Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Piecing Me Together - cover

Piecing Me Together

Renée Watson

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 5
  • 209
  • 0

Summary

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner 
New York Times bestseller 
"Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson 
"Important and deeply moving." --John Green 
 
Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a  world that too often seems like it's trying to break her. 
 
Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And Jade has: every day she rides the bus away from her friends and to the private school where she feels like an outsider, but where she has plenty of opportunities. But some opportunities she doesn't really welcome, like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Just because her mentor is black and graduated from the same high school doesn't mean she understands where Jade is coming from. She's tired of being singled out as someone who needs help, someone people want to fix. Jade wants to speak, to create, to express her joys and sorrows, her pain and her hope. Maybe there are some things she could show other women about understanding the world and finding ways to be real, to make a difference. 
 
NPR's Best Books of 2017 
A 2017 New York Public Library Best Teen Book of the Year 
Chicago Public Library's Best Books of 2017 
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 
Kirkus Reviews' Best Teen Books of 2017 
2018 Josette Frank Award Winner

Other books that might interest you

  • These Happy Golden Years - cover

    These Happy Golden Years

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The eighth book in Laura Ingalls Wilder's treasured Little House series, and the recipient of a Newbery Honor—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams's classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    Fifteen-year-old Laura lives apart from her family for the first time, teaching school in a claim shanty twelve miles from home. She is very homesick, but she knows that her earnings can help pay for her sister Mary's tuition at the college for the blind. Only one thing gets her through the lonely weeks—every weekend, Almanzo Wilder arrives at the school to take Laura home for a visit. Friendship soon turns to love for Laura and Almanzo. 
    The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura's own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America's frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
    Show book
  • The Elementia Chronicles #2: The New Order - An Unofficial Minecraft-Fan Adventure - cover

    The Elementia Chronicles #2: The...

    Sean Fay Wolfe

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    An unofficial Minecraft-fan adventure series inspired by the bestselling game! 
    Fans of the bestselling video game Minecraft, middle grade readers, and action-adventure story enthusiasts of all ages experience an exciting journey that will take them far beyond the world they know. 
    President Stan has led his people through an epic battle and brought peace to the Republic of Elementia. But dissent is rippling through the countryside. King Kev's loyal followers are still at large, and a new organization, the Noctem Alliance, is poised to strike terror throughout the land. With new threats on the horizon and citizens of the Republic dividing between two loyalties, Stan must decide the best way forward for his people and stop the Noctem Alliance before it destroys them all. 
    Written when he was seventeen years old, Sean Fay Wolfe's The Elementia Chronicles Book Two: The New Order is the second novel in The Elementia Chronicles trilogy. 
    Disclaimer: This book is not authorized, sponsored, endorsed, or licensed by Mojang AB, Microsoft Corp., or any other person or entity owning or controlling any rights to the Minecraft name, trademarks, or copyrights. Minecraft is a registered trademark of Mojang Synergies AB.
    Show book
  • When Light Left Us - cover

    When Light Left Us

    Leah Thomas

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    * "A nuanced exploration of human nature." --Booklist, starred review 
     
    * "For fans of Patrick Ness and Lauren Oliver, this is a must buy." --SLJ, starred review 
     
    When the Vasquez siblings' father left, it seemed nothing could remedy the absence in their lives . . . until a shimmering figure named Luz appeared in the canyon behind their house. 
      
     Luz filled the void. He shot hoops with seventeen-year-old Hank's hands. He showed fourteen-year-old Ana cinematic beauty behind her eyelids. He spoke kindly to eight-year-old Milo. But then Luz left, too, and he took something from each of them. As a new school year begins, Hank, Ana, and Milo must carry on as if an alien presence never altered them. But how can they ever feel close to other people again when Luz changed everything about how they see the world and themselves?  
     
    In an imaginative and heartfelt exploration of human--and non-human--nature, Leah Thomas champions the unyielding bonds between family and true friends.  
     
    Because You'll Never Meet Me 
    A William C. Morris YA Debut Award finalist
    Show book
  • 73 Cool Science Tricks to Wow Your Friends! - cover

    73 Cool Science Tricks to Wow...

    Anna Claybourne

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Do you know the secret recipe for the world's most slippery slime? How can you draw a 3-D picture that will mess with your mind? Can you make an instant soap monster in the microwave? Discover the mind-bending, super-weird science that they daren't teach in school! Young readers will love this awesome collection of incredible optical illusions, cool experiments, sneaky hacks, hilarious pranks, and shocking magic tricks. Explore biology, physics, and chemistry from a completely different point of view-one that teachers won't ever tell you about!With a glossary of key scientific terms in the back, this brain-boosting book of fun science is perfect for readers aged 8+.
    Show book
  • No and Me - cover

    No and Me

    Delphine de Vigan

    • 1
    • 51
    • 0
    Parisian teenager Lou has an IQ of 160, OCD tendencies, and a mother who has suffered from depression for years. But Lou is about to change her life-and that of her parents-all because of a school project about homeless teens. While doing research, Lou meets No, a teenage girl living on the streets. As their friendship grows, Lou bravely asks her parents if No can live with them, and is astonished when they agree. No's presence forces Lou's family to come to terms with a secret tragedy. But can this shaky, newfound family continue to live together when No's own past comes back to haunt her? 
     
    Winner of the prestigious Booksellers' Prize in France, No and Me is a timely and thought-provoking novel about homelessness that has far-reaching appeal.
    Show book
  • Little House in the Big Woods - cover

    Little House in the Big Woods

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    • 0
    • 13
    • 0
    The first book in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s treasured Little House series—now available as an ebook! This digital version features Garth Williams’s classic illustrations, which appear in vibrant full color on a full-color device and in rich black-and-white on all other devices. 
    This beloved story of a pioneer girl and her family begins in 1871 in a log cabin on the edge of the Big Woods of Wisconsin. Four-year-old Laura lives in the little house with her Pa, her Ma, her sisters Mary and Carrie, and their dog, Jack. Pioneer life is sometimes hard for the family, but it is also exciting as they celebrate Christmas with homemade toys and treats, do the spring planting, bring in the harvest, and make their first trip into town. And every night Laura and her family are safe and warm in their little house, with the happy sound of Pa’s fiddle to send them off to sleep. 
    The nine Little House books are inspired by Laura’s own childhood and have been cherished by generations of readers as both a unique glimpse into America’s frontier history and as heartwarming, unforgettable stories.
    Show book