Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Tattoo on My Breast - cover

The Tattoo on My Breast

Ravi Rai

Publisher: Bloomsbury India

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

The year is 1942 and the province Sindh, where Sadhana, the childish granddaughter of a rich Sindhi grain merchant is getting married to Prakash, when Rehman, the meek, poor boy next door and Sadhana's childhood friend realizes his love for her. 
On the other hand, Jinnah and Nehru have started displaying their influence on the young and the restless of the yet undivided India, where the several Gurdwara's Sikh flags are replaced with the green flag of Islam and Prakash becomes a fatality in one such crossfire. 
Barely 15 days into her marriage and Sadhana is a widow. And Rehman is back in her life. But little does she know that her radical Hindu father has fixed her marriage to Sunil, a Sindhi millionaire running his looms in Dhakka, which is soon to become East Pakistan. 
Sadhana and Rehman plan an escape but destiny plays a cruel role with the breakout of riots and Rehman is once again late in claiming his love. The Radcliffe line has been drawn and has divided India. The lovers had parted painfully. 
Sadhana, now a nurse, is attending to the injured when she meets Sunil, the man she was slated to marry. His brother, Anil is a doctor at the hospital and has fallen in love with the young nurse. But Sadhana's heart only beats for Rehman. In this hour of difficulty, Sadhana's grandfather plans a sinister conspiracy and poisons Sadhana's mind against Rehman; causing her to marry Anil. 
And just when connubial happiness begins to set in and Sadhana gets pregnant, Rehman returns for her causing her heart to beat for him once again. What will Dr. Anil, who till now was unaware of their undying love, do when he comes to know of Rehman's presence? Will Sadhana follow her heart or will she bind herself in chains that have always distanced her from her true love? Will Rehman accept a pregnant Sadhana as his soulmate or leave her at the crossroads once again? 
To know more, read an epic tale of love, passion, emotion, drama and romance set in the times of partition through the eyes of our protagonist…Sadhana

Other books that might interest you

  • Call of the Heart - cover

    Call of the Heart

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    Half-starved, sickly and pale, the beautiful Lalitha lives in the shadow of her stepsister, the glamorous Lady Sophie Studley, darling of London’s Beau Monde. Because only Lalitha knows the dark secrets upon which her stepmother, Lady Studley, has built a new life for herself and her daughter. Worked like a slave and frequently thrashed with her stepmother’s cane, she feels that should one of these beatings go too far her death would merely come as a relief.The conniving mother and daughter’s latest deceit involves Sophie’s latest two suitors. Betrothed to Julius Verton, Sophie is dismayed to find that he has no money of his own, at least until his uncle, the Duke of Yelverton, dies.With typical callousness she plans to abandon Julius and elope with the immensely wealthy Lord Rothwyn, a friend of the Prince Regent. But she does not love him, only his riches and his position in Society. “Oh, well,” she says, “perhaps his Lordship will not live long. Then I shall be a rich widow and will be able to marry Julius when he is the Duke of Yelverton after all!” But when news arrives that Julius’ uncle is on his deathbed everything changes. Sophie sends Lalitha to meet Lord Rothwyn at the Church to tell him that he is being jilted. And from the moment the dashing Lord mistakes her for Sophie and seizes her in a passionate kiss, her heart is lost and her life is changed forever –
    Show book
  • A Thousand Tiny Disappointments - cover

    A Thousand Tiny Disappointments

    Sarah Edghill

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    “A thoroughly gripping story about grief [and] unexpected friendship . . . Sarah Edghill knows how to pinpoint what goes on in families.” —Rachel Joyce, author of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry   Martha is being pulled in too many directions, trying to be a good mother, a loving wife, and a dutiful daughter. Despite it all, she’s coping. But then her elderly mother is rushed to the hospital and dies unexpectedly, and the cracks in the life Martha is struggling to hold together are about to be exposed.   When she discovers her mother has left her house to a stranger, she’s overwhelmed by grief and hurt. Getting no support from her disinterested husband or arrogant brother, Martha goes on to make some bad decisions.   If she were a good daughter, she would abide by her mother’s final wishes. If she were a good daughter, she wouldn’t destroy the evidence . . . “An accomplished first novel with characters you can relate to, who are struggling with interesting moral dilemmas.” —Katie Fforde, author of A Country Escape and A Wedding in Provence “Compelling and beautifully written, Edghill explores grief, regret and self reconciliation in her debut novel. A Thousand Tiny Disappointments is an accomplished, moving and ultimately uplifting novel about friendship and love.” —Hannah Persaud, author of The Codes of Love “A brilliant story about taking back control of your life. Martha is my new hero. So readable, so relatable.” —Ericka Waller, author of Dog Days
    Show book
  • The Last Gift - By the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature - cover

    The Last Gift - By the winner of...

    Abdulrazak Gurnah

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    One day, long before the troubles, he slipped away without saying a word to anyone and never went back. And then another day, forty-three years later, he collapsed just inside the front door of his house in a small English town. It was late in the day when it happened, on his way home after work, but it was also late in the day altogether. He had left things for too long and there was no one to blame for it but himself. 
     
    Abbas has never told anyone about his past-before he was a sailor on the high seas, before he met his wife Maryam outside a Boots in Exeter, before they settled into a quiet life in Norwich with their children, Jamal and Hanna. Now, at the age of sixty-three, he suffers a collapse that renders him bedbound and unable to speak about things he thought he would one day have to. 
     
    Jamal and Hanna have grown up and gone out into the world. They were both born in England but cannot shake a sense of apartness. Hanna calls herself Anna now, and has just moved to a new city to be near her boyfriend. She feels the relationship is headed somewhere serious, but the words have not yet been spoken out loud. Jamal, the listener of the family, moves into a student house and is captivated by a young woman with dark-blue eyes and her own, complex story to tell. Abbas's illness forces both children home, to the dark silences of their father and the fretful capability of their mother Maryam, who began life as a foundling and has never thought to find herself, until now.
    Show book
  • The Girls in Blue - a gripping and emotional wartime saga - cover

    The Girls in Blue - a gripping...

    Fenella J. Miller

    • 3
    • 27
    • 2
    They'll come together to do their bit for the war. 
     
    Jane Hadley has nothing to lose when she runs away to join the Women's Auxiliary Air Force. Whatever faces her in war-torn London can't be any worse than staying at home with her abusive father...
     
    The city is nothing like she could have imagined, but she's soon on the move, travelling from base to base for her top-secret training. Making plenty of new friends along the way, it doesn't take long for Jane to embrace her growing confidence – especially under the attentive eye of dashing Officer Oscar Stanton.
     
    Life as an independent woman is as rewarding as it is exciting, until Jane's father tracks her down and it crashes to a halt. Jane will need all her new-found strength to find her way back to the frontline – and to the man she's fallen for...
    Show book
  • The Rina Walker Series Books One to Four - Harm Threat Malice and Stealth - cover

    The Rina Walker Series Books One...

    Hugh Fraser

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Four novels in the edgy series about a female contract killer in 1960s London.  Harm In Acapulco, Rina Walker is on assignment. Just another quick, clean kill—until she wakes to find a severed head in her hotel room and a man with an AK-47 charging through the door, in this action-packed series debut that takes us into the traumatic childhood in postwar London that made Rina what she is today . . .  Threat London 1961. Rina is hired by a Soho vice king to investigate the disappearance of girls from his clubs, and discovers they’re being supplied to a member of the aristocracy for the gratification of his macabre tastes. Her efforts to save the innocent from slaughter become increasingly perilous as she grapples with layers of depravity, corruption, and betrayal . . .  Malice London 1964. As gang warfare breaks out, Rina struggles to survive amid the battles and betrayals of a gruesome cast of racketeers and gangsters. Her considerable skills as an assassin are her only hope of survival. But it’s not just her own life at stake . . .  Stealth London 1967. A working girl is brutally murdered, and when Rina Walker takes out the killer she attracts the attention of a sinister line-up of gangland enforcers with a great deal to prove. But the stakes get even bigger when British intelligence forces her into the deadly arena of the Cold War . . .  Praise for the series:   “The perfect combination of action, mystery and intrigue.” —Benjamin Maio Mackay, actor and podcaster
    Show book
  • A Wedding at Mulberry Lane - A heart-warming war time family saga - cover

    A Wedding at Mulberry Lane - A...

    Rosie Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Love, marriage, birth, death and betrayal in the East End of London make up life in Mulberry Lane, perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Cathy Sharp and Donna Douglas. 
     
    Maureen Jackson knew life as a trainee nurse wouldn't be easy, but she didn't expect her hospital to be badly bombed on her first shift. Plus Maureen still has her family and friends in Mulberry Lane to keep her busy – she's needed as much there as she is by her patients. 
     
    Running the pub on the corner of Mulberry Lane, Peggy Ashley is used to taking in all sorts of waifs and strays. But the arrival of a dashing American captain has got tongues wagging about Mulberry Lane's favourite landlady... 
     
    Janet Ashley's husband is back from the frontline. Which is more than so many of the wives of Mulberry Lane. But her beloved Mike is a completely different man from the one she fell in love with – and what's more he doesn't remember her, or their young daughter. How do you cope when your darling husband is a virtual stranger? 
     
    As WW2 continues around them, the women of Mulberry Lane know that community spirit and friendship is the key to surviving the Blitz. 
     
    A WEDDING AT MULBERRY LANE is the second book in the riveting and heart-breaking Mulberry Lane series from Rosie Clarke. Order the next book, MOTHERS OF MULBERRY LANE, out July 2018.
    Show book