Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Relic to Die For - Books To Die For - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books to choose from, so you can read without limits!

A Relic to Die For - Books To Die For

Richard Houston

Publisher: Richard Houston

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The crime solving trio of the Books To Die For series is back to solve another who dun it. This time Bonnie's nephew discovers family relics for sale online belonging to his great, great grandfather who was buried 150 years ago on the family farm. Jake is hired to check out the grave of Captain Howard Scott on the Southern Missouri homestead. The investigation lands Jake in a grave with a corpse, and a suspect in a gruesome murder. Will he clear his name and find the real murderer. Of course he will, but along the way, Jake, Bonnie, and Fred have an adventure of a lifetime.

Other books that might interest you

  • Demise - A Novel of Race Culture Wars and Falling Darkness - cover

    Demise - A Novel of Race Culture...

    John M. Del Vecchio

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    AUTHOR'S PREFERRED EDITION
     
    This is the story of two young men, one white, one black, who grew up in the 1960s, who were best friends—their high school’s Salt ‘n’ Pepper running backs. One went to Vietnam, the other avoided the draft.
     
    Their worlds begin to disintegrate when a freak accident disrupts the peaceful Connecticut town where they have settled. As 50-year-old corporate executives, one loathes his job and finds himself increasingly estranged from his family and community. Events force them closer together, yet careers, families, and tragedies which revolve about decisions made three decades earlier tear them apart.
     
    Del Vecchio has created a beautiful, penetrating novel of men struggling with their demons, a town struggling with tragedy, and families struggling to stay together.
     
    “...a stunning and insightful masterpiece, as timely as tomorrow’s news.” —Al Santoli, author of Everything We Had
    Show book
  • The Last Seance - Tales of the Supernatural - cover

    The Last Seance - Tales of the...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Reading a perfectly plotted Agatha Christie is like crunching into a perfect apple: that pure, crisp, absolute satisfaction.”—Tana French, New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    From the Queen of Suspense, an all-new collection of her spookiest and most sinister stories, including an Agatha Christie story never before published in the USA, The Wife of Kenite! 
    For lovers of the supernatural and the macabre comes this collection of ghostly and chilling stories from legendary mystery writer Agatha Christie. Fantastic psychic visions, specters looming in the shadows, encounters with deities, a man who switches bodies with a cat—be sure to keep the light on whilst reading these tales.  
    The Last Séance gathers twenty stories, some featuring Christie’s beloved detectives Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, in one haunting compendium that explores all things occult and paranormal, and is an essential omnibus for Christie fans.
    Show book
  • The Accident - A heart-stopping thriller with shocking secrets that will keep you hooked - cover

    The Accident - A heart-stopping...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tragic accident, an unbearable loss and a marriage in crisis – but who can she trust or is she all alone? A gripping, debut psychological thriller that will keep you hooked. Perfect for the fans of Paula Hawkins and S.J. Watson. 
     
    Veronica Pullman's comfortable suburban life comes to a shuddering halt when her young daughter, Grace, tragically dies in a car accident. 
     
    Months later, unable to come to terms with her daughter's death, detached from her husband and alienated from her friends and family, a chance encounter on a rainy street pushes her into an unlikely new friendship. 
     
    Scarlet is everything Veronica could've been: feisty, adventurous, unpredictable. But as she approaches what would have been Grace's 10th birthday, it becomes clear to Veronica that the friendship she thought was saving her life could be costing her everything. 
     
    Consumed by grief and left questioning her own sanity, is there anyone she can really trust or is someone out to torment her as part of their twisted game? 
     
    'This novel is a beautifully written, if disturbing, exploration of how grief affects friendships, marriage and the main character's sense of self' Anita Davison.
    Show book
  • The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel - cover

    The Ghosts of Africa - A Novel

    William Stevenson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A sprawling fictional account of the adventures of Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck, the World War I military commander who created the first modern guerilla army.   November 1914. In German-occupied East Africa during the Great War, British forces have arrived. In defiance of his orders, Prussian commander Paul von Lettow-Vorbeck enlists soldiers, civilians, and African rebels to fight against the British—the world’s first modern guerrilla uprising. Lettow-Vorbeck’s actions draw the attention of the brilliant but brutal chief of British intelligence, who vows to defeat him. To complicate matters, Lettow-Vorbeck finds himself embroiled in a romantic relationship with an American woman who loves him—but objects to his conduct in the war. Meanwhile, Zionists fight for influence in the region, rival tribes must be appeased with diplomacy, and an African princess serves as a spy for the rebels.   The acclaimed author of A Man Called Intrepid crafts a novel of romance, war, and resistance based on real-life personas and historical events. A former foreign correspondent in the region, William Stevenson paints an astonishingly accurate and detailed picture of the geography, military, and political climate of East Africa in a time of chaos. A thrilling read, TheGhosts of Africa is an epic tale of adventure that will both entertain and inform.
    Show book
  • Down in the Dumps - A Polly Deacon Mystery - cover

    Down in the Dumps - A Polly...

    H. Mel Malton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    There is a killer at work in the sleepy village of Cedar Falls. The peaceful order of puppet-maker Polly Deacon’s back-to-nature rural life is violently interrupted when she finds her best friend Francy’s abusive husband lying dead in the dump with a hole in his chest. What’s worse, Francy can’t remember what happened the night of the murder. The cops soon get involved…and in more ways than one, as Polly finds herself falling for hunky officer Mark Becker. Afraid that the police will arrest Francy for the murder and exasperated with their ineptitude, Polly decides that only she can get to the bottom of the mysterious murder. The situation comes to a head as the outspoken and resourceful Polly begins receiving threats to her life. As she searches for answers, Polly discovers that the puzzle often points inward and she is forced to question her values and her friendships. But where there is death, there is also grief and passion, and passion in Cedar Falls is never simple, and sometimes, as Polly discovers, it can also be deadly.
    Show book
  • Best Friends Forever - an absolutely gripping crime thriller - cover

    Best Friends Forever - an...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kill your best friend? 
     
    Anna was the perfect wife. Perfect mother. Perfect woman. And now she's dead. Leaving behind her husband, David, and two young children their lives will never be the same. But Vicky will make sure life goes on... 
     
    These two women have been best friends forever, a lifetime of secrets lies between them and now Vicky is ready to step up into Anna's perfect shoes. But not everything is as it seems and as David begins to question Vicky's motives for walking into his life things might just get a little murderous. 
     
    The question on everyone's lips is, who killed Anna? And what actually happened on the night she died? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Rumour, The Silent Patient and The Suspect.
    Show book