Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Beyond Obsession - The Shocking True Story of a Teenage Love Affair Turned Deadly - cover

Beyond Obsession - The Shocking True Story of a Teenage Love Affair Turned Deadly

Richard Hammer

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

The chilling true story of a beautiful violin prodigy, her devoted boyfriend, and the devastating family secrets that led to a brutal murder.    Joyce Aparo seemed to be the perfect single mother. She doted on her sixteen-year-old daughter, Karin, encouraging her musical ability and lavishing affection on her. But behind closed doors, Joyce was a terror. For thirteen years, she beat Karin savagely, kept her away from other children, and demeaned her relentlessly. When Karin met the troubled yet brilliant Dennis Coleman, the two fell head-over-heels into lustful infatuation. But Joyce disapproved—so she had to die.   On August 5, 1987, Joyce’s body was found under a bridge near the Connecticut–Massachusetts border. She had been strangled, and was covered in bruises, with paper stuffed in her mouth and pantyhose knotted around her throat. The police investigation soon dragged her horrific treatment of Karin into the open, and the teenage lovers became the prime suspects. Dennis eventually confessed to the murder, testifying that Karin begged him to kill her mother. But Karin had a very different story to tell, claiming to have no knowledge of Dennis’s plans. Was she manipulating the police the same way she manipulated her former boyfriend, or was she an innocent victim?   Based on meticulous research, court transcripts, and interviews with the survivors, Beyond Obsession is the definitive account of an American tragedy and the basis for a popular TV movie starring Victoria Principal and Emily Warfield.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Silver Diaspora - A Journey up from Hudson Aristocracy - cover

    Silver Diaspora - A Journey up...

    Christopher T. Rand

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    At the outset, the members of author Christopher T. Rands family lived in a world of great wealth. They were among the richest people in the United States. But they then faced a dilemma: compelled to choose between staying on in their ancestral world or keeping up with the times in the nation around them and integrating themselves into the American mainstream. With each generation, the pressure on these individuals to choose between escape or immersion into the society became more and more intense. 
     
    
    In Silver Diaspora, Rand examines his familys roots in the northeastern United States and chronicles his journey through these times, against the backdrop of the family history. Embarking on a search of a better new world, Rands parents leave the East Coast and land in California. From here, this memoir follows Rand through college at Berkeley, travels abroad, work in the petroleum industry and his experiences as a writer. 
    
    
    Describing the people, places and experiences that impacted Rands life, Silver Diaspora provides one mans insight into the world in the latter two-thirds of the last century.
    Show book
  • The Little Book of Mary Queen of Scots - cover

    The Little Book of Mary Queen of...

    Mickey Mayhew

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mary Queen of Scots is perhaps one of the most controversial and divisive monarchs in regal history. Her story reads like a particularly spicy novel, with murder, kidnap, adultery, assassination and execution. To some she is one of the most wronged women in history, a pawn used and abused by her family in the great monarchical marriage game; to others, a murderous adulteress who committed regicide to marry her lover and then spent years in captivity for the crime, endlessly plotting the demise of her cousin, Queen Elizabeth I of England. This book covers the entire breath-taking scope of her amazing life and examines the immense cultural legacy she left behind, from the Schiller play of the 1800s to the CW teen drama Reign. Temptress, terrorist, or tragic queen, this book will give you the lowdown on one of history’s most misunderstood monarchs.
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • The Client Decides: : A Litigator's Life - Jackie Onassis Vice President Spriro Agnew Donald Trump Roy Cohn and more - cover

    The Client Decides: : A...

    Martin London

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A fascinating trial lawyer's memoir in which renowned litigator Martin London takes the reader inside cases of national importance, like the one involving his client Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis in a precedent shattering First Amendment case, and representing her son John Kennedy Jr. as well. The breezy narrative also describes his trial work as part of the team that won a record-breaking jury award on behalf of valiant physicians who refused to buckle under to the murder threats of a group of anti-abortion extremists, and the author reveals why the government’s criminal case against his client Vice President Spiro Agnew ended the way it did. London also represented Agnew’s predecessor, Vice President Hubert Humphrey in the political-legal battle that led to Humphrey’s winning the1968  Democratic nomination but losing the election to Richard Nixon. For a change of pace,  London reveals the strategy and tactics that produced a record jury verdict in a nationally followed case against CBS and its Chicago TV anchor Walter Jacobson. That victory was affirmed all the way up to the Supreme Court. In another matter, the author describes his defense of his lawyer-friend who was sued by Donald Trump for $105,000,000! London’s work in that case was so successful, that in the end, Trump paid London’s fees! The book also reports the details of the author’s pro bono work that led to the disbarment of Roy Cohn, and the removal and sanction of unfit judges and lawyers. A great assortment of other criminal and civil cases are described, some of which were legally and physically challenging, and some are just interesting and funny. Indeed, throughout the entire book, London displays an easygoing sense of humor, no matter how serious the subject. Finally, London gives a quick view of the events leading up to his to career as a trial lawyer, including his legal and other adventures during his tours of duty in the U.S Army, and the unsuspecting help he received in that process, from The Godfather author Mario Puzo. In sum, this book is an inviting read for lawyers and non-lawyers alike. 
     
    Show book
  • My Animals (and Other Family) - A rural childhood 1937-1956 - cover

    My Animals (and Other Family) -...

    Phyllida Barstow

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Falling truly, madly, deeply in love with one animal after another was a recurrent theme of the author’s childhood, actively encouraged by her beautiful, impetuous mother as she single-handedly held the family together during the war’s darkest days.
    
    While her husband’s regiment battled through the Tunisian desert to Italy and Austria, she criss-crossed beleaguered Britain with children, ration books, and an unwieldy train of rabbits, dogs, cats and ponies, dreaming of land of her own.
    
    But farming can’t be learned overnight, and translated into the reality of 400 acres of hilly, rain-lashed Radnorshire, that dream became a challenge for all ranks. Dragooned into acting as unskilled, unpaid labour for jobs that would make today’s Health-and-Safety freaks blench – burning rushes, driving tractors, riding on Land-Rover bonnets and towering haywains – the children came to look on boarding-school as a rest-cure, though they retain from those days of carefree, unregulated farm life a treasure-house of memories. 
    
    This elegant memoir, told with disarming honesty and gentle humour, follows the development of a lively, headstrong, self-effacing young girl into womanhood.
    Show book
  • Fools Rush In - Steve Case Jerry Levin and the Unmaking of AOL Time Warner - cover

    Fools Rush In - Steve Case Jerry...

    Nina Munk

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Every era has its merger; every era has its story. For the New Media age it was an even bigger disaster: the AOL-Time Warner deal.  
    At the time AOL and Time Warner were considered a matchless combination of old media content and new media distribution. But very soon after the deal was announced things started to go bad—and then from bad to worse. Less than four years after the deal was announced, every significant figure in the deal -save the politically astute Richard Parsons—has left the company, along with scores of others. Nearly a $100 billion was written off and a stock that once traded at $100 now trades near $10. 
    What happened? Where did it all go wrong? In this deeply sourced and deftly written book, Nina Munk gives us a window into the minds of two of the oddest men to ever run billion-dollar empires. Steve Case, the boy wonder who built AOL one free floppy disk at a time, was searching for a way out of the New Economy.  Meanwhile Jerry Levin, who'd made his reputation as a visionary when he put HBO on satellite distribution, was searching for a monumental deal. These two men, more interested in their place in history than their personal fortunes, each thought they were out-smarting the other.
    Show book