Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
On Bowie - cover

On Bowie

Rob Sheffield

Publisher: Dey Street Books

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

From the New York Times bestselling author of Love Is a Mix Tape, a thoughtful and loving meditation on the life of the late David Bowie that explores his creative legacy and the enduring and mutual connection he enjoyed with his fans 
Innovative. Pioneering. Brave. Until his death in January 2016, David Bowie created art that not only pushed boundaries, but helped fans understand themselves and view the world from fantastic new perspectives. 
When the shocking news of his death on January 10, 2016 broke, the outpouring of grief and adulation was immediate and ongoing. Fans around the world and across generations paid homage to this brilliant, innovate, ever evolving artist who both shaped and embodied our times. 
In this concise and penetrating book, featuring color photographs, highly regarded Rolling Stone critic, bestselling author, and lifelong Bowie fan Rob Sheffield shares his own feelings about the passing of this icon and explains why Bowie’s death has elicited such an unprecedented emotional outpouring from so many lives.

Who read this book also read:

  • Little Girls - cover

    Little Girls

    Klaus H. Carl

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Ever since the ancient greeks sculpted the first kouros, children have been a source of inspiration for some of the world’s greatest artists. Whether portraits of their own children, friends, and family members, or a nostalgic psychological portrayal of the artist’s own youth, depictions of children in art remain arresting examples of an intersection between the picturesque innocence of childhood and the methodical work of adult artistry. In this delightful new puzzle book, children get a chance to see little boys and girls just like them as portrayed by great artists, learning about how children grew up throughout history while experiencing a genuine connection with works of artistic genius.
    Show book
  • Playboy: Brunettes - cover

    Playboy: Brunettes

    James R. Petersen

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    From Playboy's classic archives comes a trilogy of mini volumes, each devoted to a certain hair color destined to quicken a man's pulse. Blonde? Brunette? Redhead? In the fifties, sixties, and seventies, it seemed like all the Playboy models, not just blondes, had more fun. Building sandcastles in the buff, romping on tiger skin rugs, or starting pillow fights, beauties of every tress are captured in these timeless color photographs. Playboy contributing editor James R. Petersen introduces each book with a heartfelt text, and witty quotes are sprinkled throughout. At once evocative and whimsical, this handsome collection is a perfect gift for a gentleman—whether he prefers a blonde, marries a brunette, or has always had a thing for a redhead.
    Show book
  • Tickling Cocktail - cover

    Tickling Cocktail

    Dr. Mohammad Anees

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sameness is the source of the disturbance and murk. Pain and frustration are created by monotony. This fiction story: I took  years during my prolong banishment as part of  amusement. I took in "Other country National" in my staff and fellows on various tasks. Generally, we went together for amusement. One of our colleagues, indeed a master of these stories, was a good resource of comic stuff.
    In reality, this book is a fun and for pure entertainment, if anyone is worried or obsessed due to frustration or distress… then it’s my attempt to get to him laugh and to invest him in cheerful mood. Please understand this book to become rid  of  such gloom and  obsession of sadness. Have a pleasant time……
    Show book
  • Notes on a Cowardly Lion - The Biography of Bert Lahr - cover

    Notes on a Cowardly Lion - The...

    John Lahr

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A son’s funny, frank, and “endlessly fascinating” memoir of his father, Wizard of Oz star Bert Lahr (Harper’s Magazine).   Bert Lahr, best known for his role as the Cowardly Lion in The Wizard of Oz, made audiences laugh from burlesque stages to vaudeville to Broadway—and impressed them as Estragon in the American theater debut of Waiting for Godot. But reality wasn’t always funny for the legendary actor and comedian, or his family.   Drawing on personal recollections and the memories of his father’s colleagues, a veteran writer for the New Yorker and renowned theater critic brilliantly explores both the long and glorious professional career of a Hollywood icon and the experience of growing up with him. Here, in rich detail, is Bert Lahr evolving from a low-comic star to a Ziegfeld Follies sophisticate, hamming it up with the Scarecrow and Tin Man on the set of TheWizard of Oz, and garnering rich praise as he performed in Samuel Beckett’s masterpiece. But while Lahr could be equally raucous and polished in public, in private he was painfully insecure and self-absorbed, keeping his family at arm’s length as he quietly battled his inner demons. “A work of literature, a work of history, a subtle psychological study,” Notes on a Cowardly Lion is more than one man’s quest to understand his father. It is an extraordinary examination of a life on the stage and screen (Harper’s Magazine).   From a writer with an intimate knowledge of the theater and show business world, this is both a “frank and objective” (The New York Times Book Review) family memoir that will appeal to readers of Carrie Fisher’s Wishful Drinking or Alan Cumming’s Not My Father’s Son, and a “book-length love letter. To open it is to enter a life, to participate in a sensibility and, perhaps most important, to laugh. Uproariously” (Life).  
    Show book
  • Genesis: The Complete Guide to their Music - cover

    Genesis: The Complete Guide to...

    Chris Welch

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The indispensable consumers' guide to the music of Genesis, one of the most commercially successful rock bands of the 1980s. An album by album, track by track rundown of the music of Genesis, including special sections detailing the work of members Phil Collins, Mike Rutherford, Tony Banks, Steve Hackett and Peter Gabriel. The guide features:An album by album analysisA full discography, from the earliest Johnathan King recordings, through the Gabriel years, to their final recordings as a trio.Details of when and where the music was recordedA special section concerning compilation, archive, reissue and bootleg releasesSixteen pages of full-colour images
    Show book
  • Complete Keyboard Player: New Songbook 1 - cover

    Complete Keyboard Player: New...

    Publications Wise

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Complete Keyboard Player: New Songbook #1 features 19 great songs, in standard notation with fingering, chord symbols and lyrics. 
     
     
    Ideal for practice or for Keyboard players who want to add to their repertoire. 
     
     
     
     
    Includes these songs: 
     
    5 Years Time [Noah And The Whale] 
    Big Yellow Taxi [Mitchell, Joni] 
    Chasing Cars [Snow Patrol] 
    Don't Look Back In Anger [Oasis] 
    Downtown [Clark, Petula] 
    I Fought The Law [Clash, The] 
    I Have A Dream [Abba] 
    I'm A Believer [Monkees,The] 
    Knockin' On Heaven's Door [Dylan, Bob] 
    La Bamba [Los Lobos] 
    Lean On Me [Withers, Bill] 
    My Grandfather's Clock [Traditional] 
    Rivers Of Babylon [Boney M] 
    Rolling In The Deep [Adele] 
    Sad Songs (Say So Much) [John, Elton] 
    Sweet Caroline [Diamond, Neil] 
    Twist And Shout [Beatles, The] 
    Wild Rover [Traditional] 
    Yellow [Coldplay]
    Show book