Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Lock and Key: The Gadwall Incident - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have 800,000 other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

Lock and Key: The Gadwall Incident

Ridley Pearson

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 2
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The New York Times bestselling author of the Peter and the Starcatcher and Kingdom Keepers series, Ridley Pearson, brings us the stirring digital prequel to the Lock and Key series, which reimagines the origins of the rivalry between Sherlock Holmes and James Moriarty. 
In The Gadwall Incident, readers get a glimpse into James’s life a mere twenty-four hours before the tipping point—before life as he knows it changes irrevocably and his childhood slips into the shadows. Readers will come to know the dangers that surround the Moriartys before James and Moria are sent off to the hallowed halls of Baskerville Academy, where they first meet the insufferable, inexhaustible Sherlock Holmes. It’s a tale full of intrigue and false starts and daring getaways, one that will leave readers desperate to know what's next. 

Other books that might interest you

  • TimeRiders: The Eternal War - cover

    TimeRiders: The Eternal War

    Alex Scarrow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Continuing the heart-pounding, time-bending action of the TimeRiders series, The Eternal War brings readers back to a pivotal time period in American history: the Civil War. Only this alternate history is one where a young Abraham Lincoln has somehow followed Liam into the present from 1831, and the entire course of American history has changed. If the TimeRiders can't return Lincoln to the past, the country could be trapped in a dangerous state of never-ending civil war. Can Maddy persuade two colonels on either side of no man's land to cease fire long enough to save the future?
    Show book
  • Out of Bounds - cover

    Out of Bounds

    Lauren Blakely

    • 2
    • 12
    • 0
    The first rule of football--don't screw with a streak. 
      
     My career is finally looking up, and I'm leading a new pro team down the field every Sunday. No way will I mess with that. But when I meet the most stunning and captivating woman I've ever seen, I tell myself one night will have to be enough.   
      
     But it's not. And now I can't get her out of my mind. Even when I'm playing. Even when I need to focus. Even when I'm on the hottest streak of my life.  
     
    And it turns out, she's not just some random woman I met. She works for the team. My team. 
      
     *** 
     
    I only have one goal this season--do my part as the team's lawyer to keep them out of trouble. Help rebuild their reputation on and off the field. There's no room for error and certainly no room for a secret tryst with a player . . . even if he's the quarterback. 
      
     Right?
    Show book
  • Amazing Math Projects - Projects You Can Build Yourself - cover

    Amazing Math Projects - Projects...

    Lazlo C. Bardos

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Make a geodesic dome big enough to sit in. Solve one of the world’s hardest two-piece puzzles. Pass a straight line through a curved slot.From prime numbers to paraboloids, Amazing Math Projects You Can Build Yourself introduces readers ages 9 and up to the beauty and wonder of math through hands-on activities. Kids will cut apart shapes to discover area formulas, build beautiful geometric models to explore their properties, and amaze friends with the mysterious Möbius strip.Learning through examples of how we encounter math in our daily lives, children will marvel at the mathematical patterns in snowflakes and discover the graceful curves in the Golden Gate Bridge. Readers will never look at soap bubbles the same way again!Amazing Math Projects You Can Build Yourself includes projects about number patterns, lines, curves, and shapes. Each activity includes intriguing facts, vocabulary builders, and connections to other topics. A companion website, includes video instructions for many projects in the book and provides additional activities.
    Show book
  • Wersel Goes to Hong Kong - cover

    Wersel Goes to Hong Kong

    Gloria Gurden

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A delightful new story of Wersel Driftwood where he has more adventures and shows how important kindness and friendship are, and how unkind and hurtful bullying can be.
    Show book
  • Two Naomis - cover

    Two Naomis

    Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A realistic contemporary story of two girls whose divorced parents begin to date—perfect for fans of Lisa Graff, Sara Pennypacker, and Rita Williams-Garcia. 
    Other than their first names, Naomi Marie and Naomi Edith are sure they have nothing in common, and they wouldn’t mind keeping it that way. 
    Naomi Marie starts clubs at the library and adores being a big sister. Naomi Edith loves quiet Saturdays and hanging with her best friend in her backyard. And while Naomi Marie’s father lives a few blocks away, Naomi Edith wonders how she’s supposed to get through each day a whole country apart from her mother. 
    When Naomi Marie’s mom and Naomi Edith’s dad get serious about dating, each girl tries to cling to the life she knows and loves. Then their parents push them into attending a class together, where they might just have to find a way to work with each other—and maybe even join forces to find new ways to define family.
    Show book
  • The Diary of Ma Yan - The Struggles and Hopes of a Chinese Schoolgirl - cover

    The Diary of Ma Yan - The...

    Ma Yan, Pierre Haski

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Wednesday, November 7  
     
    My father gave me and my brother a little money. My stomach is all twisted up with hunger, but I don't want to spend the money on anything as frivolous as food. Because it's money my parents earn with their sweat and blood.  
    I have to study well so that I won't ever again be tortured by hunger. . . .  
     
    In a drought-stricken corner of rural China, an education can be the difference between a life of crushing poverty and the chance for a better future. But money is scarce, and the low wages paid for backbreaking work aren't always enough to pay school fees.  
    Ma Yan's heart-wrenching, honest diary chronicles her struggle to escape hardship and bring prosperity to her family through her persistent, sometimes desperate, attempts to continue her schooling.  
    First published in France in 2002, the diary of ma yan created an outpouring of support for this courageous teenager and others like her -- support that led to the creation of an international organization dedicated to helping these children . . . all because of one ordinary girl's extraordinary diary.
    Show book