Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Song of Bêlit - cover

The Song of Bêlit

Rodolfo Martínez, Robert E. Howard

Translator Rodolfo Martínez, Christopher Kastensmidt

Publisher: Sportula Ediciones

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Conan travels aboard the Argus, a merchant ship from Messantia, when they are attacked by the Tigress, the ship of the pirate Bêlit. During the confrontation, the Cimmerian is ready to sell his life, but when the situation seems more desperate, Bêlit becomes infatuated with the barbarian and he becomes her lover.
Thus begins "The Queen of the Black Coast", by Robert E. Howard. Using this story as a starting point, Rodolfo Martínez reconstructs the three years that Conan and Bêlit spent together, three years of thrilling adventures, blood and slaughter, of revenge and fulfilled prophecies, of enemies hidden in the shadows and unexpected allies, of cunning tricks and treacherous plans, but also of love and confidences, of pain, loss and longing.
Martinez follows the story to its natural conclusion, where he once again links to Howard's original story, creating a fascinating adventure, a love song for the adventure novel and popular narrative.
From the Black Coast to Stygia, from the hidden archipelago of Nakanda Wazuri to distant Turan, from Messantia to the poisonous Zarkheba River where the story will come to an end; in The Song of Bêlit, Martínez takes us through the Hyborian Age created by Howard and shows us what maybe is Conan's most fascinating adventure.

Other books that might interest you

  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • Earth Strike - Star Carrier: Book One - cover

    Earth Strike - Star Carrier:...

    Ian Douglas

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of the hit television show Battlestar Galactica comes Earth Strike—the first book in the action-packed Star Carrier science fiction series by Ian Douglas, author of the popular Inheritance, Heritage, and Legacy Trilogies and one of the most adept writers of military sf working today. Earth Strike rockets readers into a vast  and deadly intergalactic battle, as humankind attempts to bring down an evil empire and establish itself as the new major power. Fans of Robert Heinlein’s Starship Troopers and Joe Haldeman’s The Forever War, welcome aboard the Star Carrier!
    Show book
  • Spaceside - cover

    Spaceside

    Michael Mammay

    • 0
    • 7
    • 1
    From the author of Planetside, a Best Book of 2018 (Library Journal)  
    A military legend is caught in the web between alien intrigue and human subterfuge… 
    Following his mission on Cappa, Colonel Carl Butler returns to a mixed reception. To some he is a do-or-die war hero. To the other half of the galaxy he’s a pariah. Forced into retirement, he has resettled on Talca Four where he’s now Deputy VP of Corporate Security, protecting a high-tech military company on the corporate battlefield—at least, that’s what the job description says. Really, he’s just there to impress clients and investors. It’s all relatively low risk—until he’s entrusted with new orders. A breach of a competitor’s computer network has Butler’s superiors feeling every bit as vulnerable. They need Butler to find who did it, how, and why no one’s taken credit for the ingenious attack. 
    As accustomed as Butler is to the reality of wargames—virtual and otherwise—this one screams something louder than a simple hack. Because no sooner does he start digging when his first contact is murdered, the death somehow kept secret from the media. As a prime suspect, he can’t shake the sensation he’s being watched…or finally succumbing to the stress of his past. Paranoid delusion or dangerous reality, Butler might be onto something much deeper than anyone imagined. But that’s where Butler thrives. 
    If he hasn’t signed his own death warrant. 
     
    Show book
  • Dragonsphere - cover

    Dragonsphere

    Richard Fierce

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    The soul of a powerful dragon has escaped its magical prison. 
     
    The creature’s wrath knows no bounds and spreads across two enemy kingdoms, forcing an unlikely alliance.
     
    Calderon and Velkyn, the two young men charged with the safeguard of the sphere that held the dragon captive, must leave everything they’ve known in a quest to recapture the beast before it takes physical form.
     
    Will they be able to stop events beyond their power, or will both kingdoms be destroyed by the dragon’s rage?
    Show book
  • Vampire Most Wanted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Most Wanted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 26
    • 0
    Take a road trip with the undead . . . in this latest in the Argeneau series by New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    For Basha Argeneau, anything is better than facing her estranged family. Even hiding out in sweltering southern California. But when a sexy immortal in black shows up determined to bring her back to the clan, she'll do anything to keep far, far away from the past she can't outrun. 
    Marcus Notte isn't here to play games—especially not with someone as crazy as the infamous blonde. Asked by Lucian Argeneau to bring her back for questioning, Marcus is determined to carry out Lucian's request—no matter how the seductive little mind-reading vamp feels about it. 
    Basha doesn't mind fighting fire with fire, especially with a hot immortal involved. But if he wants to take her away, he'll have to catch her first . . .
    Show book
  • The Lady Is a Vamp - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    The Lady Is a Vamp - An Argeneau...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 5
    • 39
    • 0
    “Lynsay Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.”—Katie MacAlister, USA Today Bestselling Author 
    “Take a bite into a fresh, fun vampire comedy ... read Lynsay Sands!”—Carly Phillips, New York Times Bestselling Author 
    The Argeneau’s are hungry for love—and Lynsay Sands’s bestselling paranormal romance series starring the enormously popular vampire family is hotter than ever! In this New York Times and USA Today bestselling author’s spicy-sweet sixteenth Argeneau novel, the lady is a gorgeous vampire enchantress who finds herself kidnapped by one desperate—and devastatingly handsome—man. The Lady is a Vamp is Lynsay at her best—and fans of the hit HBO series True Blood, as well as the Charlaine Harris Sookie Stackhouse novels it’s based on, will eagerly drink in every tasty drop of this sexy, suspenseful paranormal winner.
    Show book