Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Murder Capital - Life and Death on the Streets of Glasgow - cover

Murder Capital - Life and Death on the Streets of Glasgow

Reg McKay

Publisher: Black & White Publishing

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Murder Capital of Europe: that's Glasgow. A city more lethal than London, Paris, Rome, Amsterdam, Dublin or strife-torn Belfast. But what's the truth behind the headlines, the real story on the streets of Glasgow? And who has earned the city its shocking and brutal reputation? Murder Capital leads you to the city's darkest corners and to the most evil citizens of the past twenty years, introducing you to people you definitely don't want to meet on a dark night. There are assassins, poisoners, body burners, faked suicides, sex slayers, femmes fatales, grannies with blades, revenge murders, crimes of passion, killer kids, betrayals, sadistic womanisers, lethal lesbians, rough trade, drugged-up demons and more. Average citizens all - until they turned to murder and shocked the world. Then there's Worm, The Birdman, Dopey, The Equaliser, Little General and The Iceman, all up to their necks in the organised mobs until caught for their murderous ways - or until they meet with the business end of a bullet or a blade. Glasgow is a city of contradictions. People love the place and feel safe going about their daily lives. But they also know there's a dark side, places you don't go and people you'll do well to avoid. Now, Reg McKay reveals the truth about the killers, the victims and life and death on the streets of Glasgow, the Murder Capital of Europe.

Other books that might interest you

  • Toxic Love - The Shocking True Story of the First Murder by Cancer - cover

    Toxic Love - The Shocking True...

    Tomás Guillén

    • 0
    • 17
    • 2
    The chilling true story of romantic obsession and murder by cancer from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Search for the Green River Killer.Omaha, Nebraska, 1978. Sandy Johnson was in shock. Her husband, Duane, and young daughter, Sherrie, were violently ill when word arrived that her infant nephew just died of mysterious causes. Days earlier, the entire family was happy, healthy, and living the American dream. Now they were at the center of a terrifying medical crisis.   Duane soon died in a condition unlike anything the doctors had ever seen. As they raced to discover what disease or toxin could have done so much damage so quickly, Lt. Foster Burchard of the Omaha police began to suspect foul play. Sandy herself became a primary suspect, as did her ex-boyfriend Steven Harper—a man prone to violence who never got over their breakup.   In Toxic Love, investigative reporter and true crime author Tomás Guillén offers a detailed and vivid account of this baffling case from the day of the poisoning to the harrowing trial and the murderer’s eventual suicide on death row.  
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Miscarriage of Justice: The Murder of Teresa de Simone - Murder and Mayhem #6 - cover

    Miscarriage of Justice: The...

    Fergus Mason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ★★★  One of the strangest true crime stories you'll read  ★★★ 
      
    The murder was brutal--raped and strangled. The case was open and shut--a man had confessed to the murder, and he was easily convicted. There was a problem with the man's testimony, however...he was a pathological liar who had confessed to over 200 other crimes--many of which never happened. 
      
    For over 27 years, Sean Hodgson, the convicted murderer, sat in prison for a crime he didn't commit. The real killer, 17-year-old David Lace, had also confessed to the crime, but police didn't believe him. 
      
    This gripping short book takes the reader on the hunt for the real killer and reveals the creation of Operation Iceberg--the operation that led to the DNA review of over 240 other convictions.
    Show book
  • Stolen from the Garden - The Kidnapping of Virginia Piper - cover

    Stolen from the Garden - The...

    William Swanson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    On a July afternoon in 1972, two masked men waving guns abducted forty-nine-year-old Virginia Piper from the garden of her lakeside home in Orono, Minnesota. After her husband, a prominent investment banker, paid a $1 million ransom, an anonymous caller directed the FBI to a thickly wooded section of a northern Minnesota state park. There, two days after her nightmare began, Ginny Piper––chained to a tree, filthy and exhausted, but physically unharmed––awaited her rescuers.The intensely private couple lived through a media firestorm. Both Bobby and Ginny Piper herself—naturally reserved and surprisingly composed in the aftermath of her ordeal—were subject to FBI scrutiny in the largest kidnap-for-ransom case in bureau annals. When two career criminals were finally indicted five years after the abduction, the Pipers again took center stage in two long trials before a jury's verdict made headlines across the nation.Drawing on closely held government documents and exclusive interviews with family members, investigators, suspects, lawyers, and others intimately connected to the case, William Swanson provides the first comprehensive account of the sensational Piper kidnapping and its long, eventful aftermath––and makes a case for the most plausible explanation for what really happened on that July afternoon.
    Show book
  • America's First Serial Killers - A Biography of the Harpe Brothers - cover

    America's First Serial Killers -...

    Wallace Edwards

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    They murdered. They stole. And they did it all to excess. Unlike other bandits of early America, they didn’t do it for the money—they did it for the thrill and love of blood. They were the Harpe Brothers, and they have been called America’s first true serial killers.
    
    In this gripping narrative, the crimes and the lives of America’s most notorious sibling killers is documented like a page-turning novel.
    Show book
  • Deadly Darlings: The Horrifying True Accounts of Children Turned Into Murderers - Murder and Mayhem #2 - cover

    Deadly Darlings: The Horrifying...

    William Webb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ★★★  The scariest children you'll ever meet  ★★★ 
      
    If you've ever thought your child was bad, then you haven't seen anything yet! In the pages that follow, you are about to meet some of the most vicious children who ever lived. 
      
    The kids in this book are as young as ten-years-old and they are ruthless. The nice ones killed in cold blood—but many of these kids weren't nice…they wanted their victims to suffer. 
      
    Some were turned killers by their brutal home environments; others were just inherently evil. They were all deadly darlings you'd never want to meet on the street.
    Show book