Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Piecing Me Together - cover

Piecing Me Together

Renée Watson

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 7
  • 250
  • 0

Summary

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner 
New York Times bestseller 
"Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson 
"Important and deeply moving." --John Green 
 
Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a  world that too often seems like it's trying to break her. 
 
Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And Jade has: every day she rides the bus away from her friends and to the private school where she feels like an outsider, but where she has plenty of opportunities. But some opportunities she doesn't really welcome, like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Just because her mentor is black and graduated from the same high school doesn't mean she understands where Jade is coming from. She's tired of being singled out as someone who needs help, someone people want to fix. Jade wants to speak, to create, to express her joys and sorrows, her pain and her hope. Maybe there are some things she could show other women about understanding the world and finding ways to be real, to make a difference. 
 
NPR's Best Books of 2017 
A 2017 New York Public Library Best Teen Book of the Year 
Chicago Public Library's Best Books of 2017 
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 
Kirkus Reviews' Best Teen Books of 2017 
2018 Josette Frank Award Winner

Other books that might interest you

  • The Miracle of Hanukkah - cover

    The Miracle of Hanukkah

    Malachy Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Miracle of Hanukkah is the perfect picture book to introduce children to the story and traditions of Hanukkah, with text by award-winning author Malachy Doyle and stunning, colourful illustrations from Christopher Corr, the talented team behind Rama and Sita: The Story of Diwali. 
     
    King Antiochus has destroyed the temple and city because the Jews won't worship him instead of God. With no oil left, how will Judah Maccabee and the Jewish people keep the temple's flame alight? Whether you're looking for a gift for Hanukkah or a simple introduction to the story to share with children, this beautiful picture book is ideal.
    Show book
  • Empire of Storms - cover

    Empire of Storms

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 69
    • 0
    Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. 
     
    The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. 
     
    As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.    
     
    Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?
    Show book
  • The Case of the Feathered Mask - cover

    The Case of the Feathered Mask

    Holly Webb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this exciting mystery set in Victorian London, a young girl and her dog must search for a stolen artifact with just a feather to guide them. 
     
    In this fourth mystery about twelve-year-old Maisie, the young detective must solve a crime for her friend Professor Tobin. The professor travelled all over the world collecting strange and wonderful objects, and the British Museum is opening a special room to house his collection. But before the professor’s donation, a thief steals a valuable Amazonian tribal mask! With just a single feather left behind, Maisie doesn’t have much to go on, but the stakes in her newest case are higher than ever. 
     
    Can’t get enough of Maisie's mysteries? Look for The Case of the Stolen Sixpence, The Case of the Vanishing Emerald, and The Case of the Phantom Cat!
    Show book
  • Little Leonardo’s Fascinating World of Paleontology - cover

    Little Leonardo’s Fascinating...

    Jeff Bond

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Learn fun facts about dinosaurs and the scientists who study them, called paleontologists, with simple hands-on activities for young readers. The activities, designed to engage both the readers’ hands and minds, include fossilizing a sponge, making origami dinosaur tracks, preserving toy bugs in gummy amber, and more.
    Show book
  • The Thing in the Basement: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    The Thing in the Basement: A...

    Michael Morgan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A spooky school-set mystery from Michaela Morgan. Perfect for fans of Anne Fine and Pamela Butchart. 
     
    There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and it's a thing only Mr Crawley can control. There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and it flashes and ROARS! There's a thing in the basement of Scott's new school and surely it can't be a dragon... or can it? 
     
    This mysterious adventure from Michaela Morgan has quirky black-and-white illustrations by Doffy Weir and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Rose Impey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A beautiful retelling of a classic Greek myth, perfect for fans of Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    When the world was new and the gods ruled the whole of Earth, a large wooden chest was sent to a newly-married couple with a warning not to open it. The chest was hidden away with the thought 'out of sight, out of mind'. But curiosity is a powerful thing and it can't hurt to have one little look... can it? 
     
    This retelling of the classic Greek myth from Rose Impey has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Peter Bailey and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book