Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Hunger & Thirst - cover

Hunger & Thirst

Richard Matheson

Publisher: RosettaBooks

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The visionary first novel by the author of What Dreams May Come in which a man paralyzed by a gunshot reflects on his sordid past and hopes for redemption.Hunger and Thirst is Richard Matheson’s first and until now previously unpublished novel, written fifty-plus years ago when Matheson was only twenty-three-years-old. Matheson’s agent told him it was unpublishable due to its length and so to that end, Matheson put the manuscript in a drawer and left for California where his writing career changed dramatically.Hunger and Thirst centers around Erick, who lies paralyzed on his hospital bed after being shot during a botched bank robbery. Erick contemplates how his life became such a mess—from his childhood, to his service in the war, his romantic life, and now—and holds out hope to be saved…Perfect for fans of Stephen King’s Gerald’s GamePraise for Richard Matheson“One of the greatest writers of the twentieth century.”—Ray Bradbury“The author who influenced me the most as a writer was Richard Matheson.”—Stephen King
Available since: 06/12/2011.
Print length: 609 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Gamble - A Gripping Psychological Thriller - cover

    Gamble - A Gripping...

    Anita Waller

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The murder of best friends sparks a sinister chain of events in this thriller from the internationally bestselling author of the Kat and Mouse mysteries. 
     
    Would you risk everything to protect your family? Carla Andrews and Lorraine West are work colleagues and best friends. They socialise together, they work in the same bookmakers and they support each other as only best friends can. 
     
    Then they are murdered together. 
     
    When DI Tom Fowler is handed the case, he discovers a journal that Carla has left and must unpick the secrets Lorraine has kept hidden. 
     
    Soon Carla’s and Lorraine’s husbands become the main suspects. It’s usually the spouse who is responsible, isn’t it? 
     
    The investigation progresses until Lorraine’s sixteen-year-old son disappears. Will the truth ever emerge? And is knowing the truth always worth the sacrifice? 
     
    Praise for the thrillers of Anita Waller 
     
    “Once again Anita Waller brings the reader a masterfully written, first class mystery thriller with a jaw dropping twist that will leave you speechless.” —Once Upon a Time Book Reviews 
     
    “I always anticipate getting my hands on the latest Anita Waller thriller because I know I will not be able to put it down and I will be thoroughly surprised and entertained.” —Avonna Loves Genres 
     
    “A must-read for crime thriller readers.” —Bookstormer 
     
    “A really well written, gripping book with plenty of twists for me!” —Donna’s Book Blog 
     
    “A tense, drama-packed read. I was literally biting my nails by the end.” —On the Shelf Reviews
    Show book
  • The Monster Sex Experiment: Episode 9 - cover

    The Monster Sex Experiment:...

    Nixie Fairfax

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Tempers flare when a debate erupts among the girls about the nature of their predicament, with Hannah and Emma facing off on rival sides. Meanwhile Maddie gets paired up with a big, brutish two-headed monster. And a head isn’t the only thing it has two of. It’s a one-monster double penetration in the latest divaricated episode of The Monster Sex Experiment.
    Show book
  • Men Have Sex With Animals 5-Pack - cover

    Men Have Sex With Animals 5-Pack

    Animalissa

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    5 hot tales of men getting it on with animals!
     
    My Wife Was Pissed When She Caught Me Screwing The Dog And She Was Doubly Pissed When I Told Her The Reason I Was Doing It Was Because Her Pussy Wasn’t Tight Enough/I’m So Sick I Screw My Sister’s Dog After I’ve Screwed Her/I Lost A Bet So Had To Screw A Mare In Public/I Was Going Through A Dry Spell With Women So I Did The Neighbour’s Dog/I Went To A Brothel And Was Offered A Horse
    Show book
  • Women Bred By Animals 5-Pack - cover

    Women Bred By Animals 5-Pack

    Animalissa

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    5 hot tales of women getting bred by beasts!
     
    My Husband Couldn't Breed Me But Buster Sure Could/I Convinced My Wife To Let Our Dog Breed Her/Bred By My Father's Rottweiler/Seeded By Satan's Dog/Bred By A Horse For Personalised Sexual Content
    Show book
  • Orced Raw - cover

    Orced Raw

    Nixie Fairfax

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Captured by her people’s ancient enemy, Elara the elf discovers forbidden pleasures at the hands of the monstrous orcs!
    After finding evidence of orc activity near the border of her forest homeland, Elara the elvish ranger sets out to investigate. When she recklessly gets too close to their lair, the petite warrior is captured and taken to their arena, where she learns that she has been chosen to become the tribe’s latest broodmare and must now face off against every healthy male orc of the tribe in a battle/mating ritual. In the process, she discovers that her hatred of the orcs masks other, more shameful feelings, and as the hulking, well-hung monsters overwhelm her and roughly have their way with her, she finds herself wracked with bliss the likes of which she has never felt before.
    Show book
  • BLADE & BASTARD: Wireframe Dungeon & Dragon with Red Dead Volume 2 - cover

    BLADE & BASTARD: Wireframe...

    Kumo Kagyu

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Scorch marks blacken the wireframe dungeon, and the smell of burnt meat hangs in the air. Iarumas’s party stumbles upon a corpse, more charcoal than flesh, and Raraja insists on dragging it out. Murmur—Chant—Pray—Invoke. A large-framed girl named Berkanan gulps the fresh air of her second chance at life. Her confidence is low and her skills as a fledgling mage are inadequate, but despite all that, she has a serious goal—kill the red dragon that burned her party alive. This dragon, an interloper from the lower levels of the dungeon, has become so notorious that even the most seasoned parties refuse to engage. Even so, Garbage and Raraja agree to aid Berkanan, and Iarumas lends his support. The chances of failure are high, but in the dungeon, immolation is not a permanent end...as long as someone is willing to pay. Can Iarumas’s party douse the flames of the dragon, or will they all succumb to a menacing red death?
    Show book