Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Carpet Merchant of Konstantiniyya Vol I - cover

The Carpet Merchant of Konstantiniyya Vol I

Reimena Yee

Publisher: Unbound

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Nominated for Best Digital Comic at the highly prestigious 2018 Eisner Awards, The Carpet Merchant is now appearing in print for the first time.Yee is an active advocate for creators of colour on Twitter, championing diversity and access for marginalised voices: she has 15k followers on Twitter.She was chosen as an Artist to Watch by The Beat in 2018.For fans of The Sandman by Neil Gaiman, The Unwritten by Mike Carey and Peter Gross, Nimona by Noelle Stevenson.Each page of the book is an artwork in itself, inspired by Ottoman-era illuminations, miniatures and carpet designs.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily Ever After as Survivors of Abuse - cover

    Love Gone Wrong - Living Happily...

    Lynn Johnson, Jillian Adams,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Market size:  1 in 3 women and 1 in 5 men have been sexually abused, and 1 in 5 women will be a victim of domestic violence
    Moves beyond the “Me Too” Movement to encourage next steps of healing
    Disarms the shame felt by victims as they realize their experience is stereotypical and they are not alone
    Inspires courage as victims hear stories of others who have navigated a hopeless situation and overcome
    Elevates community as an important avenue of transformation.  Each woman sought help as a result of witnessing their friend’s recovery.
    Backed by clinical insights from a professional psychologist which validate and support the content
    Show book
  • Local - The New Face of Food and Farming in America - cover

    Local - The New Face of Food and...

    Douglas Gayeton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Combining stunning visuals with insights and a lexicon of more than 200 agricultural terms explained by today’s thought leaders, Local showcases and explores one of the most popular environmental trends: rebuilding local food movements. 
    When Douglas Gayeton took his young daughter to see the salmon run—a favorite pastime growing up in Northern California—he was devastated to find that a combination of urban sprawl, land mismanagement, and pollution had decimated the fish population. 
    The discovery set Gayeton on a journey in search of sustainable solutions. He traveled the country, photographing and learning the new language of sustainability from today’s foremost practitioners in food and farming, including Alice Waters, Wes Jackson, Carl Safina, Temple Grandin, Paul Stamets, Patrick Holden, Barton Seaver, Vandana Shiva, Dr. Elaine Ingham, and Joel Salatin, as well as everyday farmers, fishermen, and dairy producers. 
    Local: The New Face of Food and Farming blends their insights with stunning collage-like information artworks and Gayeton’s Lexicon of Sustainability, which defines and de-mystifies hundreds of terms like “food miles,” “locavore,” “organic,” “grassfed” and “antibiotic free.” In doing so, Gayeton helps people understand what they mean for their lives. He also includes “eco tips” and other information on how the sustainable movement affects us all every day. 
    Local: The New Face of Food and Farming in America educates, engages, and inspires people to pay closer attention to how they eat, what they buy, and where their responsibility begins for creating a healthier, safer food system in America.
    Show book
  • The Battle of Britain - An Epic Conflict Revisited - cover

    The Battle of Britain - An Epic...

    Christer Bergström

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A thorough look at this turning-point WWII aerial battle, with eyewitness accounts, maps, and rare photos: “incredibly well-researched” (Aircrew Book Review).   By late summer 1940, Nazi Germany had conquered all its opponents on the continent, including the British Army itself, which was forced to scramble back aboard small boats to its shores. A non-aggression pact with the Soviet Union in hand, Hitler had only one remaining object that season—the British Isles themselves. However, before he could invade, his Luftwaffe needed to wipe the Royal Air Force from the skies. History’s first strategic military campaign conducted in the air alone was about to take place.   This book contains a large number of dramatic eyewitness accounts, even as it reveals new facts that will alter common perceptions of the battle. For example, the twin-engined Messerschmitt Bf 110 was actually a good day fighter, and it performed at least as well in this role as the Bf 109 during the battle. The Luftwaffe’s commander, Hermann Göring, performed far better than has been believed. The British night bombers played a more decisive role than previously thought; in addition, this book disproves that the German 109 pilots were in any way superior to their Hurricane or Spitfire counterparts.   The author has examined records from both sides and provides surprising statistics that shatter much conventional wisdom—laying out the Battle of Britain as seldom seen before.   Includes color photos of the relevant aircraft.
    Show book
  • Instant Communication Skills - How to Improve Communications Skills Instantly! - cover

    Instant Communication Skills -...

    INSTANT Series

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Instant-Series Presents "Instant Communication Skills"
     
    How to Improve Communications Skills Instantly!
     
    Are you having trouble being heard or problem being misunderstood?
     
    Nowadays, it's more mandatory than ever to have good communication skill!
     
    Do you find it hard to talk to people, or when you do, you don't know exactly what to say and can't get the words out, not speaking very well, causing you frustrations?
     
    If you lack communication skills, you will have a hard time conveying your message, meeting people, and being taken seriously at work, home, and in life.
     
    Don't let the handicap of poor communication skills hold you back in anything.
     
    Within "Instant Communication Skills":
     
    * This one quickest and easiest thing you can do now to improve your communication skills so you can come off more attractive.
     
    * The crucial "think-on-your-feet communication" and how to work on it so to not only communicate better but faster, especially if it's a matter of life or death.
     
    * Best practices of how to be a better communicator so everybody will want to talk to and be around you, and putting them into action.
     
    * What to do in when you're having a conversation in your communication to magnetically build an instant connection, and how to do it.
     
    * Even cover the art of written communication and ways to be more effective at it without doing it wrong.
     
    * Plus, custom practical "how-to" strategies, techniques, applications and exercises to improve your communication skills.
     
    ...and much more.
     
    Become a much more effective communicator now!
    Show book
  • Overcoming Bias - Building Authentic Relationships across Differences - cover

    Overcoming Bias - Building...

    Tiffany Jana, Matthew Freeman

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Control, Conquer, and Prevail! Everybody's biased. The truth is, we all harbor unconscious assumptions that can get in the way of our good intentions and keep us from building authentic relationships with people different from ourselves. Tiffany Jana and Matthew Freeman use vivid stories and fun (yes, fun!) exercises and activities to help us reflect on our personal experiences and uncover how our hidden biases are formed. By becoming more self-aware, we can control knee-jerk reactions, conquer fears of the unknown, and prevail over closed-mindedness. In the end, Jana and Freeman's central message is that you are not the problem—but you can be the solution.
    Show book
  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book