The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Bonne Chance! - Building a Life in Rural France - cover

Bonne Chance! - Building a Life in Rural France

Richard Wiles

Publisher: Summersdale

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Deep in the Limousin countryside, Richard Wiles bought his dream home. But little did he expect to be living full time in the dilapidated farmhouse while struggling to finish the conversion during the insect plagues of summer and the harsh blizzards of winter. Watched by his bemused neighbours, Richard also pursues his more unusual dreams of raising llamas, hot-air ballooning and marathon running whilst trying to keep the roof over his head. Told with unfailing humour and optimism, this is a unique tale of overcoming the formidable challenges of building a home, and a life, in France.

Other books that might interest you

  • Travels in Manchuria and Mongolia - A Feminist Poet from Japan Encounters Prewar China - cover

    Travels in Manchuria and...

    Akiko Yosano

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Yosano Akiko (1878-1942) was one of Japan's greatest poets and translators from classical Japanese. Her output was extraordinary, including twenty volumes of poetry and the most popular translation of the ancient classic The Tale of Genji into modern Japanese. The mother of eleven children, she was a prominent feminist and frequent contributor to Japan's first feminist journal of creative writing, Seito (Blue stocking).In 1928 at a highpoint of Sino-Japanese tensions, Yosano was invited by the South Manchurian Railway Company to travel around areas with a prominent Japanese presence in China's northeast. This volume, translated for the first time into English, is her account of that journey. Though a portrait of China and the Chinese, the chronicle is most revealing as a portrait of modern Japanese representations of China—and as a study of Yosano herself.
    Show book
  • Denmark - cover

    Denmark

    Sacheverell Sitwell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A narrative of his time in Denmark, this work is largely concerned with the topography of the country, telling the intending visitor about all those features of the country's buildings, landscape and people which are most characteristic and best worth seeing. 
     
    First published in 1956, this is a comprehensive study on Denmark, including the history and culture. To read a travel book by this author is to visit a country with a new pair of eyes.
    Show book
  • Yemen - The Unknown Arabia - cover

    Yemen - The Unknown Arabia

    Tim Mackintosh-Smith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This New York Times Notable Book is “a vigorous, humorous debut that paints a delightful portrait of a distant land” (Kirkus Reviews).   Yemen is arguably the most fascinating and least known country in the Arab world. Located at the southern tip of the Arabian Peninsula, it has been long regarded by classical geographers as a fabulous land where flying serpents guard sacred incense groves. But our current ideas of Yemen have been hijacked by images of terrorist strongholds, drone attacks, and diplomatic tensions.   After living thirteen years among the Yemenis, Tim Mackintosh-Smith reminds us there is another Arabia. “His characters are not the mustachioed bandidos of old, but men who have worked oil rigs, fought civil wars, harvested frankincense and myrrh . . . The places he visits do not serve as mere backdrops for the author’s ruminations on the ills of modern life; rather, they are celebrated and assessed for their specific qualities: hot, dusty, endlessly fascinating places with histories that cry out for attention” (Kirkus Reviews).   “[Mackintosh-Smith] seems incapable of writing a dull sentence, and in him the scholar, the linguist and the storyteller swap hats with marvelous speed.” —The New York Times Book Review   “This is no ordinary travelogue, but an impressionistic exploration of a non-Western land by an experienced observer . . . Offers an opportunity for dedicated armchair travelers to delight in a land few Westerners will actually visit.” —Publishers Weekly   “His book is a delightful literary exercise that at the same time spoon-feeds a great deal of information about his adopted country.” —Middle East Quarterly
    Show book
  • Traveler's Paradise - Los Angeles Shopping & Travel Guide 2018 - (About Los Angeles California Things to do in Los Angeles Must see locations in Los Angeles Shopping in Los Angeles Hotels and Accommodations in Los Angeles) - cover

    Traveler's Paradise - Los...

    Juha Öörni

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Are you planning a trip to Los Angeles? Is it your dream vacation and you want to make the most of your time in the city?
     
    LA is a vibrant melting pot that has something for everyone and if you are planning a trip to this amazing Californian city you’ll definitely want to know all about what there is to do.
     
    Inside the in-depth Los Angeles Shopping and Travel Guide, you’ll find a wealth of information on one of the USA’s biggest and most famous cities, with things like:
    The best places to stay
    The things to see you definitely won’t want to miss
    Some of the best restaurants in town
    Shopping malls and markets
    Smart travel tips
    LA on a budget
    And more…
    
    
     
    Whether you are in the city for a weekend or a month, there is plenty to see and do, with concert halls, gardens, museums, buildings and beaches all within easy reach.
     
    And making the most of whatever time you have to spend is much easier with this great guide that will make sure you see exactly what you want, without blowing your budget and keeping you street safe as well.
     
    Get a copy of Los Angeles Shopping and Travel Guide today and start planning the trip of your life!
    Show book
  • Tracks - One Woman's Journey Across 1700 Miles of Australian Outback - cover

    Tracks - One Woman's Journey...

    Robyn Davidson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The incredible true story of one woman’s solo adventure across the Australian outback, accompanied by her faithful dog and four unpredictable camels.I arrived in the Alice at five a.m. with a dog, six dollars and a small suitcase full of inappropriate clothes. . . . There are some moments in life that are like pivots around which your existence turns. For Robyn Davidson, one of these moments comes at age twenty-seven in Alice Springs, a dodgy town at the frontier of the vast Australian desert. Davidson is intent on walking the 1,700 miles of desolate landscape between Alice Springs and the Indian Ocean, a personal pilgrimage with her dog—and four camels. Tracks is the beautifully written, compelling true story of the author’s journey and the love/hate relationships she develops along the way: with the Red Centre of Australia; with aboriginal culture; with a handsome photographer; and especially with her lovable and cranky camels, Bub, Dookie, Goliath, and Zeleika.   Adapted into a critically acclaimed film starring Mia Wasikowska and Adam Driver, Tracks is an unforgettable story that proves that anything is possible. Perfect for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild.  
    Show book
  • The Kindness of Strangers - Travel Stories That Make Your Heart Grow - cover

    The Kindness of Strangers -...

    Fearghal O'Nuallain

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Travel is the only thing you can buy that makes you richer
     
    Travel opens our minds to the world; it helps us to embrace risk and uncertainty, overcome challenges and understand the people we meet and the places we visit. But what happens when we arrive home? How do our experiences shape us?
     
    The Kindness of Strangers explores what it means to be vulnerable and to be helped by someone we've never met before. Someone who could have walked past, but chose not to.
     
    This is a collection of stories by accomplished travellers and adventurous souls like Sarah Outen, Benedict Allen, Ed Stafford and Al Humphreys, who have completed daring journeys through challenging terrain, adventuring from the Calais Jungle to the Amazon, from Land’s End to the Gobi Desert, from New Guinea to Iran and many other places in between. Each has a story to tell of a time when they were vulnerable, when they were in need and a kind stranger came to their rescue.
     
    These are stories that make our hearts grow, stories that will restore our faith in the world and remind us that, despite what the media says, the world isn't a scary place – rather, it is filled with Kind Strangers just like us.
     
    All royalties go directly to fund Oxfam’s work with refugees.
    Show book