Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
How Writers Work - cover

How Writers Work

Ralph Fletcher

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 2
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Unlock the secret to being a writer! Turn to this practical and enjoyable guide by the bestselling author of A Writer’s Notebook and the ALA Notable Book Fig Pudding.  
Surprise! There is no secret to being a writer. But there is a process.  
Good writing isn't forged by magic or hatched out of thin air. Good writing happens when you follow certain steps to take control of your sentences—to make your words do what you want them to do. This book lifts the curtain on how writers work and helps aspiring writers discover their own writing process. 
Perfect for classrooms, How Writers Work is full of practical wisdom. It's tailored especially for young writers, but aspiring authors of all ages can benefit from bestselling writer Ralph Fletcher's tips. 
Everyone can struggle with the writing process at times. Unlock your potential by reading How Writers Work!

Who read this book also read:

  • Vietnam War - An Interactive Modern History Adventure - cover

    Vietnam War - An Interactive...

    Michael Burgan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It’s the 1960s, and the Vietnam War is raging. You find yourself in the midst of the  turmoil. Will you:  Enlist in the Marines and volunteer to go to war?  Join your fellow young Americans eager to protest the war?  Be a young Vietnamese man forced to choose between the communist North and the capitalist South? Everything in this book happened to real people. And YOU CHOOSE what you do next. The choices you make could lead you to jail, to the jungles of Vietnam, or even to death.
    Show book
  • The Princess Curse - cover

    The Princess Curse

    Merrie Haskell

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Merrie Haskell’s middle-grade fantasy novel Princess Curse is an imaginative retelling of the fairy tales The Twelve Dancing Princesses and Beauty and the Beast. In the fifteenth-century kingdom of Sylvania, the prince offers a fabulous reward to anyone who cures the curse that forces the princesses to spend each night dancing to the point of exhaustion. Everyone who tries disappears or falls into an enchanted sleep. Thirteen-year-old Reveka, a smart, courageous herbalist’s apprentice, decides to attempt to break the curse despite the danger. Unravelling the mystery behind the curse leads Reveka to the Underworld, and to save the princesses, Reveka will have to risk her soul. Princess Curse combines magic, suspense, humor, and adventure into a story perfect for fans of Gail Carson Levine.
    Show book
  • Mixed Magics - cover

    Mixed Magics

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Dapper, debonair, and wise, the great enchanter Chrestomanci has nine lives and a strong personality as well as strong magic. That personality reverberates in each of these four dazzling stories. 
    A warlock tries to escape Chrestomanci's justice by fleeing to another world-with hilarious results. Cat Chant and Tonino Montana reluctantly join forces when Chrestomanci sends them on a visit that turns suddenly dangerous. The youngest best-selling dreamer needs Chrestomanci's help when she finds she can't dream anymore. And as the gods of an ever-so-orderly world try to destroy the young Sage of Dissolution, Chrestomanci lends a hand. 
    Like Chrestomanci himself, acclaimed author Diana Wynne Jones has a graceful flair, which sparkles in the remarkable wit, imagination, and intelligence of these fast-paced tales.
    Show book
  • Scent - The Delta Girls - Book Three - cover

    Scent - The Delta Girls - Book...

    Juliet Madison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Five extraordinary sisters discover that they each have a unique talent, an extra-sensory perception that enables them to see what others can't. It makes them incredible, it puts them in danger, and it brings them closer to learning the secrets that have haunted them their entire lives. These are the Delta Girls.
    
    Sassy Sasha is having an online interlude with a secret admirer. She’s convinced it’s the gorgeous Taylor Petrenko behind the romantic emails.
    
    There’s little time for love, though. As new developments come to light around their father’s disappearance, the Delta Girls start to question just how well they knew their father. The sisters experience increasingly detailed and troubling sensory predictions that bring fear and uncertainty, weighing them down with the responsibility toward helping those in danger.
    
    Sasha distracts herself with the excitement of newfound romance, refusing to partake in further analysis of the visions. When her sisters cover for her so she can sneak out for a date, her sense of scent becomes heightened and awakens the memory of a vision she shared with her sisters. Sasha realizes a moment too late that she is in danger, and must gather all of her strength if she is to save her own life.
    Show book
  • Conrad's Fate - cover

    Conrad's Fate

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    Someone at Stallery Mansion is changing the world. At first, only small details, but the changes get bigger and bigger. It's up to Conrad, a twelve-year-old with terrible karma who's just joined the mansion's staff, to find out who is behind it. 
    But he's not the only one snooping around. His fellow servant-in-training, Christopher Chant, is charming, confident, and from another world, with a mission of his own -- rescuing his friend, lost in an alternate Stallery Mansion. Can they save the day before Conrad's awful fate catches up with them?
    Show book
  • Archer's Goon - cover

    Archer's Goon

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The trouble started when Howard Sykes came home from school and found the "goon" sitting in the kitchen. He said he'd been sent by Archer. But who was Archer? It had to do with the 2,000 words that Howard's author father had failed to deliver. 
    It soon became clear not only that Archer wanted those words, but that his wizard siblings, Hathaway, Dillian, Shine, Torquil, Erskine, and Venturus, would also go to any lengths to get them. 
    Although each wizard ruled a section of the town, he or she was a prisoner in it. Each suspected that one of them held the secret behind the words, and that secret was the key to their freedom. Which one of them was it? The Sykes family become pawns in the wizards' fight to win their freedom, wrest control from one another, and fan out to rule the world. 
    Diana Wynne Jones skillfully guides the reader through a riveting, twisty plot, with satisfying surprises at every amazing turn. An exciting science fiction adventure where, happily, nothing is what it first seems to be.
    Show book