Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
2047 Short Stories from Our Common Future - cover

2047 Short Stories from Our Common Future

Richard Friedman, John A. Frochio, Kimberly Christensen, Alison Halderman, Lene K. Kristoffersen, Ruth Mundy, L X Nishimoto, Isaac Yuen, David Zetland

Publisher: Tanja Rohini Bisgaard

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

As citizens on this blue planet of ours, we are currently experiencing great changes when it comes to global warming, pollution, and toxic substances—such as microplastic—that end up in our food and our drinking water. In addition, flora and fauna are disappearing from the places where we played when we were children, and natural resources are being depleted around the world. 
Life as we know it is changing. Some say these changes are happening faster than ever, which means we need to adapt faster too. So are we? 
Thirty years ago, the United Nations created a vision for our common future: one Earth, where we could all live together without damaging the planet for future generations. 
In this short-fiction anthology, ten authors look another thirty years into the future, giving their perspectives regarding how we might—or might not—adapt to the changes around us in the year 2047.

Other books that might interest you

  • No Exit - A Novel - cover

    No Exit - A Novel

    Taylor Adams

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “What a box of tricks! This full-throttle thriller, dark and driving, rivals Agatha Christie for sheer ingenuity and James Patterson for flat-out speed. Swift, sharp, and relentless.”  — A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window 
     
    A brilliant, edgy thriller about four strangers, a blizzard, a kidnapped child, and a determined young woman desperate to unmask and outwit a vicious psychopath. 
     
    A kidnapped little girl locked in a stranger’s van. No help for miles. What would you do? 
    On her way to Utah to see her dying mother, college student Darby Thorne gets caught in a fierce blizzard in the mountains of Colorado. With the roads impassable, she’s forced to wait out the storm at a remote highway rest stop. Inside are some vending machines, a coffee maker, and four complete strangers.  
    Desperate to find a signal to call home, Darby goes back out into the storm . . . and makes a horrifying discovery. In the back of the van parked next to her car, a little girl is locked in an animal crate.  
    Who is the child? Why has she been taken? And how can Darby save her? 
    There is no cell phone reception, no telephone, and no way out. One of her fellow travelers is a kidnapper. But which one?  
    Trapped in an increasingly dangerous situation, with a child’s life and her own on the line, Darby must find a way to break the girl out of the van and escape.  
    But who can she trust?  
    With exquisitely controlled pacing, Taylor Adams diabolically ratchets up the tension with every page. Full of terrifying twists and hairpin turns, No Exit will have you on the edge of your seat and leave you breathless.
    Show book
  • All His Pretty Girls - An absolutely gripping detective novel with a jaw-dropping killer twist - cover

    All His Pretty Girls - An...

    Charly Cox

    • 2
    • 35
    • 0
    ‘a fast-paced, breathtaking read…This will definitely be making my list of favourite books of 2019’ Go Buy The Book
     
    Detective Alyssa Wyatt is hunting a serial killer.
     
    She doesn’t know that he’s hunting her.
     
    A woman is found naked, badly beaten and barely alive in the New Mexico mountains. The shocking discovery plunges Albuquerque Detective Alyssa Wyatt into a case that will test her to the limit.
     
    It appears that Callie McCormick is the latest plaything of a shadowy psychopath that leaves a long shadow on the streets of New Mexico – an individual linked to a string of deaths but leaving no evidence.
     
    But when Alyssa makes a breakthrough that just might reveal the killer, she unknowingly puts herself in the crosshairs of a brutal maniac – one with an old score to settle.
     
    Because the killer knows Alyssa very well, even if she doesn’t know him. And he’s determined that she’ll know his name – even if he has to extract his deadly revenge on her and everything she loves.
     
    The launch of a dark, gripping, completely unputdownable crime thriller series, All His Pretty Girls introduces New Mexico detective Alyssa Wyatt. Fans of Kendra Elliot, Melinda Leigh and Angela Marsons will be utterly engrossed.
     
    Reviewers are hooked on All His Pretty Girls:
     
    ‘Oh boy, was I swiped off my feet as what was already a totally gripping read escalated into my top five for this year…It felt like my heart was beating in the back of my throat!’ Books From Dusk Till Dawn
     
    ‘I raced through this book!...one of the most exciting crime books I’ve read in a long while!’ Alternative-Read.com
     
    ‘A serial killer chiller where the action never flags, the suspense is red-hot and the twists and turns jaw-droppingly brilliant, fans of the genre need to add Charly Cox to their list of must-buys.’ Bookish Jottings
     
    ‘Sharply plotted, and full of tense twists, this is extremely well written…An extremely confident, exciting and chilling new entry on to the crime thriller scene’ Alex J Book Reviews
     
    ‘a compelling thriller that I could not put down! The killer was insane, the story was addictive and the writing was fantastic. This is everything I want when I pick up a police procedural!’ Jessica Belmont 
     
    ‘some real heart in the mouth moments…It flows so easily, with a fast pace and really is unputdownable.’ The Bookwormery
     
    ‘like being on a scary and unpredictable rollercoaster ride with several twists and turns…had me totally gripped and I was on the edge of my seat throughout.’ Ginger Book Geek
     
    ‘This is one of the best debut novels I’ve read in a while’ Cheeky Pee Reads and Reviews
     
    ‘Wow did All His Pretty Girls pack a punch! I was shocked when I found out this was a debut…a heart in your mouth read that will have you racing through those pages.’ On The Shelf Reviews
     
    ‘I don’t think I took even a single deep breath while reading this…Each chapter raised my tension and I couldn’t stop tapping my ereader’ Shalini’s Books and Reviews
    Show book
  • Finished Business - A Marcus Corvinus Mystery set in Ancient Rome - cover

    Finished Business - A Marcus...

    David Wishart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ancient Roman sleuth Marcus Corvinus uncovers a treasonous plot in this witty and intriguing new mysteryNovember, AD 40.  When a wealthy consul’s wife asks Corvinus to investigate the death of her uncle, killed by a block of falling masonry during renovations on his estate in the Vatican Hills, a sceptical Corvinus is inclined to agree with the general verdict of accidental death. But his investigations reveal clear evidence of foul play, as well as unearthing several skeletons among the closets of this well-to-do but highly dysfunctional family. Who could have wanted Lucius Surdinus dead? His vengeful ex-wife? His ambitious mistress? His disillusioned elder, or his estranged younger, son?  Or does the key to the mystery lie in the dead man’s political past? But when Corvinus’s investigations draw him to the attention of the emperor, a dangerously unpredictable Caligula, his prospects of surviving long enough to solve the mystery look slim to say the least.
    Show book
  • Blood Lance - cover

    Blood Lance

    Jeri Westerson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A medieval knight turned private investigator is joined by Geoffrey Chaucer in his latest case featuring “clever twists and convincing period detail” (Publishers Weekly). 
     
    Private investigator and former knight Crispin Guest faces his most complicated case yet when he witnesses a body fall from London bridge into the frigid River Thames. Though the man’s death is declared a suicide, Guest sees evidence of foul play. His investigation leads him to Sir Thomas Saunfayl, an old acquaintance from his knighthood days. It seems the dead man was bargaining with Sir Thomas for the Spear of Longinus, the weapon used to pierce the side of Christ on the Cross, which grants invincibility to its owner.  
     
    After his friend Geoffrey Chaucer arrives in London, all too eager to help find the spear, Guest finds himself trying to solve a conundrum of many parts, all centered around the same dangerous and coveted relic. With evocative period detail and an unforgettable cast of characters, Blood Lance was a Kirkus Reviews “Top 10 Hot Crime Novels” of Fall 2012. 
     
    “A lively tale of historical interest smoothly combined with a worthy mystery.” ?Kirkus Reviews
    Show book
  • The Chestnut Man - A Novel - cover

    The Chestnut Man - A Novel

    Soren Sveistrup

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    WINNER OF THE BARRY AWARD FOR BEST FIRST MYSTERY/CRIME NOVEL 
    A Best Book of the Year: New York Times Book Review, Kirkus, Library Journal, 
    FROM THE CREATOR OF THE HIT TELEVISION SHOW THE KILLING, “a full-throttle thriller in the tradition of classic Stieg Larsson” (A.J. Finn)—SOON TO BE A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES. 
    IF YOU FIND ONE, HE’S ALREADY FOUND YOU 
    A psychopath is terrorizing Copenhagen. 
    His calling card is a “chestnut man”—a handmade doll made of matchsticks and two chestnuts—which he leaves at each bloody crime scene. 
    Examining the dolls, forensics makes a shocking discovery—a fingerprint belonging to a young girl, a government minister’s daughter who had been kidnapped and murdered a year ago. 
    A tragic coincidence—or something more twisted? 
    To save innocent lives, a pair of detectives must put aside their differences to piece together the Chestnut Man’s gruesome clues. 
    Because it’s clear that the madman is on a mission that is far from over. 
    And no one is safe.
    Show book
  • Kill Sleep Repeat - A Psychological Thriller - cover

    Kill Sleep Repeat - A...

    Britney King

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    From the bestselling author of The Social Affair and HER comes an intense and deadly provocative thriller which follows a woman who, in a fight for survival, realizes her job may cost more than it pays.
     
    Several times a week, Charlotte Jones leaves suburbia behind and boards a chartered flight to parts unknown, where she wraps her hands around the necks of marks for just as long as she has to.
     
    Then she goes back to domestic life with a paycheck, defense wounds, and the sense that she can handle anything.
     
    Which is good, because being a wife, mother, and sociopath, with an insatiable taste for murder, gives the term work-life balance new meaning. When one life unexpectedly bleeds into the other, leading to a secret admirer and borderline insta-fame, Charlotte is forced to ask herself if she really can have it all.
     
    Slick and unsettling, Kill, Sleep, Repeat is a cunning tale of deception and desire that begs the question: Do we ever really know people the way we think we do?
    Show book