Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Piecing Me Together - cover

Piecing Me Together

Renée Watson

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 3
  • 39
  • 0

Summary

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner 
New York Times bestseller 
 
"Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson 
 
"Important and deeply moving." --John Green 
 
Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a  world that too often seems like it's trying to break her. 
 
Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And Jade has: every day she rides the bus away from her friends and to the private school where she feels like an outsider, but where she has plenty of opportunities. But some opportunities she doesn't really welcome, like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Just because her mentor is black and graduated from the same high school doesn't mean she understands where Jade is coming from. She's tired of being singled out as someone who needs help, someone people want to fix. Jade wants to speak, to create, to express her joys and sorrows, her pain and her hope. Maybe there are some things she could show other women about understanding the world and finding ways to be real, to make a difference. 
 
NPR's Best Books of 2017 
A 2017 New York Public Library Best Teen Book of the Year 
Chicago Public Library's Best Books of 2017 
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 
Kirkus Reviews' Best Teen Books of 2017 
2018 Josette Frank Award Winner

Other books that might interest you

  • Glass Faerie - cover

    Glass Faerie

    Rachel Morgan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Emerson Clarke: Sarcastic. Independent. Possibly losing her mind.
     
    Because that’s the only explanation for why she occasionally sees things that aren’t there, right? But one night, an impossible power erupts from her, and Em realizes the truth is crazier than she ever thought: she isn’t losing her mind; she’s magical.
     
    Thrown into an entirely new world of faeries, enchantments—and the annoying guy from down the road who, it turns out, isn’t human either—Em barely has time to learn even the most basic of magic before another startling truth reveals itself: she has a Griffin Ability. A special kind of magic feared by most fae. Now she’s at the top of everyone’s most-wanted list—including the mysterious glass faerie carrying out random attacks on fae.
     
    In this magical and terrifying world that she’s entirely unprepared for, Em must try to figure out who she really is, whom to trust, and how to stay alive long enough to get back to her normal life.
     
    Begin a thrilling new adventure as the bestselling Creepy Hollow series continues eighteen years after the events of A Faerie’s Curse! 
    Show book
  • The Selection - cover

    The Selection

    Kiera Cass

    • 18
    • 148
    • 0
    Fall in love—from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. 
    Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn’t want. 
    Then America meets Prince Maxon—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. 
    Don't miss the next books in Kiera Cass's popular series, including The Elite, The One, The Heir, and The Crown.
    Show book
  • Sweet Evil - cover

    Sweet Evil

    Wendy Higgins

    • 5
    • 31
    • 0
    Fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series will be drawn to Wendy Higgins's sexy, thrilling Sweet Evil series. 
    What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences? This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels. 
    Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She's aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but Anna, the ultimate good girl, has always had the advantage of her angel side to balance the darkness within. It isn't until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He's the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna. 
    Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?
    Show book
  • Sweet Reckoning - cover

    Sweet Reckoning

    Wendy Higgins

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    Fans of Cassandra Clare's Mortal Instruments series will be drawn to Wendy Higgins's sexy, thrilling Sweet Evil series. 
    In Sweet Reckoning, the time has come for Anna, daughter of a guardian angel and a fallen one, to accept her fate as the chosen one. She is destined to rid the earth of demons once and for all. But as Anna and her Nephilim allies prepare for the evil brewing, the powerful Dukes use Anna's love for bad boy Kaidan Rowe against her, and her strength is put to the ultimate test. How far will the two of them go to keep each other alive? Will love conquer all in the final battle between good and evil?
    Show book
  • The Crown - cover

    The Crown

    Kiera Cass

    • 19
    • 543
    • 0
    Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has captured the hearts of readers from its very first page. Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet by The Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series. 
    In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own. 
    Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected.
    Show book
  • Epic Fail - cover

    Epic Fail

    Claire LaZebnik

    • 4
    • 130
    • 0
    Pride and Prejudice goes Hollywood in this winning romantic comedy inspired by Jane Austen’s classic. In her teen fiction debut, the author of Knitting Under the Influence goes back to high school for a tale of sisters, misinformation, and star-crossed love. 
    Will Elise’s love life be an epic win or an epic fail? 
    At Coral Tree Prep in Los Angeles, who your parents are can make or break you.  
    Case in point: As the son of Hollywood royalty, Derek Edwards is pretty much prince of the school—not that he deigns to acknowledge many of his loyal subjects. 
    As the daughter of the new principal, Elise Benton isn’t exactly on everyone’s must-sit-next-to-at-lunch list. 
    When Elise’s beautiful sister catches the eye of the prince’s best friend, Elise gets to spend a lot of time with Derek, making her the envy of every girl on campus. Except she refuses to fall for any of his rare smiles and instead warms up to his enemy, the surprisingly charming social outcast Webster Grant. 
    But in this hilarious tale of fitting in and flirting, not all snubs are undeserved, not all celebrity brats are bratty, and pride and prejudice can get in the way of true love for only so long.
    Show book