Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Essential Writings of Ralph Waldo Emerson - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Essential Writings of Ralph Waldo Emerson

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Publisher: Digireads.com Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

American essayist, lecturer, poet, and leader of the Transcendentalist movement, Ralph Waldo Emerson was a champion of individualism and major critic of the prevailing society of his time. Emerson forwarded his ideology by publishing dozens of essays and giving over 1500 lectures in the United States during his lifetime. Emerson's philosophy did not espouse any specific tenets but rather promoted generally the principles of individuality, freedom, the ability for humankind to realize almost anything, and the relationship between the soul and the surrounding world. Gathered together in this volume is a comprehensive selection of his writings which includes the following: "Nature", "The American Scholar", "An Address Delivered Before Divinity College", "The Transcendentalist", "The Lord's Supper", "Essays (First and Second Series)", "Plato", "Napoleon", "English Traits", Selections from "The Conduct of Life", "Solitude and Society", "Farming", "Ezra Ripley", "Emancipation in the British West Indies", "The Fugitive Slave Law", "John Brown", "The Emancipation Proclamation", "Thoreau", "Abraham Lincoln", "Carlyle", and a selection of his poetry.
Available since: 01/01/2013.

Other books that might interest you

  • Death and the Dolce Vita - The Dark Side of Rome in the 1950s - cover

    Death and the Dolce Vita - The...

    Stephen Gundle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “A brilliant, methodical investigation of a murder scandal that convulsed the Roman political and social establishment in the 1950s” (Financial Times).   On April 9 1953, twenty-one-year-old Wilma Montesi went missing from her family home in Rome. Thirty-six hours later her body was found washed up on a neglected public beach. Some said it was suicide; others, a tragic accident. But as the police tried to close the case, darker rumors bubbled to the surface. Could it be that the mysterious death of this quiet, conservative girl was linked to a drug-fueled orgy, involving some of the richest and most powerful men in Italy?  Death and the Dolce Vita, “a hybrid of history and police detection, brilliantly recreates the details of the Montesi affair” in light of the postwar economic miracolo italiano that inspired Fellini’s classic film of libertine frivolity. “As well as being a thriller, [it] provides an excellent account of the virtues and misdeeds of Europe’s most foxy political class” (Ian Thompson, The Guardian, UK).  “An intense, claustrophobic narrative of murder, mystery and scandal worthy of a Verdi opera . . . a page-turning narrative that explores its extraordinary characters and even more extraordinary cover-ups, evasions and dissemblage, reaching to the top of Italian political life.” —The Scotsman, UK
    Show book
  • Narrow River Wide Sky - A Memoir - cover

    Narrow River Wide Sky - A Memoir

    Jenny Forrester

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the vein of The Liar's Club and The Glass Castle, Jenny Forrester's memoir perfectly captures both place and a community situated on the Colorado Plateau between slot canyons and rattlesnakes, where she grew up with her mother and brother in a single-wide trailer proudly displaying an American flag.Forrester's powerfully eloquent story reveals a rural small town comprising God-fearing Republicans, ranchers, Mormons, and Native Americans. With sensitivity and resilience, Forrester navigates feelings of isolation, an abusive boyfriend, sexual assault, and a failed college attempt to forge a separate identity. As young adults, after their mother's accidental death, Forrester and her brother are left with an increasingly strained relationship that becomes a microcosm of America's political landscape.Narrow River, Wide Sky is a breathtaking, determinedly truthful story about one woman's search for identity within the mythology of family and America itself.
    Show book
  • Sea State - A Memoir - cover

    Sea State - A Memoir

    Tabitha Lasley

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Recommended Read from: Vogue * USA Today * The Los Angeles Times * Publishers Weekly * The Week * Alma * Lit Hub 
    A stunning and brutally honest memoir that shines a light on what happens when female desire conflicts with a culture of masculinity in crisis 
    In her midthirties and newly free from a terrible relationship, Tabitha Lasley quit her job at a London magazine, packed her bags, and poured her savings into a six-month lease on an apartment in Aberdeen, Scotland. She decided to make good on a long-deferred idea for a book about oil rigs and the men who work on them. Why oil rigs? She wanted to see what men were like with no women around. 
    In Aberdeen, Tabitha became deeply entrenched in the world of roughnecks, a teeming subculture rich with brawls, hard labor, and competition. The longer she stayed, the more she found her presence had a destabilizing effect on the men—and her. 
    Sea State is on the one hand a portrait of an overlooked industry: “offshore” is a way of life for generations of primarily working-class men and also a potent metaphor for those parts of life we keep at bay—class, masculinity, the transactions of desire, and the awful slipperiness of a ladder that could, if we tried hard enough, lead us to security. 
    Sea State is on the other hand the story of a journalist whose professional distance from her subject becomes perilously thin. In Aberdeen, Tabitha gets high and dances with abandon, reliving her youth, when the music was good and the boys were bad. Twenty years on, there is Caden: a married rig worker who spends three weeks on and three weeks off. Alone and in an increasingly precarious state, Tabitha dives into their growing attraction. The relationship, reckless and explosive, will lay them both bare.
    Show book
  • On This Day: August 28 - cover

    On This Day: August 28

    Meg Matthais

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On This Day: August 28. Daily podcast of historical and noteworthy activity on this calendar day. March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom; MLK's "I Have a Dream" speech; murder of Emmett Till
    Show book
  • The Penny Dreadfuls - Tales of Horror: Dracula Frankenstein and The Picture of Dorian Gray - cover

    The Penny Dreadfuls - Tales of...

    Oscar Wilde, Bram Stoker, Mary...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three nineteenth-century literary giants—Bram Stoker, Mary Shelley, and Oscar Wilde—in one outstanding volume of Victorian gothic horror.   In the 1800s, penny dreadfuls were cheap English stories that featured lurid, disturbing, and tantalizing content. These horror serials cost a penny per issue, hence their name. Penny dreadfuls often paid homage to—and even inspired—many of the more famous narratives of the horror genre.   Born of the penny dreadful tradition and originally published at a time when dramatic scientific discoveries sparked a cultural fixation on the paranormal, these stories remain timeless in their uncanny ability to prey upon our primal fear of that which is strange, violent, and unknown.   This book contains three haunting tales and a bonus story:  Dracula by Bram StokerDracula’s Guest by Bram Stoker (Dracula’s original first chapter, not published until after Stoker’s death)Frankenstein by Mary ShelleyThe Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde  Curl up with The Penny Dreadfuls on a dark, moonless night and rediscover these chilling classics!  
    Show book
  • Horror Classics Collection - cover

    Horror Classics Collection

    Ambrose Bierce, Algernon...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book contains the following works arranged alphabetically by authors last namesThe Mysterious Mansion [Honoré de Balzac]The Tomb of Heiri [Arthur Christopher Benson]Chickamauga [Ambrose Bierce] An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge [Ambrose Bierce]The Death of Halpin Frayser [Ambrose Bierce]A Halloween Wraith [William Black]The Goblin's Collection [Algernon Blackwood]The Wood of the Dead [Algernon Blackwood]Let Loose [Mary Cholmondeley]The Horror of the Heights [Arthur Conan Doyle]The Lift [Arthur Conan Doyle]The Terror of Blue John Gap [Arthur Conan Doyle]Captain Murderer [Charles Dickens]The Trial for Murder [Charles Dickens]Cold Ghost [Chester S. Geier]Fragments from the Journal of a Solitary Man [Nathaniel Hawthorne]The Devil in Manuscript [Nathaniel Hawthorne]The Adventure of the German Student [Washington Irving]Rip Van Winkle [Washington Irving]The Romance of Certain Old Clothes [Henry James]The City Of Dreadful Night [Rudyard Kipling]The Untold Sequel to the Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde [Frances Little]Hypnos [H.P Lovecraft]Nyarlathotep [H.P Lovecraft]The Tomb [H.P Lovecraft]Dagon [H.P Lovecraft]The Cats of Ulthar [H.P Lovecraft]The Devil [Guy de Maupassant]Who Knows? [Guy de Maupassant]When I was Dead [Vincent O'Sullivan]Doom of the House of Duryea [Earl Peirce]The Yellow Wallpaper [Charlotte Perkins Gilman]The Masqued Red Death [Edgar Allan Poe]The Black Cat [Edgar Allan Poe]Silence: A Fable [Edgar Allan Poe]The Tell Tale Heart [Edgar Allan Poe]The Room of Mirrors [Sir Arthur Thomas Quiller-Couch]The Mystery of Joseph Laquedem [Sir Arthur Thomas Quiller-Couch]The Wolves of Cernogratz [Saki] An account of some strange disturbances in Aungier Street [Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu]Dracula's Guest [Bram Stoker]The Squaw [Bram Stoker]The Dualists [Bram Stoker]The Valley of Spiders [H.G Wells]The Sea Raiders [H.G Wells]The Red Room [H.G Wells]Jimmy Goggles the God [H.G Wells]The Eyes [Edith Wharton]The Wind in the Rose-Bush [Mary E. Wilkins Freeman]The Substitute [Georgia Wood Pangborn]
    Show book