Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Isn't That Rich? - Life Among the 1 Percent - cover

Isn't That Rich? - Life Among the 1 Percent

Richard Kirshenbaum

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Celebrated ad man Richard Kirshenbaum, the original New York observer, reveals the fashions, foibles, and outrageous extravagances of the private-jet set Paid friends. Pot dealers draped in Dolce. Divorce settlements that include the Birkins at their current retail price. Air kisses, landing strips, and lounge-chair bribery. For most of us, the idea of life inside the golden triad of Park Avenue, Sagaponack, and St. Barths is just as exotic as the mysteries of the Bermuda Triangle. Luckily, Richard Kirshenbaum has a VIP pass to the Upper East Side and is willing to share the wealth—of gossip. His New York Observer column on uptown social life provides a fascinating glimpse behind the gilded curtain into the swanky restaurants and eye-popping vacation destinations where the 1 percent gathers.Isn’t That Rich? features highlights from Kirshenbaum’s monthly column as well as several brand-new essays. From cash-strapped blue bloods willing to trade their good names for a taste of nouveau riche treasure to the fine art of donning a cashmere sweater in Capri, our intrepid correspondent exposes the preoccupations of the posh. His insider sources may be anonymous, but “his up-to-the-minute portrait of today’s 1 percent is both insightful and a joy to read, no matter what tax bracket you’re in.” (Mortimer Zuckerman)

Who read this book also read:

  • 50 Jobs Worse Than Yours - cover

    50 Jobs Worse Than Yours

    Justin Racz

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Guaranteed to make you grateful for the job you have and thankful for the one you don't. From Saddam Hussein Double to Telemarketing Script Writer to the guy who operates the "It's a Small World After All" ride, satirist Justin Racz has spanned the globe to find fifty jobs worse than yours, so we can all feel better about our own. Featuring fifty color photos of the awful, the pitiful, the hysterical jobs out there, and all their undesirable employment details, Fifty Jobs Worse Than Yours is the perfect gift for anyone stuck in a nine-to-five grind who needs to remember why it could be a whole, whole lot worse.
    Show book
  • Cars Coffee and a Badass Ninja Toilet - Julia Karr - cover

    Cars Coffee and a Badass Ninja...

    K.C. Hilton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    If you deal with customers day after day who drive you insane, give you reasons to drink alcohol, or make you want to quit your job, this book is definitely for you. And maybe a few of your friends. Rest assured, you are not alone. 
    A chaotic and hilarious portrait of a used car lot owner, Julia Karr. Her feisty attitude and fearless approach to managing a business, how it affects her home life and dealings with customers will have you scratching your head about humanity.
    Show book
  • Three Men Little Alvin and a Tonka Truck - cover

    Three Men Little Alvin and a...

    Angelin Sydney

    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    Three Men, Little Alvin, and a Tonka Truck is an adorable caper of a story. It will tug at your heartstrings. 
    Little Alvin is a cute, blond-haired, blue-eyed boy who has the world at his feet. Though he could afford to buy all the toy stores in the world, his most prized possession is a Tonka Truck. 
    Little Alvin is a prince in the eyes of his minders. They love him dearly and are prepared to lay their lives down for him. 
    When an attempt to kidnap Little Alvin materialised one day, the three men in his life leap into action. 
    Will they come it out of their ordeal alive? 
    Show book
  • The Outcasts - A Novel - cover

    The Outcasts - A Novel

    Stephen Becker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An American engineer journeys to the tropics to build a bridge and reclaim his manhood in this brilliant tragicomedy written during the height of the Cold War Fleeing two bad marriages and the sneaking suspicion that failure is his destiny, Bernard Morrison boards a flight bound for a freshly liberated country in desperate need of infrastructure. When the plane finally touches down, the pilot has happy news: The airport and the capital are not under attack. So far, so good, thinks Morrison as he heads for the jungle.   The bridge he has been sent to build may be in the middle of nowhere, but the work requires discipline and fortitude—qualities long missing from Morrison’s routine—and his interactions with the native laborers and their bosses are refreshingly out of the ordinary. When he discovers a primitive tribe living near the construction site, Morrison revels in their freedom and lack of inhibition. He vows to protect the innocent tribespeople, not realizing that it’s too late—the bridge to the future has already been built.   Part farce, part tragedy, The Outcasts is a powerful morality tale in the tradition of Joseph Conrad and Graham Greene.
    Show book
  • The Complete Book of Dutch-ified English - An “Inwaluable” Introduction to an “Enchoyable” Accent of the “Inklish Lankwitch” - cover

    The Complete Book of Dutch-ified...

    Gary Gates

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Here is a book for anyone tired of speaking flat, colorless, homogenized English. Pennsylvania Dutchman Gary Gates provides a glossary, read-aloud section, songs, recipes, and more in this delightful, “inwaluable” introduction to Dutch-ified English.Learn the meaning of “rutch” and “spritz,” what a “clod” and a “crotch” are, how to pronounce and make “Cussin Rache’s Snitz and Knepp,” and what has happened to food when it’s “all.” Spice up your vocabulary with delightful words and phrases, such as:•  Grex: To complain, moan. “Ah, quit your grexing, you have a vonderful life.”•  Face: Belief, religious conwiction. “Praise be! Rebecca has found her face in the Lord again!”•  Gruntbecky: An expression of hard going. “Gruntbecky! It’s difficult to run in this hot sun.”•  Nix nootz: A devilish, mischievous person. “Our daughter is a little nix nootz.”•  Rupdawn: A massage. “A good rupdawn will take the ache away.”Tired of trying to conform to traditional speech patterns, Gary offers a warm and funny celebration of the unique Dutch culture in America.
    Show book
  • Krum's at Christmere - cover

    Krum's at Christmere

    Laurence J Stein

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Krum's at Christmere is a humorous, urban adventure story. It follows the exploits of a young man whose "family" controls organized crime in the Bronx at the end of the 1950s. After years of dedicated work, Cupid's arrow hits and everything changes. He must choose between the love of his life and a successful career. 
    Thrown off balance, he makes fatal mistakes. To save his life he must succeed in a series of challenges imposed on him by the all-powerful boss of his family. 
    He needs to finish up the gunrunning, tax fraud and blackmail of city hall in a hurry. And all that just gets him to the diamond robbery. 
    Krum's has a picaresque cliff-hanger quality. It is very entertaining.
    Show book