As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Red Desert - Invisible Enemy - Red Desert #3 - cover

Red Desert - Invisible Enemy - Red Desert #3

Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli

Publisher: Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Mars hasn't always been red. 
Once it was covered by oceans. 
It was blue, hospitable, inviting. 
Then everything changed, but something remained . . . waiting. 
Third book in the science fiction series "Red Desert". 
The joy of finding the small community living in Ophir is soon shattered by the news coming from Houston about the loss of contact with Station Alpha. In fact for more than a day now, no life signs have been detected inside the habitat. 
So, together with Jack, Anna sets out for Lunae Planum again. She's assailed by dread about Robert's and Hassan's fate, and also by doubts concerning their involvement in the death of both the Isis mission commander, and most of all, his wife. 
However, having to face Michelle's murderer is only the first of her problems. 
Torn between the desire to return to Earth and the ambition of getting the credit for her scientific discoveries, Anna will see her feeble certainties waver several times, until the revelation of a more devious danger concealed by the Red Planet: an invisible enemy, whose mysterious intent menaces her existence and the one of the only person who is still at her side. 
The previous books are: 
"Red Desert - Point of No Return" (book 1); 
"Red Desert - People of Mars" (book 2). 
The final book, "Red Desert - Back Home", will be published in July 2015. 
 
--- This is the third book in a series of four and it ends with a cliffhanger. ---

Other books that might interest you

  • Ghost at Work - cover

    Ghost at Work

    Carolyn Hart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Bailey Ruth Raeburn has always been great at solving mysteries. Why should a little thing like her death change anything? In fact, being dead gives her more of an opportunity to be on top of events. Bailey Ruth is delighted that her unique position as a ghost makes it possible for her to lend a helping hand, sometimes seen and sometimes not. And if anybody needs a little help, it's Kathleen, the pastor's wife. There's a dead man on her porch, and once the body is discovered, the pastor is sure to become a suspect. 
    Uncharitable people might call it meddling, but Bailey Ruth knows Kathleen needs her help! As a member of Heaven's Department of Good Intentions, Bailey Ruth goes back to earth to extricate Kathleen from a dire situation. If Bailey Ruth has to bend a few rules to help Kathleen save her family, Wiggins, her fussbudget supervisor, will make sure it all turns out right in the end.
    Show book
  • The Summer Country - A Novel - cover

    The Summer Country - A Novel

    Lauren Willig

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Tense, atmospheric, and gorgeously written, The Summer Country is a novel to savor!" – Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Huntress and The Alice Network 
    A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and South, New York Times bestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados. 
     
    Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan-- merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned.  
     
    When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts. 
     
    Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom. 
     
    THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds.  
     
    Show book
  • Deeper Than Indigo - Tracing Thomas Machell Forgotten Explorer - cover

    Deeper Than Indigo - Tracing...

    Jenny Balfour Paul

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After discovering the diaries of Victorian explorer Thomas Machell in the dusty recesses of the British Library, Jenny set out on her own voyage, tracing his footsteps across oceans and continents for ten years, on a quest to discover and understand this extraordinary character. In 2010 she travelled alone to India on the last cargo ship to accept passengers. The journey was as treacherous as it had been in Thomas's day and Jenny was advised to hide below deck and sleep with a knife by her bed and dollars sewn into her jacket. She narrowly escaped attack as naval ships intercepted a pirate 'mothership' spotted off the Yemeni coast. Jenny's journey ends as she finally discovers Thomas's overgrown grave when travelling with herdaughter after over 15 years of searching. Through a combination of the author's own memoirs, sketches and recollections of travels, entwined with Thomas Machell's tales and intricate drawings, Deeper than Indigo offers a unique insight into the social history of British colonialism at its height, from the East India Company to the Raj, while telling the story of a forgotten pioneer, whose startling diaries shed a surprisingly progressive light on European colonialism.
    Show book
  • The Phoenix of Florence - Mystery and murder in medieval Italy - cover

    The Phoenix of Florence -...

    Philip Kazan

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    'Stunningly, unputdownably good' Diane Setterfield, author of Once Upon a River 
    Deep in the Tuscan countryside, a long-held feud between two aristocratic families ends in tragedy, leaving only one young girl alive. 
    Years later, amidst the winding streets and majestic facades of Florence, two murders are not all they seem. As Onorio Celavini, commander of the Medici police force, investigates, he is horrified to find a personal connection to the crimes, and a conspiracy lurking beyond. 
    Poignant and compelling, The Phoenix of Florence is a richly told and cleverly crafted tale of a struggle for identity and a battle for justice in an Italy besieged by war. 
    'A beautifully written tale of the Florentine underworld' The Times
    Show book
  • Carrion Comfort - A chilling Scottish mystery - cover

    Carrion Comfort - A chilling...

    Aline Templeton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Gabrielle, daughter of a brilliant and charismatic local businessman, thinks she’s losing her mind. Recovering from a nervous breakdown triggered by her father’s death and the loss of her unborn child, her sanity is pushed to the brink when she starts suffering memory lapses. Knowing that the other major shareholder of her father’s business is looking for any excuse to squeeze her out, Gabrielle can’t trust anyone. 
    When a man’s body is found in dilapidated cottage, DCI Kelso Strang is drafted in from Edinburgh to take charge of the investigation. Still grieving the loss of his wife, battlescarred Strang finds himself burdened with an over-eager detective constable and a lazy, obtuse detective sergeant. With inadequate resources at his fingertips, and his boss breathing down his neck to wrap up the case quickly and without embarrassment to the force, Strang must pick his way through the minefield of the local relationships and resentments of the sleepy village community. But will he be able to put this case to rest before more lives are destroyed?
    Show book
  • The Confessions of Frannie Langton - A Novel - cover

    The Confessions of Frannie...

    Sara Collins

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Winner of the Costa First Novel Award 
    One of BOOKRIOT and POPSUGAR's Best Books of 2019 
    “A startling, compelling historical debut novel. . . should be on top of your vacation reading pile.” -The Washington Post 
    “A stunning debut. . . . I love this book.” -Guardian  
    "Reminiscent of Margaret Atwood's Alias Grace . . . [a] devious, richly detailed debut." -O: The Oprah Magazine 
    A servant and former slave is accused of murdering her employer and his wife in this astonishing historical thriller that moves from a Jamaican sugar plantation to the fetid streets of Georgian London—a remarkable literary debut with echoes of Alias Grace, The Underground Railroad, and The Paying Guests. 
     
    All of London is abuzz with the scandalous case of Frannie Langton, accused of the brutal double murder of her employers, renowned scientist George Benham and his eccentric French wife, Marguerite. Crowds pack the courtroom, eagerly following every twist, while the newspapers print lurid theories about the killings and the mysterious woman being tried at the Old Bailey.  
    The testimonies against Frannie are damning. She is a seductress, a witch, a master manipulator, a whore. 
    But Frannie claims she cannot recall what happened that fateful evening, even if remembering could save her life. She doesn’t know how she came to be covered in the victims’ blood. But she does have a tale to tell: a story of her childhood on a Jamaican plantation, her apprenticeship under a debauched scientist who stretched all bounds of ethics, and the events that brought her into the Benhams’ London home—and into a passionate and forbidden relationship. 
    Though her testimony may seal her conviction, the truth will unmask the perpetrators of crimes far beyond murder and indict the whole of English society itself. 
    The Confessions of Frannie Langton is a breathtaking debut: a murder mystery that travels across the Atlantic and through the darkest channels of history. A brilliant, searing depiction of race, class, and oppression that penetrates the skin and sears the soul, it is the story of a woman of her own making in a world that would see her unmade.
    Show book