Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Jerry Lee Lewis: His Own Story - His Own Story by Rick Bragg - cover

Jerry Lee Lewis: His Own Story - His Own Story by Rick Bragg

Rick Bragg

Publisher: Harper

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

New York Times Bestseller 
The greatest Southern storyteller of our time, New York Times bestselling author Rick Bragg, tracks down the greatest rock and roller of all time, Jerry Lee Lewis—and gets his own story, from the source, for the very first time. 
A monumental figure on the American landscape, Jerry Lee Lewis spent his childhood raising hell in Ferriday, Louisiana, and Natchez, Mississippi; galvanized the world with hit records like “Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On” and “Great Balls of Fire,” that gave rock and roll its devil’s edge; caused riots and boycotts with his incendiary performances; nearly scuttled his career by marrying his thirteen-year-old second cousin—his third wife of seven; ran a decades-long marathon of drugs, drinking, and women; nearly met his maker, twice; suffered the deaths of two sons and two wives, and the indignity of an IRS raid that left him with nothing but the broken-down piano he started with; performed with everyone from Elvis Presley to Keith Richards to Bruce Springsteen to Kid Rock—and survived it all to be hailed as “one of the most creative and important figures in American popular culture and a paradigm of the Southern experience.” 
Jerry Lee Lewis: His Own Story is the Killer’s life as he lived it, and as he shared it over two years with our greatest bard of Southern life: Rick Bragg. Rich with Lewis’s own words, framed by Bragg’s richly atmospheric narrative, , this is the last great untold rock-and-roll story, come to life on the page.

Who read this book also read:

  • Summary of A Mother's Reckoning - by Sue Klebold | Includes Analysis - cover

    Summary of A Mother's Reckoning...

    . Instaread

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Summary of A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold | Includes Analysis
     
     
     
    Preview:
     
    In her memoir A Mother’s Reckoning, Sue Klebold struggles
     
    to come to terms with her son Dylan’s role in the infamous
     
    Columbine High School shooting. Writing 16 years after the
     
    shooting, she reflects on when and where things went wrong
     
    for Dylan—and how she and her husband, who were loving
     
    parents, could have missed the warning signs.
     
    Klebold’s story begins with the voicemail that changed
     
    her life. At lunchtime on April 20, 1999, in her office in
     
    Littleton, Colorado, she listened to a cryptic message from
     
    her husband, Tom. Though she intuited that something
     
    had happened to one of their two children, she had no
     
    way of knowing that Dylan was already a murderer.
     
     
     
    Returning Tom’s call, she had what would be the
     
    first of many vague and unsatisfying conversations that
     
    day. Her husband knew there had been a shooting at
     
    Columbine, Dylan’s high school, but little else...
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    PLEASE NOTE: This is summary and analysis of the book and NOT the original book.
     
     
     
    Inside this Instaread Summary of A Mother’s Reckoning:
     
     
     
    Summary of the book
     
    Important People
     
    Character Analysis
     
    Analysis of the Themes and Author’s Style
     
     
     
    About the Author
     
    With Instaread, you can get the key takeaways, summary and analysis of a book in 15 minutes. We read every chapter, identify the key takeaways and analyze them for your convenience.
    Show book
  • Be the Worst You Can Be - Life's Too Long for Patience and Virtue - cover

    Be the Worst You Can Be - Life's...

    Charles Satchi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Charles Saatchi founded the Saatchi & Saatchi advertising agency in 1970, which grew to become the largest of its kind in the world. At the same time he started collecting art and, later, opened his first gallery in London. He championed young British artists, such as Tracey Emin and Damien Hirst, and became a major figure on the international art scene. For someone so influential, he's surprisingly quiet. Charles Saatchi almost never gives interviews. However, he's a man with a view on everything - from movies to morals, superstition to suicide - and in this fascinating new book he answers nearly 300 questions from readers and journalists. What is the most valuable life lesson you can offer? Are you a believer that good is the enemy of great? What is more powerful - money or knowledge? How would you describe yourself if you did not have art in your life? How many of the seven deadly sins are you guilty of? This is the definitive read for those in search of answers.
    Show book
  • I AM~A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - A Book of Unintentional Thoughts - cover

    I AM~A Book of Unintentional...

    Anonymous

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A young man's girl friend aborts their child spinning the author into a soul searching depression which he writes about in detail.
    Show book
  • My Amish Childhood - A True Story of Faith Family and the Simple Life - cover

    My Amish Childhood - A True...

    Jerry S. Eicher

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Bestselling fiction author Jerry S. Eicher (nearly half a million books sold) turns his pen to a moving memoir of his life growing up Amish.
     
    Jerry's mother was nineteen years old and nine months married when he was born. She had received Grandfather Stoll's permission for the wedding because she agreed to help out on the farm the following year. However, with Jerry on the way, those plans failed.
     
    Jerry recounts his first two years of school in the Amish community of Aylmer, Ontario and his parents' decision to move to Honduras.  Life in that beautiful Central American country is seen through an Amish boy's eyes--and then the dark days when the community failed and the family returned to America, much to young Jerry's regret. Jerry also tells of his struggle as a stutterer and his eventual conversion to Christ and the reasons for his departure from the childhood faith he knew.
     
    Here is a must-read for not just Jerry's fiction fans, but also for readers curious about Amish life.
    Show book
  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book
  • Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir - cover

    Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir

    Dave Mustaine, Joe Layden

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n’ roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insider’s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.
    Show book