Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Bistros of Paris - cover

Bistros of Paris

Robert Hamburger, Barbara Hamburger

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Now fully revised and updated, this popular guide and compendium of good eating captures the true character and flavor of the most intimate and affordable eating establishments Paris has to offer. Classified as either traditional or modern, these bistros and wine bars are located by arrondisement (neighborhood) and rated for their quality and reliability. 
The guide is organized into three parts. The first section contains individual listings that describe the unique characteristics of each bistro. It includes special dishes, wines, and places of interest in the vicinity. The second section offers a glossary of dishes and menu terms, and descriptions of ingredients and preparations frequently encountered, and a few suggestions on wine selection. The third section provides a cross-reference to locate a particular dish at the bistro that prepares it best. 
Bistros of Paris is an essential reference for the food-conscious traveler intent on discovering the unadorned pleasures of traditional French cuisine.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Rammed Earth House - cover

    The Rammed Earth House

    David Easton

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    The Rammed Earth House is an eye-opening example of how the most dramatic innovations in home design and construction frequently have their origins in the distant past. By rediscovering the most ancient of all building materials —earth—forward-thinking homebuilders can now create structures that set new standards for beauty, durability, and efficient use of natural resources.
    
     
    Rammed earth construction is a step forward into a sustainable future, when homes will combine pleasing aesthetics and intense practicality with a powerful sense of place. Rammed earth homes are built entirely on-site, using basic elements—earth, water, and a little cement. The solid masonry walls permit design flexibility while providing year-round comfort and minimal use of energy. The builder and resident of a rammed earth house will experience the deep satisfaction of creating permanence in a world dominated by the disposable.
    Show book
  • Cats Are Capable of Mind Control - And 1000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know - cover

    Cats Are Capable of Mind Control...

    Kris Sanchez

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. 
    Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people. 
    Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino). 
    Did you know:The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides? 
    Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age. 
     
    Show book
  • Classic Household Hints - Over 500 Old and New Tips for a Happier Home - cover

    Classic Household Hints - Over...

    Susan Waggoner

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An illustrated, nostalgic how-to guide to achieving a clean, organized, and happy home—with over 500 retro tips and tricks!   Return your household to the simpler times of yesteryear with this delightful guide full of time- and money-saving tips on everything from cleaning and organizing your home to buying and handling food. Even in an age of endless new household products and devices, these old-fashioned, tried-and-true methods can help any homeowner keep a cleaner, happier home.   A thoroughly researched compendium of the best American home life tips from the 1920s through the ’60s, Classic Household Hints is filled with useful information, full-color illustrations, fascinating sidebars, and quotes—providing practical help as well as fun for housekeepers and neat freaks everywhere.
    Show book
  • Plants You Can't Kill - 101 Easy-to-Grow Species for Beginning Gardeners - cover

    Plants You Can't Kill - 101...

    Stacy Tornio

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "I kill everything I plant."Does this sound like you or someone you know? Give yourself a pat on the back because admitting you have a problem is the first step to recovery. And lucky for you, you can easily turn your brown thumb into a green one with the help of Plants You Can’t Kill.Seriously—it doesn’t matter how many plants you’ve killed in gardens past. It’s time to put those experiences behind you and finally grow something in your empty and bare spots. This is the only gardening book you’ll ever need with more than 100 plant picks for every situation. You want veggies? We have ’em. You need to fill a big space? We have shrub ideas for you. You just want something pretty? We have plenty of that, as well.The plants in Plants You Can’t Kill have been vetted by an amazing and famous panel of horticulture experts (this is just a fancy way of saying they went to college for gardening), so feel confident you’re not wasting money on yet another gardening book. These plants will actually survive your well-meaning, yet sometimes neglectful ways.Ready for the most resilient, hardcore, badass list of plants known to gardeners? Find them and grow them with the help of Plants You Can’t Kill.
    Show book
  • When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea: A Memoir - cover

    When Rupert Murdoch Came to Tea:...

    David Nunan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Whoever coined the phrase 'the middle of nowhere' must have had Broken Hill in mind, because that's where it was -- and still is, although the Road to Nowhere is now all-weather tarmac. Seven hundred miles due west of Sydney. Three hundred and thirty miles northeast of Adelaide. It sprawls about the low range of lode-bearing hills, and, when I was a child, was dominated by the artificial mountains of skimp, grey silt-like stuff that was left over once the ore was extracted from the mines. Most of the skimp dumps are gone now, reprocessed, when extraction techniques improved, for the ore they still contained. To me the town is all the poorer for their demise.
    
    	It was here that the mighty BHP-Billiton, largest resource company in the world, was born. It is also where I first saw the light of day -- although, unlike BHP (Broken Hill Proprietary Ltd.), my appearance in this place at that time was purely coincidental. This collection of stories is a memoir of what it was like to grow up in Broken Hill in the 1950s and 1960s. It was prompted by a question from one of my daughters, who grew up in a very different time and place. 'What was it like?' she asked. 'Back there. Back then.'
    
    	* * * 
    	This is acclaimed linguist and author David Nunan’s fascinating account of growing up in the Australian outback in the 1950s and 1960s.
    
    	(Publisher’s note: Spellings and vocabulary are Australian English; a glossary of terms that may be unfamiliar to North Americans is provided at the back of the book.)
    Show book
  • The Little Green Book of Gardening Wisdom - cover

    The Little Green Book of...

    Barbara Burn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Surprising as it may seem, the first place an experienced gardener looks for advice and ideas is not the local gardening store or even the nearby botanical garden, but a good library. Gardeners have been sharing their wisdom for thousands of years, and their books and treatises still provide a rich resource for growers and landscapers today. Here in this volume is a bouquet of quotations that will strike a responsive chord with anyone who has ever worked the soil or just admired nature’s handiwork. Areas that are covered include the metaphorical…- Some men like to make a little garden out of life and walk down a path.Jean Anouilh, The Lark (1952)words of encouragement…-Then seek your job with thankfulness and work till further orders,If it's only netting strawberries or killing slugs on borders;And when your back stops aching and your hands begin to harden,You will find yourself a partner in the Glory of the Garden.Rudyard Kipling, “The Glory of the Garden” (1911)reflection…- To sit in the shade on a fine day, and look upon verdure, is the most perfect refreshment.Jane Austen, Mansfield Park (1814)and the practical…- Three fundamental aspects of border design—site, shape, and size—have at least as great an effect on the ease of garden maintenance as does the actual selection of plants.Frederick McGourty, The Perennial Gardener (1989)and much more. Drawing on sources ranging from the earliest agrarian civilizations to the present, The Little Red Book of Gardening Wisdom is a treasury of great ideas that will delight amateur and expert gardeners alike.
    Show book