Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Mediums Rare - cover

Mediums Rare

Richard Matheson

Publisher: RosettaBooks

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The celebrated author of Stir of Echoes and Hell House offers a fascinating exploration of parapsychology and its history.In Mediums Rare, horror and science fiction novelist Richard Matheson shares a personal project inspired by his lifelong interest in all things paranormal. Here is a brief account of psychic beginnings, covering subjects like telepathy, ESP, paranormal activity, and more.Parapsychology, today, utilizes highly advanced methodology. It has, long since, left behind the era of dim-lit parlors and spiritual melodramatics. It is, now, a completely legitimate field of study based upon precise and sophisticated test procedures. But it began quite differently.Matheson takes readers on a journey through paranormal history, beginning in Greek antiquity and making his way toward renowned American psychic Edgar Cayce. Along the way, he recounts episodes like the Margaret and Kate Fox, young sisters who, in 1848, convinced others they were in touch with ghosts in a haunted house. There’s also Civil War-era medium Nettie Colburn who aided President Lincoln and may have channeled Daniel Webster. Other episodes include New England mediums “Mrs. Leonard and Mrs. Piper” and the great magician Harry Houdini.“Fans of parapsychology or of Matheson’s other works should enjoy this lively exploration of great topics that inform the genre and have become legendary.”—Publishers Weekly
Available since: 05/14/2011.
Print length: 140 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Femdom Slave - Her Army Pet - cover

    Femdom Slave - Her Army Pet

    Hellen Heels

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Femdom Slave - Her Army Pet 8 - Denial 
    Mistress Kennedy has a way of controlling men in uniform. Enjoy this short story.
    Show book
  • Who Gets Believed - When the Truth Isn't Enough - cover

    Who Gets Believed - When the...

    Dina Nayeri

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Why are honest asylum seekers dismissed as liars? Former refugee and award-winning author Dina Nayeri begins with this question, turning to shocking and illuminating case studies in this book, which grows into a reckoning with our culture’s views on believability. From persuading a doctor that she’d prefer a C-section to learning to “bullshit gracefully” at McKinsey to struggling, in her personal life, to believe her troubled brother-in-law, Nayeri explores an aspect of our society that is rarely held up to the light. For fans of David Grann, Malcolm Gladwell, and Atul Gawande, Who Gets Believed? is a book as deeply personal as it is profound in its reflections on morals, language, human psychology, and the unspoken social codes that determine how we relate to one another.
    Show book
  • Stories for 3 to 4 year olds - Collection 1 - cover

    Stories for 3 to 4 year olds -...

    Cliff Moon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Enhance, extend and enrich your pupils’ reading experience. 
    Bring Collins Big Cat to life in your classroom with brand new read-along versions of all Key Stage 1 Collins Big Cat books. Enjoy lively readings, sound effects and music whilst helping children connect how words look with how they sound. 
    This audio bundle includes stories for age 3 to 4 year olds from Band 03/Yellow, titles are: 
    Around the world 
    Baby Dragon and the Animal Olympics 
    Bart the shark 
    Bob's Secret Hideaway 
    Cool Cars 
    Dance to the Beat 
    Diggity dog 
    Discover Mars! 
    Doing nothing 
    Hands 
    Horse up a tree 
    How to Have a Party 
    It was a cold dark night 
    Lights 
    Milo's Moustache 
    Mission Mars 
    Muscles 
    My Pet Worm 
    Night Animals   
    Olympic BMX 
    Percy and the rabbit 
    Rat a tat tat 
    Real Monsters 
    Rebecca at the funfair 
    Rock Out! 
    Rolling 
    Sam the big bad cat 
    The Baby turtle 
    The Dancing Dog 
    The Elephant's Ears 
    The Hare and the Tortoise 
    The helper bird 
    The little egg 
    The New Kite 
    The Sun and the Moon 
    The wind 
    Thin Ice 
    Time for School 
    Top Secret 
    Water bears 
    When Rosa Parks Met Martin Luther King Junior 
    Where is my School?
    Show book
  • The Dreaming Road - cover

    The Dreaming Road

    Elizabeth Moore

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    What if death is only an urban legend?On a spring morning in early May, Diane wakes up to find her beautiful 16-year old daughter, Callie, lying dead on the floor of her bedroom. The police find a suicide note in Callie’s jewelry chest and Diane’s whole world, as she had previously known it, falls apart.In the afterlife, Callie meets her great grandma, Ellie, who tells her that she’s in a part of heaven called Summer Wind and can never return home again. She wrestles with her abrupt and impulsive decision to take her own life and witnesses the impact that this event has on all who love her.Diane begins a desperate search for answers by tearing apart Callie’s bedroom looking for anything that might tell her what drove her daughter to suicide. She visits Joy, a spiritual healer, who tells her that she must learn to seek the gift in her experiences rather than remaining addicted to her guilt and pain. Diane struggles with letting go of the daughter she once knew and all her hopes and dreams for the future.Desperate to reassure her mother that she’s okay, Callie attempts to communicate with her from beyond the veil. They both begin a heart-wrenching journey to find one another once again.
    Show book
  • Wellington and the British Army's Indian Campaigns 1798–1805 - cover

    Wellington and the British...

    Martin R. Howard

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This “superb account of the British Army under Wellington in India reads like one of Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe novels, or, better still, a Flashman novel” (Books Monthly). The Peninsular War and the Napoleonic Wars across Europe are subjects of such enduring interest that they have prompted extensive research and writing. Yet other campaigns, in what was a global war, have been largely ignored. Such is the case for the war in India which persisted for much of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic periods and peaked in the years 1798-1805 with the campaigns of Arthur Wellesley—later the Duke of Wellington—and General Lake in the Deccan and Hindustan. That is why this new study by Martin Howard is so timely and important. While it fully acknowledges Wellington’s vital role, it also addresses the nature of the warring armies, the significance of the campaigns of Lake in North India, and leaves the reader with an understanding of the human experience of war in the region. For this was a brutal conflict in which British armies clashed with the formidable forces of the Sultan of Mysore and the Maratha princes. There were dramatic pitched battles at Assaye, Argaum, Delhi and Laswari, and epic sieges at Seringapatam, Gawilghur and Bhurtpore. The British success was not universal.“An absorbing account of Wellesley/Lord Wellington which shows how his actions in India had a significant effect on the development of the British Empire and events through to the modern era.—Highly Recommended.” —Firetrench“An eye opener on the power and influence of the East India Company at this time. A jolly good read.” —Clash of Steel
    Show book
  • A Death in Canaan - A Classic Case of Good and Evil in a Small New England Town - cover

    A Death in Canaan - A Classic...

    Joan Barthel

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A “riveting” true crime classic: The trial of Connecticut teen Peter Reilly, accused of killing his mother, and the community that defended him (People). In the sleepy hamlet of Canaan, Connecticut, Barbara Gibbons stood out. She and her eighteen-year-old son, Peter Reilly, lived in a drab one-bedroom house on a desolate stretch of road. An intelligent, lively woman with a wicked sense of humor, Barbara also had dark moods and drank too much. She fought loudly with neighbors and her son, and appeared to have a messy, complicated love life.   When Peter came home from the Teen Center one night to discover his mother lying naked on the bedroom floor with her throat slashed, the police made him their prime suspect. After eight hours of interrogation and a polygraph test, Peter confessed. Investigators were convinced they had an open-and-shut case, but the townspeople disagreed. They couldn’t believe that the naïve teenager was capable of such a gruesome crime, and blamed detectives for taking advantage of the boy’s trust. With the help of celebrities including Mike Nichols and William Styron, who contributes an eloquent and persuasive introduction to Joan Barthel’s account of the case, the community of Canaan rallied to Peter’s defense.   A gripping murder mystery and an intimate portrait of the loyalties, resentments, and secrets lurking beneath the placid surface of quiet towns across America, A Death in Canaan is a masterpiece of “first-class journalism” (The New York Times).  
    Show book