Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Verdict of Twelve - cover

Verdict of Twelve

Raymond Postgate

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

A woman is on trial for her life, accused of murder. The twelve members of the jury each carry their own secret burden of guilt and prejudice which could affect the outcome.
 
In this extraordinary crime novel, we follow the trial through the eyes of the jurors as they hear the evidence and try to reach a unanimous verdict. Will they find the defendant guilty, or not guilty? And will the jurors' decision be the correct one?
 
Since its first publication in 1940, Verdict of Twelve has been widely hailed as a classic of British crime writing. This edition offers a new generation of readers the chance to find out why so many leading commentators have admired the novel for so long.

Other books that might interest you

  • Snake Eye - cover

    Snake Eye

    William C. Dietz

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An FBI special agent finds her personal and professional lives colliding in this crime novel by a New York Times–bestselling author. FBI Special Agent Christina Rossi had it all—for a while: a loving family, a career on an upward track, the works. Then a takedown of some eco-terrorists turned unexpectedly bloody, questions are being asked and the fast track is nothing but a memory as she doggedly pursues a slave labor case that might involve a Chinese mob and might be a complete bust. The family went away during an ugly divorce and her ex-husband’s high-end life with a beautiful, upscale new wife has lured her daughter into a risky social circle and turned her against her mother. Things are almost too good to be true when a new man in her life, Jack Dexter, handsome, smart and very well-off, brings about a startlingly wonderful romance and a change in her day-to-day circumstances and even connects her to some information on the seemingly dead-end case she won’t give up. Too good to be true turns out to be what’s going on when a pervert’s murder starts to unfold Dexter’s dark secrets, her case begins turning into an uncontrollable monster and her daughter’s life hangs in the balance. 
    Show book
  • Murder At Medley Park - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery #4 - cover

    Murder At Medley Park - A...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK is Book 4 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series. What happens when clever young sleuth Miss Juliette Abbott accepts an assignment to catalogue precious artifacts belonging to the wealthy Lord and Lady Medley at their country estate? First, a stable lad is found murdered, and soon thereafter Lady Medley's entire collection of valuable jewels is discovered missing! Following yet another murder, Juliette is drawn into the mystery when it's noted that she was the last person to see the deceased alive and an item belonging to that person is found in her bedchamber! 
    Juliette has no choice but to clear her name. Among the suspects on her list include the attractive housekeeper, a prim governess who quotes the Bible whilst correcting everyone's behavior, a pair of handsome young gentlemen twins, a visiting cousin who has no proof that she truly is a cousin and two meddlesome children who chase kittens. 
    When Juliette receives an ominous threat on her life, she knows time is running out. Can she expose the killer, or will she find her neck in a noose as payment for both the theft and murders at Medley Park? 
    In the tradition of Stephanie Barron and Jane Austen, Marilyn Clay's Regency mystery novels contain no strong language or violence and are suitable for teen readers. 
    If you enjoy the Regency mystery novels of Ashley Gardner, Stephanie Barron, Sheri Cobb South, Alyssa Maxwell, Adele Clee, and Heidi Ashworth, you'll enjoy Marilyn Clay's traditional, clean, and always amusing Regency-set mysteries. 
    Other titles in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series are MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, MURDER IN MAYFAIR, MURDER AT MARGATE, and MURDER IN MIDDLEWYCH; all available in both print and Ebook from major online retailers. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written numerous Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity's Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza's Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    Look for all of Marilyn Clay's historical suspense novels als available from major online retailers!
    Show book
  • Travesty - An Amber Monroe Crime Thriller #5 - cover

    Travesty - An Amber Monroe Crime...

    C.M. Sutter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In six counties lie numerous bodies, all with one thing in common—a tie around the neck of each victim. With a multicounty task force set up, the Washburn County Sheriff's Office finds itself in the middle of the mayhem when the body of an unidentified woman is found in a nearby lake. 
    A well-meaning local man insists he knows the woman, yet all signs indicate he's mistaken. But when a Chicago homicide detective charges into town and tries to take over the investigation, the whole case turns upside down. 
    With the people of southeast Wisconsin afraid to go out after dark, the task force kicks its search into high gear, yet the body count continues to rise. Working diligently day and night, the team finally catches the madman nicknamed "The Necktie Killer." Relief spreads through the counties, and life goes back to normal—or does it? 
    No one sees what's coming next… 
     
    Note:All Amber Monroe books are standalone stories but since characters carry over, they are best read in chronological order. 
    Series One - Amber Monroe Crime Thriller Series 
    #1 Greed 
    #2 Avenged 
    #3 Vendetta 
    #4 Atrocity 
    #5 Travesty 
    The Amber Monroe Crime Thriller Series follows on the heels of the conclusion of Malice, Book 5 in the Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series. 
     
    Editorial Review: 
    "In southeast Wisconsin, women's lifeless bodies are turning up with ties around their necks, and the Necktie Killer soon leaves his calling card in Washburn County, where Detective Amber Monroe and her friends at the sheriff's department are working around the clock to put a stop to the killing rampage. But clues to the killer's identity are nearly nonexistent, the cops can't catch a break, and the killer seems destined to get away scot-free. Sutter fans know to expect a fast-paced, emotion-packed read, but this one will keep them racing through the pages until they reach the thoroughly unexpected conclusion." Angela M., Line Editor, Red Adept Editing 
     
    Start at the beginning of the Monroe Sisters' saga with Maniacal. Find all of the books leading up to the Amber Monroe Crime Thriller Series below. 
     
    Series One - Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series 
    #1 Maniacal 
    #2 Captive 
    #3 Fallacy  
    #4 Premonition  
    #5 Exposed 
    Note:The Jade Monroe FBI Thriller books follow on the heels of the conclusion of Exposed, Book 5 in the Detective Jade Monroe Crime Thriller Series. 
      
    Series Two – Agent Jade Monroe FBI Thriller Series 
    #1 Snapped  
    #2 Justified 
    #3 Donors 
    #4 Leverage 
    #5 Malice 
    Show book
  • Death of a Pantomime Cow - Brief Case - cover

    Death of a Pantomime Cow - Brief...

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Carsfold has recently opened its new theatre and the Town’s Women’s Guild is to present its first live performances – the pantomime ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’ – over Christmas.
    
     
    DI Harry Falconer has managed to duck two days spent over the festive season in the Carmichael household by pleading other commitments, but treating the whole family, himself included, to tickets to the first performance, on Boxing Day.
    
     
    But he seems to be able to do nothing straight forward, and when tragedy strikes in the very first Act, he is catapulted back into his professional role with a vengeance: and on a Bank Holiday, too.
    Show book
  • Louisiana Fever - cover

    Louisiana Fever

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “D.J. Donaldson is superb at spinning medical fact into gripping suspense. With his in-depth knowledge of science and medicine, he is one of very few authors who can write with convincing authority.”--Tess Gerritsen, NY Times best-selling author of the Rizzoli & Isles novelsAndy Broussard, the plump and proud New Orleans medical examiner, obviously loves food. Less apparent to the casual observer is his hatred of murderers. Together with his gorgeous sidekick, psychologist Kit Franklyn, the two make a powerful, although improbable, mystery solving duo.When the beautiful Kit goes to meet an anonymous stranger—who’s been sending her roses—the man drops dead at her feet before she even could even get his name. Game on.Andy Broussard soon learns that the man carried a lethal pathogen similar to the deadly Ebola virus. Soon, another body turns up with the same bug. Panic is imminent as the threat of pandemic is more real than ever before. The danger is even more acute, because the carrier is mobile, his identity is an absolute shocker, he knows he’s a walking weapon and… he’s on a quest to find Broussard. And Kit isn’t safe either. When she investigates her mystery suitor further, she runs afoul of a cold blooded killer, every bit as deadly as the man searching for Broussard.Louisiana Fever is written in Donaldson’s unique style: A hard-hitting, punchy, action-packed prose that’s dripping with a folksy, decidedly southern, sense of irony. Add in Donaldson’s brilliant first hand knowledge of forensics and the sultry flavor of New Orleans, and the result is first class forensic procedural within an irresistibly delectable mystery.
    Show book
  • God Rob Ye Merry Gentlemen - Belchester Chroniclette - cover

    God Rob Ye Merry Gentlemen -...

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A festive special, complete with Beauchamps Major and Minor.
    
     
    It's nearly Christmas in Belchester and the carol singers are out in full swing. So too are the thieves! A spate of burglaries is underway and the police are baffled. 
    
     
    When Belchester Towers becomes a target, Lady Amanda Golightly is determined to get to the bottom of it all. None of the usual criminal types in the city seem to be involved, but after a bit of lateral thinking and old chum Hugo’s help, Lady Amanda is off, sniffing after a totally unsuspected scent...
    Show book