As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Piecing Me Together - cover

Piecing Me Together

Renée Watson

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 5
  • 142
  • 0

Summary

Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner 
New York Times bestseller 
 
"Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson 
 
"Important and deeply moving." --John Green 
 
Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a  world that too often seems like it's trying to break her. 
 
Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And Jade has: every day she rides the bus away from her friends and to the private school where she feels like an outsider, but where she has plenty of opportunities. But some opportunities she doesn't really welcome, like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Just because her mentor is black and graduated from the same high school doesn't mean she understands where Jade is coming from. She's tired of being singled out as someone who needs help, someone people want to fix. Jade wants to speak, to create, to express her joys and sorrows, her pain and her hope. Maybe there are some things she could show other women about understanding the world and finding ways to be real, to make a difference. 
 
NPR's Best Books of 2017 
A 2017 New York Public Library Best Teen Book of the Year 
Chicago Public Library's Best Books of 2017 
A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 
Kirkus Reviews' Best Teen Books of 2017 
2018 Josette Frank Award Winner

Other books that might interest you

  • Survivors #3: Darkness Falls - cover

    Survivors #3: Darkness Falls

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 31
    • 0
    From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, comes the third book in the action-packed Survivors animal fantasy series. Full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Survivors will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    The Wild Pack’s ruthless Alpha has reluctantly agreed to allow the Leashed Dogs to join his Pack—but not before learning of Lucky’s role as a spy, and casting him out of the Pack forever. Lucky tries to be happy to have his freedom again, but this new world is treacherous for a Lone Dog. For the first time since the Big Growl, Lucky is desperate to have other dogs by his side . . . but it might be too late.
    Show book
  • Dragon Flight - cover

    Dragon Flight

    Jessica Day George

    • 1
    • 24
    • 0
    The second book in New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George's charming, light-hearted fantasy series. 
     
    With  the Dragon Wars over, Creel finds herself bored with life as a  seamstress. Then word comes that a bordering country has been breeding  dragons in preparation for an invasion. Never one to miss out on the  action, Creel throws herself headlong into an adventure that will  reunite her with Shardas, the king of the dragons, pit her against a  vicious new dragon, and perhaps rekindle a friendship with Prince Luka.  
     
    Funny,  heart-felt, and action packed, new readers and returning fans alike  will dive headlong into this exhilarating follow up to Dragon Slippers. 
     
    Don't miss these other stories from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Day George: 
     
    Dragon Slippers series 
    Dragon Slippers 
    Dragon Flight 
    Dragon Spear 
     
    The Rose Legacy series 
    The Rose Legacy 
     
    Tuesdays at the Castle series 
    Tuesdays at the Castle 
    Wednesdays in the Tower 
    Thursdays with the Crown 
    Fridays with the Wizards 
    Saturdays at Sea 
     
    The Twelve Dancing Princesses series 
    Princess of the Midnight Ball 
    Princess of Glass 
    Princess of the Silver Woods 
     
    Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow 
     
    Silver in the Blood
    Show book
  • Warriors: Omen of the Stars #3: Night Whispers - cover

    Warriors: Omen of the Stars #3:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    After the sharp-eyed Jay and the roaring Lion, peace will come on Dove's gentle wing. 
    The deadly battle between ThunderClan and ShadowClan is over, but the aftermath still echoes around all four Clans. As Dovepaw grapples with the knowledge that there are realms—and cats—her senses cannot reach, Jayfeather and Lionblaze are determined to figure out how StarClan could have allowed this fight to happen. Jayfeather soon finds the answer in the darkest of places, and he and Lionblaze prepare to do whatever they can to staunch the flow of evil into ThunderClan.  
    The ties that bind the Clans are slowly breaking in the face of the greatest threat that the warriors—and the warrior code—have ever known. As leaf-bare closes its grip upon the territories, Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovepaw realize just how close the battle is, and how far they are from being able to succeed. And before the prey can run again, one more cat will be lost to the fight.
    Show book
  • The Last Apprentice: The Spook's Tale - And Other Horrors - cover

    The Last Apprentice: The Spook's...

    Joseph Delaney

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The Last Apprentice series follows the terrifying adventures of the Spook's apprentice, Thomas Ward. But Tom's is only one story. There are others. . . .  
    The Spook himself was once an apprentice. How did he begin his training?  
    And what of Alice, the young witch who is Tom's closest ally? How did she overcome her dark past? 
    What did the witch assassin Grimalkin do to become the most deadly and feared witch in the county? 
    And, collected in a gallery of horrors, discover the rest of the county's menacing villains and relive the vicious battles waged against them. 
    Enter a land where creatures of the dark creep out of the shadows. Do you dare?
    Show book
  • Survivors #2: A Hidden Enemy - cover

    Survivors #2: A Hidden Enemy

    Erin Hunter

    • 1
    • 43
    • 0
    From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, comes the New York Times bestselling second book in the Survivors series. Praised by Kirkus Reviews as “perfectly crafted” in a starred review, A Hidden Enemy is an action-packed adventure that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    After discovering a forest filled with prey and fresh water, Lucky and the Leashed Dogs are sure that they have found their new home. But a fierce pack of Wild Dogs has laid claim to the land and their menacing Alpha won’t allow other dogs to settle there. Now Lucky finds himself forced to go behind enemy lines—and to decide which dogs will ultimately be his true allies. 
     
    Show book
  • The One - cover

    The One

    Kiera Cass

    • 13
    • 81
    • 0
    The captivating third book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    America Singer searches for her happily ever after in this swoon-worthy YA dystopian romance, perfect for readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Entering the Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she arrived at the palace, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants. 
     Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book