If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Peril in the Cotswolds - cover

Peril in the Cotswolds

Rebecca Tope

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

‘AS REBECCA TOPE TELLS IT, EVERY RURAL IDYLL IS BLIGHTED BY UNDERLYING MENACE. SUCH IS HER WRITING SKILL, I’M INCLINED TO BELIEVE HER’ DAILY MAIL 
Thea Slocombe, formerly Osborne, is trying to settle into normal family life with Drew and his two children in the village of Broad Campden. But any sense of cosy domesticity is shattered when Thea finds the body of a neighbour. No longer a house-sitter, Thea has no choice but to stay in the village and deal with the fallout, even when this risks damage to her marriage. 
Unconvinced that the swift conclusion the police reach is the right one, Thea is compelled to follow her nature and investigate for herself. But what repercussions might there be for her, Drew and those with whom they share this corner of the Cotswolds?

Other books that might interest you

  • Galway Girl - cover

    Galway Girl

    Ken Bruen

    • 2
    • 8
    • 1
    “They don’t come much tougher than Ken Bruen’s Irish roughneck, Jack Taylor,” and crime thrillers don’t get any better than this (The New York Times Book Review).   Jack Taylor has never quite been able get his life together, but now he has truly hit rock bottom. Still reeling from a violent family tragedy, Taylor is busy drowning his grief in Jameson and uppers, as usual, when a high-profile officer in the local Garda is murdered. After another Guard is found dead, and then another, Taylor’s old colleagues from the force implore him to take on the case. The plot is one big game, and all of the pieces seem to be moving at the behest of one dangerously mysterious team: a trio of young killers with very different styles, but who are united their common desire to take down Jack Taylor. Their ring leader is Jericho, a psychotic girl from Galway who is grieving the loss of her lover, and who will force Jack to confront some personal trauma from his past. As sharp and sardonic as it is starkly bleak and violent, Galway Girl shows master raconteur Ken Bruen at his best: lyrical, brutal, and ceaselessly suspenseful.  
    Show book
  • Bad Karma in the Big Easy - cover

    Bad Karma in the Big Easy

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Broussard and Franklyn uncover murder in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina in this Southern thriller from the “master of the Gothic mystery” (Booklist).   Among the dead collected in the catastrophic wake of Hurricane Katrina are three nude female bodies, all caught in the same brush tangle—none with water in their lungs. These women didn’t drown, and that means a murderer is at large. Chief Medical Examiner Andy Broussard intends to bring the killer to justice. But the city’s records are destroyed, the population is scattered, the police force has no offices, and many of its rank and file are homeless. And if that’s not bad enough, Broussard discovers that the bodies were all once frozen solid, completely obliterating key forensic clues.   Now Broussard and criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn are on a dangerous journey through the devastated city of New Orleans, one that will bring them face-to-face with a kind of evil that neither of them could’ve imagined.   “Andy and Kit are a match made in mystery heaven.” —The Clarion-Ledger
    Show book
  • The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime Thriller - cover

    The Innocent - A Ryan Lock Crime...

    Sean Black

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    The series that's perfect for fans of Robert Crais, Harlan Coben, Gregg Hurwitz, Lee Child and James Patterson's Private series."It's not the crime that kills you – it's the cover-up."When college basketball coach Malik Shaw goes missing after a family tragedy, it looks like just another retired athlete gone off the rails. But Malik's childhood friend, private security specialist Ty Johnson, quickly begins to suspect that there is more to it.Chasing the truth, Ty, along with his business partner, Ryan Lock, begin to uncover a sinister conspiracy of silence in a sleepy Minnesota college town."Sean Black writes like a punch to the gut." – Jesse Kellerman"The heir apparent to Lee Child." – Ken Bruen
    Show book
  • The Ninth Session - cover

    The Ninth Session

    Deborah Serani

    • 3
    • 13
    • 0
    An edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller that brings a unique mix of psychotherapy and Sign Language and Coda Culture. Just when you think you have it figured out, think again! Dr. Alicia Reese takes on a new patient. Lucas Ferro suffers with crippling anxiety, and as sessions progress, he begins to share the reasons why he's struggling. As Ferro's narrative becomes more menacing, Reese finds herself wedged between the cold hard frame of professional ethics and the integrity of personal truth. And, finally, when Ferro reveals his secrets, Reese learns how far she's willing to go, willing to risk and willing to lose to do the right thing.
    Show book
  • No Mardi Gras for the Dead - cover

    No Mardi Gras for the Dead

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A medical examiner and a psychologist once again make a “formidable team” in this mystery set in colorful New Orleans (The Washington Times).   Criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn feels like she’s been spinning her wheels in both life and career. She gets a lift from her malaise when she moves into a new home with a garden—and then a jolt when, in that garden, she discovers human remains.   Along with the unconventional and ever-cheerful chief medical examiner Andy Broussard, Franklyn sets out to close a case that’s well beyond cold. They identify the body as a streetwalker who vanished almost thirty years ago. But her death may be connected to a pair of recent killings . . . and a murderer who’s out to bury the past for good.   With an irresistible Big Easy attitude and a hard-to-crack mystery, “Donaldson’s genre gumbo keeps you coming back for more” (Booklist).   “Likable, modern protagonists, abundant forensic lore and vivid depictions of colorful New Orleans and its denizens.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Carve the Heart - The Jack Palace Series - cover

    Carve the Heart - The Jack...

    A.G. Pasquella

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ex-con Jack Palace returns in a world of violence, heartbreak, and revenge. 
     
    
    
    Cassandra, the woman who broke Jack Palace’s heart, is suddenly back in his life. She owes $600,000 to a brutal gangster who has threatened her life, and she needs Jack’s help. Meanwhile, Melody, Jack’s new girlfriend, has set a dangerous plan of her own in motion. Things start to get violent when Cassandra suddenly disappears … but not everyone believes Cassandra is in danger. Is Jack being set up? 
     
    
    
    Bikers, mobsters, and strippers collide as Jack storms the mean streets of Toronto searching for Cassandra. To find her, he must rip open old wounds and confront new enemies. But as loyalties falter and secrets are revealed, Jack begins to wonder who he can really trust. If he doesn’t figure it out fast, he — and everyone he cares about — could end up dead.
    Show book