Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 1 - cover

Trial by Sorcery - Dragon Riders of Osnen Book 1

Richard Fierce

Publisher: Dragonfire Press

  • 1
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

Dragons can be dangerous …
 
… if you don’t bond with them first.
 
Eldwin wants to follow in his father’s footsteps and become a Dragon Guard, but not for the glory. With his family dead and their lands dying, the opportunity to join the dragon rider school is all he has. But before Eldwin can bond with a dragon and guard the skies, he must pass three tests to prove his worth.
 
Compassion, magical aptitude, and armed combat.
 
He’s determined to pass, but his maimed arm is a constant reminder of his disadvantage. Will the obstacles Eldwin faces keep him from reaching his dreams, or will he finally see what it’s like to ride the skies?
 
Fans of Sarah K.L. Wilson’s Dragon School, Christopher Paolini’s Eragon and Anne McCaffrey’s Dragon Riders of Pern will feel right at home.
 
Trial by Sorcery is the first episode of the series Dragon Riders of Osnen.
 
Dragon Riders of Osnen series:
 
Book 1: Trial by Sorcery
 
Book 2: A Bond of Flame
 
Book 3: The Warrior's Call
 
Book 4: The Coin of Souls
 
Book 5: Wings of Terror
 
Book 6: Eyes of Stone
 
Book 7: Tooth and Claw
 
Book 8: A Servant of Souls
 
Book 9: Smoke and Shadow
 
Book 10: The Dark Rider

Other books that might interest you

  • The Nurses of St Croix - cover

    The Nurses of St Croix

    Diney Costeloe

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    From bestselling author Diney Costeloe, a young woman fights to save a treasured war memorial and uncovers a tragic story that reverberates from World War I to the present day. 
     
    'This is our secret, pet. You mustn't tell anyone about us planting this tree for dad. It's our secret.' 
     
    1921. In the sleepy village of Charlton Ambrose, eight ash trees stand as a timeless memorial to the men killed in the Great War. On a dark and chilly night, a ninth tree appears. Who planted it and why? And who was 'the unknown soldier' for whom it is marked? 
     
    2001. Eighty years later, the memorial is under threat from developers. Local reporter, Rachel Elliott, is determined to save it, and to solve the mystery of the ninth tree. The trail will take her into the dark heart of her own family history; to a great, but tragic, love; and to a secret that has been kept since the war to end all wars. 
     
    This ebook edition was previously published as The Lost Soldier. 
     
    This title is published in paperback as The Lost Soldier. 
     
    What readers are saying about THE NURSES OF ST CROIX: 
     
    'I didn't want it to end. It is beautifully written and pulls on every emotional string in our bodies' 
     
    'I loved reading this ... Diney Costeloe is a fabulous author ... I really felt as though I was living the story with the characters. I definitely recommend this book!' 
     
    'Diney Costeloe is an awesome writer, all her books are just wonderful and unputdownable'
    Show book
  • The Classic Horror Collection - cover

    The Classic Horror Collection

    H. P. Lovecraft

    • 3
    • 14
    • 0
    Spanning the extraordinary breadth of the genre, these terrifying stories are sure to leave you sleeping with the light on for many nights to come. Whether the threat comes from accursed artefacts, supernatural villains, or deadly rituals, there is always some unknowable evil lurking around the corner waiting to pounce.Ranging from the efforts of classic literary writers like Mary Shelley and Robert Louis Stevenson to pulp icon H. P. Lovecraft, these masters of the dark arts knew how to create suspense and an impending sense of dread.Horror fiction found its first connoisseurs amongst the Victorian public. This collection features several of its most accomplished pioneers.Short stories from Mary Shelley, the author of Frankenstein, Bram Stoker, the author of Dracula, and Robert Louis Stevenson, the author of The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde, show that some of the 19th century's most revered horror novelists could provide equally terrifying experiences in a shorter form.Other authors such as H. P. Lovecraft, William Hope Hodgson, Pearl Norton Swet, and M. P. Shiel established themselves in the emerging pulp magazines of America in the early 20th century. There, they mastered their craft and provided terrifying thrills for an audience eager for a new type of fiction. Meanwhile, in the United Kingdom and Ireland, writers like Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, E. F. Benson, and M. R. James mastered the classic ghost story.And who can forget Edgar Allan Poe? He devoted himself almost entirely to his poetry and his short stories, and his lyrical style and ability to evoke an atmosphere are unparalleled.This collection includes stories by:Edward Frederic BensonAmbrose BierceFrancis Marion CrawfordGeorge Allan EnglandWilliam Hope HodgsonW. W. JacobsM. R. JamesVernon LeeJoseph Sheridan Le FanuH. P. LovecraftArthur MachenGuy de MaupassantEdgar Allan PoeCharlotte RiddellMary ShelleyM. P. ShielRobert Louis StevensonBram StokerPearl Norton Swet
    Show book
  • The Lines Between Us - A Novel - cover

    The Lines Between Us - A Novel

    Rebecca D'Harlingue

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    In 1661 Madrid, Ana is still grieving the loss of her husband when her niece, sixteen-year-old Juliana, suddenly vanishes. Ana frantically searches the girl’s room and comes across a diary. Journeying to southern Spain in the hope of finding her, Ana immerses herself in her niece’s private thoughts. After a futile search in Seville, she comes to Juliana’s final entries, and, discovering the horrifying reason for the girl’s flight, abandons her search.In 1992 Missouri, in her deceased mother’s home, Rachel finds a packet of letters, and a diary written by a woman named Juliana. Rachel’s reserved mother has never mentioned these items, but Rachel recognizes the names Ana and Juliana: her mother uttered them on her deathbed. She soon becomes immersed in Juliana’s diary, which recounts the young woman’s journey to Mexico City and her life in a convent. As she learns the truth about Juliana’s tragic family history, Rachel seeks to understand her connection to the writings—hoping that in finding those answers, she will somehow heal the wounds caused by her mother’s lifelong reticence.
    Show book
  • The Runaway Family - cover

    The Runaway Family

    Diney Costeloe

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    THE RUNAWAY FAMILY was previously published as EVIL ON THE WIND. 
     
    From bestselling author Diney Costeloe, a gritty drama about a mother's struggle to protect her family and escape Nazi persecution in World War Two Germany. 
     
    Germany 1937: Fear and betrayal stalk the streets. People disappear. Persecution of the Jews has become a national pastime. 
     
    When Ruth Friedman's husband is arrested by the SS, she is left to fend for herself and her four children. She alone stands as their shield against the Nazis. But where can she go? Where will her family be safe? 
     
    Ruth must overcome the indifference, hatred and cruelty that surrounds her as she and her family race to escape the advancing Nazi army's final solution. 
     
    What readers are saying about THE RUNAWAY FAMILY: 
     
    'A powerful and moving account of the dark era of Germany's history ... A story which needed to be told and should be read by people of all ages' 
     
    'I personally loved this book ... A harrowing insight into the lives of a young Jewish family at the beginning of Hitler's reign of terror ... A sound reminder of man's inhumanity to man!' 
     
    'My university studies had to go on hold for a while because I couldn't put it down!' 
     
    'Another great story by Diney Costeloe'
    Show book
  • Blood & Darkness Box Set - cover

    Blood & Darkness Box Set

    Melissa Sercia

    • 2
    • 10
    • 0
    Now in one ebook volume: Blood and Magic, Flesh and Bone, Gods and Demons, and a bonus preview of Smoke and Ritual, the first Beautiful Dark Beasts book.   Enter the paranormal Underworld with the Dhampir Gray as your guide . . .  Blood and Magic (Book 1)  With supernatural powers and an insatiable need for blood, her existence is cursed.    After four hundred years, Gray, a reluctant Dhampir, still yearns for her humanity—and vengeance against those who stole it from her. To stop the Consilium from doing this to anyone else, she must wield a power she swore never to use—blood magic.  Flesh and Bone (Book 2)  With the dark power rising within her, she risks losing everything.   When Gray’s partner Aldric mysteriously disappears, she seeks allies in the Hall of Secrets. During her search, she discovers a mysterious cult, an ancient curse, and a family secret that is darker than she could ever imagine . . .  Gods and Demons (Book 3)  Will Gray send the demons back to the Underworld or watch her world burn to the ground?   Demons have escaped the Underworld and descended upon New Orleans. Gray tries to unite the covens as they gear up for the fight of their lives. But when one of her closest allies abandons her, Gray is forced to make a life altering choice that threatens everyone she loves . . .  Series praise   “Keeps you on the edge of your seat . . . action packed and full of emotional depth.”—Sydney Ashcroft, coauthor of Chasing Destiny   “Rich world building and [a] unique interpretation of gothic literature.”—Samantha Huewagen, author of the Starless Series
    Show book
  • Sins of the Fathers - A family mystery set in Scotland and England - cover

    Sins of the Fathers - A family...

    Anthea Fraser

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Three families, separate yet joined by the sins of the fathers; sins that will ultimately lead to tragedy.Mark Richmond’s trip to York takes a surprise detour when he runs into Helena Crawford and ends up accompanying her to her parents’ ruby wedding anniversary in Drumlee, Scotland.Six months earlier, Mark attended Peter Kingsley’s sixtieth birthday party – the father of his now-estranged wife, Sophie – where Peter was unexpectedly taken ill. Mark’s father, Charles, has been friends with Peter for forty years, but how well does he really know him?As Peter’s health continues to deteriorate, it seems the Richmonds and the Kingsleys are inextricably entwined by devastating secrets, resentment, betrayal and deceit. And who is Ellie, the girl in the hooded anorak, who appears on the cliff path in Drumlee, pale and shivering from the cold?
    Show book