Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Nanas Know Everything - cover

Nanas Know Everything

Rita Sharpe

Publisher: Rita Sharpe

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A rhyme with illustrations explaining that Nanas know all there is to know for the little ones. A reader friendly picture book written in rhyme that can be read to 2 - 5yr olds and with comprehension by 5yr olds and older. It is also ideal to be read by grandmothers to their grandchildren.
Inspired and illustrated by the authors grandchildren putting a charming and amusing slant on everyday questions and comments.

* Delightful stories for my grandies
* Heartily recommend to anyone who loves reading to their grandchildren
* A wonderful set of books

Other books that might interest you

  • Nice Try - Stories of Best Intentions and Mixed Results - cover

    Nice Try - Stories of Best...

    Josh Gondelman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Emmy-Award winning writer and comedian Josh Gondelman’s collection of personal stories of best intentions and mixed results.Josh Gondelman knows a thing or two about trying — and failing. The Emmy Award-winning stand-up comic — dubbed a “pathological sweetheart” by the New York Observer — is known throughout the industry as one of comedy’s true “nice guys.” Not surprisingly, he’s endured his share of last-place finishes. But he keeps on bouncing back.In this collection of hilarious and poignant essays (including his acclaimed New York Times piece “What if I Bombed at My Own Wedding?”), Josh celebrates a life of good intentions — and mixed results. His true tales of romantic calamities, professional misfortunes, and eventual triumphs reinforce the notion: we get out of the world what we put into it. Whether he’s adopting a dog from a suspicious stranger, mitigating a disastrous road trip, or trying MDMA for the first (and only) time, Josh only wants the best for everyone — even as his attempts to do the right thing occasionally implode.Full of the warm and relatable humor that’s made him a favorite on the comedy club circuit, Nice Try solidifies Josh Gondelman’s reputation as not just a good guy, but a skilled observer of the human condition.
    Show book
  • Searching for a Silver Lining - cover

    Searching for a Silver Lining

    Miranda Dickinson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It began with a promise . . .  
    Matilda Bell is left heartbroken when she falls out with her beloved grandfather just before he dies. Haunted by regret, she makes a promise that will soon change everything . . .  
    When spirited former singing star Reenie Silver enters her life, Mattie seizes the opportunity to make amends. Together, Mattie and Reenie embark on an incredible journey that will find lost friends, uncover secrets from the glamorous 1950s and put right a sixty-year wrong. 
    Touchingly funny, warm and life-affirming, this is a sparkling story of second chances. Perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Searching for a Silver Lining by Miranda Dickinson will take you on a trip you'll never forget.
    Show book
  • Girl Food - Cathy's Cookbook for the Well-Balanced Woman - cover

    Girl Food - Cathy's Cookbook for...

    Cathy Guisewite, Barbara Albright

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “A volume of recipes to help Cathy’s female fans cope with real-life maddening males” from the Emmy Award-winning cartoonist (Booklist). 
     
    Cathy’s fights with food are legendary. She battles the bag of chips, the last piece of cake, the chocolate that calls her name. Now, in this delightful cookbook, the creative cartoon figure finally puts her fondness for food to work for the benefit of all womankind. It’s all about Girl Food! 
     
    Coauthored by cartoonist Cathy Guisewite and food writer Barbara Albright, Girl Food dishes up recipes in ways women really think about eating. Five categories—from Romance Food to Swimsuit Food to Consolation Food—contain taste-tempting recipes for all occasions. Whether the reader’s trying to woo or she’s ruing the day she ever met him, Girl Food serves up just the right kind of nourishment, with a dash of Cathy’s special humor. 
     
    Consider these tasty morsels:“He Actually Believed Me When I Said I Could Cook” Seduction Steak with Portobello Mushroom Sauce“Why Did I Volunteer to Bring Something” Party Pasta Salad“The Proposal Is Due; I Lost the File; I’m Staying Home” Chicken Soup 
     
    All of Girl Food’s eighty recipes were developed by Albright, a registered dietitian, former editor-in-chief of Chocolatier Magazine, and author of numerous bestselling books on baking. Cathy—who personally tested every recipe—appears throughout the book, giving bonafide fans a chance to cook and commiserate with one of their favorite food friends. 
     
    “An amusing arrangement of recipes divided into categories such as Romance Food, Swimsuit Food, Sweat Suit Food, Grown-Up Food and Consolation Food.” —Chicago Tribune
    Show book
  • Sizzling Sixteen - A Stephanie Plum Novel - cover

    Sizzling Sixteen - A Stephanie...

    Janet Evanovich

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Trenton, New Jersey, bounty hunter Stephanie Plum has inherited a "lucky" bottle from her Uncle Pip. Problem is, Uncle Pip didn't specify if the bottle brought good luck or bad luck...Bad Luck: Vinnie, of Vincent Plum Bail Bonds, has run up a gambling debt of $786,000 with mobster Bobby Sunflower and is being held until the cash can be produced. Nobody else will pay to get Vinnie back, leaving it up to Stephanie, office manager Connie, and file clerk Lula to raise the money if they want to save their jobs.Good Luck: Being in the business of tracking down people, Stephanie, Lula, and Connie have an advantage in finding Vinnie. If they can rescue him, it will buy them some time to raise the cash.Bad Luck: Finding a safe place to hide Vinnie turns out to be harder than raising $786,000. Vinnie's messing up Mooner's vibe, running up pay-per-view porn charges in Ranger's apartment, and making Stephanie question genetics.Good Luck: Between a bonds office yard sale that has the entire Burg turning out, Mooner's Hobbit-Con charity event, and Uncle Pip's lucky bottle, they just might raise enough money to save the business, and Vinnie, from ruin.Bad Luck: Saving Vincent Plum Bail Bonds means Stephanie can keep being a bounty hunter. In Trenton, this involves hunting down a man wanted for polygamy, a turnpike toilet paper bandit, and a drug dealer with a pet alligator named Mr. Jingles.Good Luck: The job of bounty hunter comes with perks in the guise of Trenton's hottest cop, Joe Morelli, and the dark and dangerous security expert, Ranger. With any luck at all, Uncle Pip's lucky bottle will have Stephanie getting lucky — the only question is...with whom?Sizzling Sixteen — so hot, it might spontaneously combust!A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book
  • The Maintenance of Headway - cover

    The Maintenance of Headway

    Magnus Mills

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author acclaimed as having "no literary precedent" (Independent) comes a gently absurd examination of the systems that trap and frustrate us daily. Fans of dry humor will enjoy this tale of mishap and folly, told from the point of view of a bus driver who's been charged to maintain a precise distance between himself and other buses--a directive that leads him to ignore the very passengers he's meant to serve.  
     
    Witty, allegorical, and intelligent, this is a novel for all those who have ever run for a bus, only to have it pull away as they reach its doors. Showcasing all of Mills' strengths, it is the perfect reintroduction for American readers to an incomparable talent.
    Show book
  • Sue Scott - Seriously Silly (A Prairie Home Companion) - cover

    Sue Scott - Seriously Silly (A...

    Garrison Keillor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “She speaks fluent prairie.”—New York TimesSue Scott has taken her talents from the stage to the airwaves doing “funny voices on the radio” with A Prairie Home Companion since 1992. A vocal talent without compare, at any moment she can be garrulous, gracious, sassy, sinful, prim and proper, worldly and wise. Sue Scott: Seriously Silly collects the best of Sue Scott so far, as if such a thing were possible. Here’s Sue as Mom calling her beleaguered son Duane. As Ruth Harrison, Reference Librarian, with her black belt in biblio-kwon-do. As devastatingly beautiful supermodel Cynthia Maxwell. As private eye Guy Noir’s faithful ex-girlfriend, Sugar. As an NPR correspondent. A waitress named Vi. A blonde. A bird. Berniece. Radio starlet Lulu Lane, and more. Here’s Sue Scott in 14 sketches, bits, and send-ups heard over the years on live broadcasts of A Prairie Home Companion. All seriously silly.
    Show book