Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Great American Wit - The Classic Humor of the Algonquin Round Table - cover

Great American Wit - The Classic Humor of the Algonquin Round Table

Robert E. Drennan

Publisher: Skyhorse Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The perfect gift for the snarky literature fan in your life!



“Stop looking at the world through rose-colored bifocals.”

“His mind is so open, the wind whistles through it.” 

“You can’t teach an old dogma new tricks.” 



Ever wonder where these sayings came from? For decades, the dining room of New York’s legendary Algonquin Hotel was a hub of letters and humor. Cocktails swirled as writers, humorists, actors, and critics poked fun at culture, the arts, and one another. In this lively tribute, today’s readers will come to understand why Robert Benchley, George S. Kaufman, and Dorothy Parker represent the epitome of quips and comebacks—wit that still packs a punch decades later. Each chapter contains:

A short biographical sketch

A photo of the great American wit

Handpicked collection of quotes and anecdotes



Packaged in a contemporary cover, this is the perfect gift or coffee table book. Discover the sarcasm, double entendres, insults, and jabs that earned these sharp minds the collective title of “the Vicious Circle.”

Other books that might interest you

  • Say No to Placenta Pics - And Other Hilarious Unsolicited Advice for Pregnant Women - cover

    Say No to Placenta Pics - And...

    Jillian M. Parsons

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Written by two best friends, the book is a product of real girl talk between BFFs about the truths of pregnancy, as seen from a mom who went through it and her best friend who observed from the sidelines. It conveys a sense of female camaraderie over an exclusively female topic and reclaims it above the myriad of how-to, self-help maternity guides out there. This book is for moms and non-moms—all women—in the vein of The Girlfriends’ Guide to Pregnancy (2007, half a million copies sold).
    
    In line with strong media messages about body positivity and women’s rights, this book champions the pregnant woman—and how it’s okay to show (and laugh at) the dirtier, but just as real, side of pregnancy. The ideal book for the mom-to-be who wants a light-hearted, empathetic beachside read away from her stresses
    
    A great baby shower gift from one woman to another, with possible book club potential, especially for gatherings of new moms or moms-to-be
    Show book
  • Lost in the Cosmos - The Last Self-Help Book - cover

    Lost in the Cosmos - The Last...

    Walker Percy

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “A mock self-help book designed not to help but to provoke; a chapbook to inveigle us into thinking about who we are and how we got into this mess.” —Los Angeles Times Book ReviewPublished at the height of the 1980s self-help boom, Lost in the Cosmos is Percy’s unforgettable riff on the trend that swept the nation. Filled with quizzes, essays, short stories, and diagrams, Lost in the Cosmos is a laugh-out-loud spin on a familiar genre that also pushes readers to serious contemplation of life’s biggest questions. One part parody and two parts philosophy, Lost in the Cosmos is an enlightening guide to the dilemmas of human existence, and an unrivaled spin on self-help manuals by one of modern America’s greatest literary masters.
    Show book
  • Naughty Adult Party Games: Turn Your House Party Into A Swinging Event - cover

    Naughty Adult Party Games: Turn...

    Serena Synn

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Are you looking to add a little spice to your next adult party? Or are you already swinging but are in need of some fun games for your next event? This book has exactly what you’re looking for.  The games are broken into three sections for all comfort zones from curious beginners who just want to play, to soft swap swingers who love foreplay to full blown swingers who go all the way. The Naughty Icebreakers section is full of sexy games which can break the ice, bare some skin and get players in a mood for more. These games are designed for newbie swingers and those who are just curious. For those willing to get playfully naughty but not sure if they really want to delve into swinging. The Tantalizing Teasers section is full of games for those willing to explore soft swap activities. Full of foreplay style fun these games include oral sex activities and sex toys that will have guests getting down and dirty without hardcore penetration. The We’re Swinging Now section contains erotic games that get explicitly hardcore. These games are for seasoned swingers and those who are honestly ready to play dirty.
    Show book
  • Cats Are Capable of Mind Control - And 1000+ UberFacts You Never Knew You Needed to Know - cover

    Cats Are Capable of Mind Control...

    Kris Sanchez

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the creator of the popular Twitter sensation UberFacts comes this fun compilation quiz book, packed with entertaining infographics and surprising factoids, for fans of Schott’s Miscellany, What If? and Ripley’s Believe It or Not. 
    Providing "the most unimportant things you’ll never need to know”—fun and surprising facts, statistics, and infographics on diverse subjects, from art and science to history and popular culture—UberFacts has become one of the most widely followed and successful accounts on Twitter, followed by nearly 12 million people. 
    Based on the popular social media phenomenon and culled from an exhaustive variety of sources—science journals, books, media, and literary magazines—Cats are Capable of Mind Control is a fascinating collection of shocking, delightful, educational, and informative facts and figures that are entertaining, topical, and sometimes downright bizarre (the safest place to suffer sudden cardiac arrest in the U.S. is a casino). 
    Did you know:The Pentagon was constructed so that no point in the building is more than a ten-minute walk from any other point?Vultures’ stomach acid is so corrosive they can digest anthrax?Farmers in India use Coca-Cola and Pepsi as cheap and effective pesticides? 
    Discover all this and much, much more in this treasure trove of trivia for the social media age. 
     
    Show book
  • Bard of the Deal - The Poetry of Donald Trump - cover

    Bard of the Deal - The Poetry of...

    Hart Seely

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    From award-winning reporter and author of Pieces of Intelligence: The Existential Poetry of Donald H. Rumsfeld comes this collection of poems mined from the interviews, speeches, and tweets of Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump. 
    The Vicious Ones 
    I was attacked viciously 
    By those women, 
    Of course, it's very hard for them 
    To attack me on looks, 
    Because I'm so good looking. 
    But I was attacked very viciously 
    By those women. 
    --August 9, 2015, NBC’s Meet the Press 
    Straight from the mouth of “the Donald” himself, this treasury of spoken poetry—not a word is changed—has been culled from nearly 30 years of interviews, speeches, tweets, and ramblings from Presidential candidate and billionaire Donald Trump. Since the 1980s, Trump has built his verses like his casinos, using only the highest quality words and phrases, regardless of cost. He’s run a real estate empire, achieved a net worth of ten billion dollars, scripted best-sellers, and starred in the top-rated TV show “The Apprentice.” Like a colossus, he bestrides the cultural world as if it were the bottle-strewn boardwalk of Atlantic City. 
    But until now, Trump’s poetry—delivered spontaneously in moments of enduring clarity—has gone unnoticed, (making it the only aspect of Trump to be that way.) On a regular basis, The Donald speaks, tweets and hollers his verses—always without the needless restrictions of political correctness and grammar… because among world class poets, there don’t be no grammar, there only be truth… big time! 
    Whether you’re a Trump debunker or admirer, The Bard of the Deal will delight, shock, and entertain you. So prepare to be Trumped by the ten billion dollar poetry of the ten billion dollar bard. This is the art of the poem.
    Show book
  • Sex Jokes - cover

    Sex Jokes

    Joe KING

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Sex JokesOne hundred of hilarious and funny jokes !Have fun and laugh!
    Show book