Come on board for a journey through literature!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Staveley Suspect - cover

The Staveley Suspect

Rebecca Tope

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Hidden wickedness is exposed in the Lake District 
Simmy Brown has a lot on her mind. Not just keeping her florist business afloat, but the challenge of developing a long-term relationship with Christopher, while coping with her father’s failing health. It is also only a few weeks until Mother’s Day, which is her busiest day of the year, as well as bringing painful memories of personal loss. 
But, in taking an order for a retirement party in Staveley, Simmy is unwittingly pulled into her most challenging investigation yet. When a daughter starts accusing her own mother of murder, Simmy feels she has no choice but to offer assistance, putting her relationships under strain as her loyalty to Ben and Bonnie is tested. With Detective Inspector Moxon himself floundering in the face of a murder with so many unpleasant implications, Simmy has to learn to leave her own concerns behind to uproot the killer. 
‘Bringing characters to life is clearly one of the author’s great strengths . . . beautiful and well-evoked surroundings, emphasis on solving a puzzle, characters it’s easy to warm to . . . a cracking good read’ Mystery People 
‘A good plot with oodles of atmosphere makes this a real page-turner’ Bookbag 
‘Rich in psychological insight . . . Tope is particularly skilled in creating interesting and unique characters’ Deadly Pleasures

Other books that might interest you

  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • Crisis at the Cathedral - cover

    Crisis at the Cathedral

    Jeanne M. Dams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When a wealthy Iraqi couple disappear following a concert at Sherebury Cathedral, American Anglophile Dorothy Martin investigates.When Dorothy Martin and her husband Alan meet the wealthy Ahmad family, they are charmed by their courtesy, their perfect English, their delightful children and their commitment to peace. Following a concert at Sherebury Cathedral, the Ahmads offer to host a party afterwards at the Rose and Crown pub.But Mr and Mrs Ahmad don’t show up. Their children are asleep upstairs at the inn, but the parents are nowhere to be found . . .With suspicions of kidnap and even murder being raised, Dorothy and Alan feel compelled to assist the police and MI5 in their efforts to find their new friends, a search that will take them to London and the murky world of big business, politics and even terrorism . . .
    Show book
  • Murderous Mind A - A Naomi Blake British Mystery - cover

    Murderous Mind A - A Naomi Blake...

    Jane A. Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The murder of a student re-opens a series of cold cases in this intriguing mysteryA young student is found brutally murdered in her room, killed while her flatmates slept nearby. The police soon recognize that this is frighteningly similar to a crime committed fifteen years before. A crime investigated by the now discredited Detective Inspector Joe Jackson, but never solved.Other deaths, linked to the same modus operandi and stretching back more than twenty years, have also remained unsolved. No link has been found between the victims – but it seems Joe Jackson had a perpetrator in mind. He had however been unable to prove his guilt.Can the new investigation trust the judgement of a man who was himself a killer? Or did that give Naomi Blake’s one-time friend and mentor an insight his colleagues did not have?
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book
  • Tangled Roots - cover

    Tangled Roots

    Marcia Talley

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Hannah Ives’s sister, Georgina, has some astonishing news. A DNA test has revealed she is part Native American, and Hannah’s test has similar results. The link seems to come from their late mother. But how?
    As Hannah dives into constructing her family tree, she uncovers a heart-breaking love story and a mysterious death, while DNA matching turns up two second cousins, Mai and Nicholas. Hannah and her niece, Julie, are eager to embrace their new relatives and learn about their surprising ancestry, but Georgina’s husband, Scott, isn’t so keen. Are there more shocking revelations to come? And can Hannah untangle her family roots to uncover the truth behind a devastating tragedy?
    Show book
  • Hit List - cover

    Hit List

    Jack McSporran

    • 5
    • 70
    • 0
    A major security breach. Blackmail. A list of names with deadly consequences.When her old agency is hacked by an elusive crime syndicate, ex-secret agent Maggie Black is enjoying the carefree life of a civilian. Then she learns the names of the agency’s agents, past and present, are being leaked by the hackers, one-by-one, until their notorious boss is released from prison.
     
    With the government refusing to negotiate with the blackmailers, Maggie is forced out of retirement and dragged back into the perilous life of espionage she swore to leave behind. Her name is on that list, as well as those she cares about most.
     
    As the bodies of agents begin to pile up, Maggie risks it all to hunt down the hackers. From the war-torn streets of Somalia to the seedy red-light district of Amsterdam, Maggie must race against time before her dark past ruins any chance at a future.HIT LIST is the second exhilarating adventure in the Maggie Black thriller series, and the perfect read for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.
     
    Get your copy of HIT LIST today and delve into the sequel of the binge-worthy series everyone is talking about.
    Show book