What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Steel for Hire - cover

Steel for Hire

Richard Fierce

Publisher: Dragonfire Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Some jobs turn you into a zombie. Literally.
 
Captain Jayde Thrin of the cargo ship Determination has one goal: make enough money to retire in style. Her small mercenary crew travels the universe taking on odd jobs, but when a botched gig lands them in hot water, it’s up to Jayde to figure out their escape – and their survival.
 
The nearby mining planet M44 provides an opportunity to refuel and make a quick buck, but there’s more going on in the mines than anyone realizes. What Jayde expects to be an easy job turns out to be one of the hardest yet, especially with the outpost overrun with the undead.
 
Steel for Hire is the first episode of Galactic Mercenaries, a space opera series about zombies, space battles, alien invasion, and a misfit crew trying to survive in a dangerous universe.

Other books that might interest you

  • Magic and the Shinigami Detective - cover

    Magic and the Shinigami Detective

    Honor Raconteur

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When the Night Foxes boldly break into the Fourth Precinct’s Evidence Building, it causes quite the stir. The break-in is daring enough, but their method shreds the magical wards and protections on the building like confetti paper. To say the police are ‘alarmed’ by this is the understatement of the century.
     
    As a Magical Examiner, Henri Davenforth is of course immediately called in. Quite to his astonishment, Captain Gregson has him work the case like a detective. Even more astounding, he assigns Henri a partner.
     
    The Shinigami Detective.
     
    The woman is famous for killing the most destructive rogue witch of the century, and no one is quite certain where she’s from. Every officer in the precinct is either in awe of her or a little frightened by her. Henri is just baffled. What is he supposed to do with a partner?
     
    Hopefully killing one witch makes Jamie Edwards enough of an expert on magic to be helpful, as the thieves aren’t content to just break into one building. They in fact seem to have an agenda, as with each theft, they take magical objects. It’s all mounting to a dangerously powerful magical construct capable of toppling the wards on any building.
     
    And no one has any idea what the thieves’ true target is.
    Show book
  • Science Fiction & Fantasy Short Stories - cover

    Science Fiction & Fantasy Short...

    Herbert George Wells

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Wondrous worlds abound in the stories within. Heroes go on great adventures through magical realms, encounter alien races, and use their ingenuity to overcome impossible difficulties.From Robert E. Howard's thrilling stories of Conan the Barbarian to Nathaniel Hawthorne's subtle tale "The Artist of the Beautiful," the power of the imagination is breathtaking. The settings range from the frozen wastes of Antarctica to the red plains of Mars. Themes of space travel, apocalypse, magic, and power permeate these stories, but at their heart, as with all good fiction, are the characters - who remain as human as you or I.During the 19th century many writers such as Nathaniel Hawthorne and Ambrose Bierce, tried their hand at fantasy and science fiction, but few fully devoted themselves to the genre.It took two men to change this: H. G. Wells and Robert E. Howard. Wells was a founder of the science fiction genre whose novels The Time Machine and The War of the Worlds established him as one of the greatest writers of the time. Howard was nearly as influential on the fantasy genre, as his character Conan the Barbarian has remained immensely popular for generations.In the early 20th century, fantasy and science fiction truly established themselves in the pulp magazines. Writers like Charles B. Stilson, John York Cabot, and Harry Gore Bishop struggled to make a living even though they wrote prolifically for these magazines. The literary landscape as we know it today was established through the writing of these devoted individuals.This collection features several of the premier writers of speculative fiction. Authors include:W. L. AldenRobert BarrAmbrose BierceHarry Gore BishopJohn York CabotNictzin DyalhisFrancis FlaggGeorge GriffithNathaniel HawthorneRobert E. HowardKenneth MorrisWilliam MorrisCharles B. StilsonH. G. Wells
    Show book
  • The Future of Sex - Books 1-12 - cover

    The Future of Sex - Books 1-12

    Sean Platt, Johnny B. Truant

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In a future that’s lost its soul, a prodigy rises.
     
    In the year 2060, an omnipresent network has made humanity into something new. Thought has been hijacked. Emotion has been co-opted. Sensation has been ramped up to eleven, and “what feels good” is all anyone needs.
     
    The monolithic O Corporation is the most powerful entity in what remains of the world, having manipulated society’s values for decades in the name of profit. O’s leader Alexa Mathis is genius, ruthless, obsessed with the idea of finding a digital savior nobody else believes in — and swings power even the rulers don’t know she has.
     
    Enter Chloe Shaw: too young, too inexperienced, and too naive for the task before her. In name, Chloe is an escort — the highest of the high in a world where sex is queen. But to those who’ve been searching, Chloe seems to be much more. Someone with strange abilities no one can explain. Someone, it seems, who’s able to control the next-gen AI network on the horizon — an omniscient and nearly omnipotent entity known as The Beam.
     
    Is Chloe who Alexa thinks she is? As society reaches its tipping point, she must try to stake a claim for our future … before our future is decided by The Beam.
     
    Sex sells, yes. But it’s never sold quite like this — with the soul of humanity as its ultimate price.
     
    The Future of Sex is a 12-episode, 6-book serial that takes place in Platt and Truant’s award-winning world of The Beam.
    Show book
  • The Fae Lord's Mistress - A Dark Fantasy Romance - cover

    The Fae Lord's Mistress - A Dark...

    Lisa Kumar

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Ever since the day a fae raid stole away my parents, poverty and scavenging have been two constants in my life. Home is the human slums of Chimra, though it was once known as the great city of Chicago. The fae rule over New Earth and humanity with a neglectful and ruthless fist. But everything changes when Gabreon, the fae lord who led that raid six years ago, finds me in the forbidden dumping grounds and claims me as his own. Which leads to anger, confusion, and heartache—on my side and his.
     
    Lina. The human Gabreon couldn't forget. When he sees her in the dumping grounds, he no longer can ignore the pull between them. Though claiming her goes against everything he was brought up to believe, he takes her as his companion. During the day, she holds herself away from him, but at night, she sparks to life in his arms. As a human revolution ferments and his growing relationship with Lina becomes even more perilous, he discovers that he and his society have much to make amends for. Earning her forgiveness will be hard, but keeping both of them alive in the meantime might prove impossible.
     
    ~~This story pulls you in with its passion and adventure and doesn't let go. Lina and Gabreon's tale spans several books. Though this story can function as a standalone, it is better read as part of a series~~
     
    ~~The Fae Lord's Mistress is a dark fantasy romance that deals with sensitive issues and adult situations. If you dislike any of those, then this epic fantasy romance likely isn't for you~~
     
    ~~Serialized on Tapas in the Premium Program as The Sidhe Lord's Mistress~~
    Show book
  • The Ripper of Monkshood Manor - cover

    The Ripper of Monkshood Manor

    Mary Gray

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Never go into Monkshood… unless your goal is to meet your maker. 
    Sixteen-year-old Cate Hellstrom has a secret. 
    Actually, she has two. 
    Neither secret is something she's willing to tell her new bohemian boyfriend, Luther. Which makes for a very fun and interactive evening when she visits Monkshood, Luther's beautiful yet dilapidated home. 
    The salsa-stained foyer is certainly eye-catching. 
    The bag o' bones, a little Avant-garde… 
    And between Luther's cryptic comments and history professor hair, the boy's a conundrum with more secrets than her own. 
    When aquariums suddenly explode, and random whispers creep from the maze of halls, Cate has to assume, she and Luther aren't really alone. Whoever's in those shadows seems to know exactly what she did before. 
    Problem is, Cate's not entirely willing to be honest about her checkered past. 
    Even if it means being added to Monkshood's bag o' bones. 
    For fans of The Haunting of Hill House and Trinity Row.
    Show book
  • Every Blade of Grass: An Existential Parable - cover

    Every Blade of Grass: An...

    Wayne Kyle Spitzer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The medical rocket is wasted—its consoles smashed, its stores emptied—to the extent that we have collapsed outside its open hatch in total exhaustion and despair. Worse, the air is filled with the roar of machinery—a roar with a band-saw edge—one we know all too well for it is the sound of Cap's Big Track coming closer every second. 
    And then he has arrived, riding his tractor like a chariot, goading it forward into the clearing, motoring directly toward us until Taylor jumps up in a panic and sprints for the next bridge—his dark skin shining, his heels kicking up sod—as the Captain veers toward him suddenly and seems to gun the engine. 
    And then I am running, shouting at him to stop, as Taylor vanishes beneath the blades and the Big Track jounces, once, twice, the Captain laughing and throwing back his head, the iron tracks seeming to catch—until blood begins spewing like grass clippings from the mulch-vents and all I can hear is my friend screaming—gargling—dying beneath the Cap's iron beast.
    Show book