Downton Abbey. Set in Victorian England, this story about a wealthy young woman and the stable boy at her “manor” as their fortunes rise and fall over the years has all the saucy ingredients for an epic escapist read.” —Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks
     
    “Judson and Mahfood immerse readers in British high society...blending Regency romance with Dickensian themes of reinvention, unrequited love, and unexpected benevolence...”—Booklist
     
    “If you love a juicy, Victorian-era story of forbidden love, then The Last Season by Jenny Judson and Danielle Mahfood deserves to be at the top of your TBR pile.” —PopSugar
    Show book
  • A Christmas in the Alps - A Christmas Novella - cover

    A Christmas in the Alps - A...

    Melody Carlson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    After a time of heartache and loss, Simone Winthrop discovers a tantalizing letter from her French great-grandmother, which seems to suggest that she is heir to a family treasure. Ever practical, Simone assumes the claim is baseless, but her best friend encourages her to find out for sure. Despite her deep-rooted fear of flying, Simone boards a jet to travel to Paris at Christmastime to uncover the truth. 
     
    During the long flight, Simone meets the charming Kyle Larsson, who's on his way to France to become an apprentice clockmaker. Though they abruptly part ways, an unexpected rendezvous in the French Alps at Simone's family's clock factory may lead to the discovery of the family treasure . . . and so much more. 
     
    For anyone who is wearying of staying home, Melody Carlson invites you to spend Christmas with her in the beautiful French Alps this year. So pull on your mittens, tie your scarf tight, and prepare yourself for a magical mountain holiday.
    Show book
  • Hot for You - cover

    Hot for You

    Marie Harte

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    For fans of Jaci Burton and Roxanne St. Claire comes a sexy contemporary romance from New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Marie Harte:Second chance romanceSexy Seattle firefightersSingle mom and her daughterIrresistible attraction and scorching, high heatAn ugly dog finds his forever home 
    Reggie gave up on love, but love has yet to give up on him...
     
    Firefighter Reggie Morgan is done with love, done with relationships, and done with complications. But when he's called to the scene of a hit-and-run, he finds a scared little girl, a butt-ugly stray puppy, and an unconscious woman he can't get out of his mind. The girl and the puppy are a handful, but the girl's mother, Maggie might just be the woman to melt Reggie's icy heart. Reggie has loved and lost before and the pain nearly broke him. But they can't ignore their unquenchable desire for each other, and Maggie, a teacher by trade, is confident she can show Reggie all about falling—and staying—in love.
     
    Praise for Marie Harte's contemporary romances:"Sexy, sweet, and thoroughly satisfying."—Lauren Layne, New York Times bestselling author, for The Whole Package"Expertly balances fun and sexy shenanigans with deeper themes."—Fresh Fiction for Just the Thing"Packed with sass, sensuality and heartwarming emotion."—Romance Junkies for What to Do with a Bad Boy
    Show book
  • The Border Series - Omnibus Edition - cover

    The Border Series - Omnibus Edition

    Arnette Lamb

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Amidst the rolling hills of Scotland comes three romances where fiery passions prevail. Arnette Lamb creates three of the strongest heroines in romance…In Border Lord, Lady Miriam MacDonald seeks only peace between the Scots and the English…In Border Bride, Lady Alpin McKay craves nothing greater than vengeance…In Chieftain, Johanna Benison sacrifices her happiness out of familial duty…What all three women find is a love that will alter the very course of their lives and endanger everything they hold dear.  This romance bundle will spirit you away to the Scottish Highlands and sweep you into dangerous romance—the very best kind…“Arnette Lamb has a tremendous gift for writing genuine, warm, humorous, sensual love stories.”—RT Book Reviews
    Show book
  • The Love and Temptation Series - cover

    The Love and Temptation Series

    M. C. Beaton, Marion Chesney

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Seven novels by the New York Times-bestselling author about how the temptation to break society’s rules can overwhelm even the most prim and proper women . . . 
     
    Beset by awkward situations, inconvenient feelings, and ambitious families, the women in this seven-book romance collection refuse to bend to society’s whim and still manage to capture true love in the process. 
     
    The Love and Temptation Series includes: The Original Miss Honeyford; At the Sign of the Golden Pineapple; The Education of Miss Patterson; Quadrille; Sweet Masquerade; Miss Davenport's Christmas; and The Perfect Gentleman. 
     
    “A romance writer who deftly blends humor and adventure.” —Booklist 
     
    “The best of the Regency writers.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book