Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Gat Heat - cover

Gat Heat

Richard S. Prather

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

When his client turns up dead and naked, Shell Scott focuses on the widow   Everyone at the party is naked. It’s just that kind of scene. Even the corpse seems to have forgotten his clothes. Private detective Shell Scott has tangled with the toughest ’hoods in Los Angeles—and has the scars to show for it—but even he isn’t prepared for a gathering of Southern California’s most murderous nudists. He’s been summoned to the party by the host, George Halstead, on a matter of “peculiar delicacy,” but he’ll soon discover there’s much more to this mystery than a single unclothed stiff.   As it turns out, it’s Halstead who’s both naked and dead, and his widow is eager for Scott to crack the case. Before he knows what hit him, this PI will be neck-deep in blackmail, murder, and enough bare bodies to fill the grotto at the Playboy Mansion.

Other books that might interest you

  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book
  • The Pallbearer - A Novel - cover

    The Pallbearer - A Novel

    Jordan Farmer

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    For fans of Daniel Woodrell and Frank Bill, The Pallbearer is a stunning debut that takes an unflinching look at an Appalachian town after several coal mines close, resulting in widespread poverty, unemployment, and drug addiction.  
    The Pallbearer has a physically disabled protagonist and several fully realized gay characters whose narratives go beyond their sexuality. This answers a call for more inclusive and diverse characters in publishing. 
    Jordan Farmer, who has dwarfism, writes about the challenges of physical disability from an informed POV. He is currently a Ph.D. candidate studying creative writing at the University of Lincoln-Nebraska. He will be able to use his connections there to bolster the publicity of the book.
    The novel directly addresses the contemporary issues surrounding the coal industry, the rage of lower-class white families, the opioid epidemic, discrimination against the LGBTQ community, and the prison industrial complex.
    Show book
  • In the Galway Silence - cover

    In the Galway Silence

    Ken Bruen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Ex-cop Jack Taylor, with all his rogue poetic charm and Jameson-fueled riffs on pop culture, is one of the most iconic characters in crime fiction. This series has a devoted readership, with fans including critics like Adam Woog (Seattle Times) and David J. Montgomery (Strand Magazine).
    
    In the Galway Silence picks up after a spectacularly bloody ending to The Ghosts of Galway, which involved the death of a character who had prominently featured in the last few books in the series. This is an intensely plotted new installment which reveals much about Jack’s personal life—including that he has a daughter he never knew about. 
    
    In Bruen’s typical cleverly playful fashion, In the Galway Silence also features a cameo by a crime writer who very closely resembles Bruen himself (“in his fifties but looked older; an alleged stint in a South American jail had given him preternaturally totally white hair”).
    
    The first Jack Taylor novel, The Guards, Bookscans over 17,000 in paperback, was shortlisted for the Edgar, Barry, and Macavity awards, and won the Shamus Award for Best Novel. The fifth book, Priest, was also a finalist for the Edgar and Barry awards. 
    
    The Jack Taylor series has been adapted for TV in a series starring Iain Glen (Game of Thrones), available for streaming on Netflix. Two Bruen novels have also been made into feature films: London Boulevard (starring Colin Farrell) and Blitz (starring Jason Statham). 
    
    In 2016, Ken Bruen was awarded the iBAM! (Irish Books, Arts, and Music) Literature Award, presented in Chicago.
    Show book
  • Still Dead - A JP Beaumont Novella - cover

    Still Dead - A JP Beaumont Novella

    J. A. Jance

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Since the disbanding of the Special Homicide Investigation Team, J. P. Beaumont’s biggest concern is pondering whether he and his wife Mel should finally get a dog. But one voicemail from his old friend Ralph Ames is about to change that. Through Ralph, Beau has become involved in an organization called The Last Chance, which enlists a number of retired homicide investigators to tackle long-unsolved cold cases. The one that has just landed on Beau’s plate is a thirty-year-old missing persons case. 
    The facts are muddy at best; Janice Marie Harrison’s car was found abandoned near a bridge, and scratched in the dirt nearby was the word “sorry.” It’s possible her death was a suicide, but her body was never found. And as Beau begins to investigate, he discovers that no one connected to Janice—not her once-all-star football player widower, Anders; not her long-grieving sister, Estelle; not sheriff Gavin Loper, who was deputy sheriff at the time of Janice’s disappearance; and not Anders’s second wife Betsy—is exactly what they seem. The question is, which of them knows the truth? 
    And why have they kept it buried? 
    Included with this short story is a sneak peek at the next J. P. Beaumont novel, Proof of Life
    Show book
  • After I'm Gone - A Novel - cover

    After I'm Gone - A Novel

    Laura Lippman

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    Laura Lippman, the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of The Most Dangerous Thing, I’d Know You Anywhere, and What the Dead Know, returns with an addictive story that explores how one man’s disappearance echoes through the lives of the wife, mistress, and daughters he left behind. 
    When Felix Brewer meets Bernadette “Bambi” Gottschalk at a Valentine’s Dance in 1959, he charms her with wild promises, some of which he actually keeps. Thanks to his lucrative—if not all legal—businesses, she and their three little girls live in luxury. But on the Fourth of July, 1976, Bambi’s comfortable world implodes when Felix, newly convicted and facing prison, mysteriously vanishes. 
    Though Bambi has no idea where her husband—or his money—might be, she suspects one woman does: his mistress, Julie. When Julie disappears ten years to the day that Felix went on the lam, everyone assumes she’s left to join her old lover—until her remains are eventually found. 
    Now, twenty-six years after Julie went missing, Roberto “Sandy” Sanchez, a retired Baltimore detective working cold cases for some extra cash, is investigating her murder. What he discovers is a tangled web stretching over three decades that connects five intriguing women. And at the center is the missing man Felix Brewer. 
    Somewhere between the secrets and lies connecting past and present, Sandy will find the truth. And when he does, no one will ever be the same.
    Show book
  • Sideman The - A Scottish police procedural set in Glasgow - cover

    Sideman The - A Scottish police...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    With no evidence against him and no known motive, DI Costello must break the rules if she is to get her man.
    Detective Inspector Costello has resigned. No notice, no goodbyes. Convinced that George Haggerty murdered his wife and son despite his cast-iron alibi, Costello has gone solo, determined to expose a ruthless killer without being hampered by police protocol. But is she right about Haggerty’s guilt? And where has she disappeared to?
    DCI Colin Anderson has no time to ponder the loss of his partner of twenty years. With a badly beaten body found on a remote mountain pass; a woman with a serious head wound who won’t communicate in any way; and a substantial pool of blood discovered at the edge of Loch Lomond, Police Scotland have their hands full. Could there be any connection to Costello’s disappearance …?
    Show book