Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
How Writers Work - cover

How Writers Work

Ralph Fletcher

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 2
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Secret of Writing 
Its misleading to think of writers as special creatures, word sorcerers who possess some sort of magic knowledge hidden from everyone else. Writers are ordinary people who like to write. They feel the urge to write, and scratch that itch every chance they have. Writers get their ideas down on paper using particular strategies that seem to work for them. These strategies are available to anyone who wants to be a writer 
... Revealed! 
There is no secret. But there is a process. If you like to write, there are definite steps you can take to help you reach your goals. Good writing isn't forged by magic or hatched out of thin air. Good writing happens when human beings follow particular steps to take control o their sentences-to make their words do what they want them to do. 
This book will show you how writers work, how you can become a writer, and how you can find a process that works for you

Who read this book also read:

  • Uninvited - cover

    Uninvited

    Sophie Jordan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect. 
    Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school, avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become. 
    Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions—not the code embedded into her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?
    Show book
  • Human - cover

    Human

    Alycia Linwood

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Ariel is a seventeen-year-old girl whose life takes a completely different turn on the day she comes late to school. There's a new, very handsome, dark-haired boy, Devin, in her class, but to Ariel's surprise everyone seems to know him, and her best friend claims he's been going with them to school for years, except Ariel is sure she has never seen him before. 
    Convinced her friends are messing with her, Ariel pretends nothing weird is going on. She even considers the possibility of having a brain disease ... until she starts having visions of unknown people with wings and unusual eyes. What's worse, her visions hint that Devin might be a demon who came to the human world to take an angel to Hell. As she becomes more and more aware of the existence of angels and demons, Ariel finds out her sister is the angel that the demons want to take. 
    Determined not to let anyone harm her sister, she will do anything, even try to kill the demon on her own. But can she really kill Devin when he appears so human, and what will she do when she reveals the secrets surrounding her true nature? Because, let's face it, a girl who can see both demons and angels in her visions can't really be human. 
     
    Young Adult. Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance.
    Show book
  • Middle School: Save Rafe! - cover

    Middle School: Save Rafe!

    James Patterson, Chris Tebbetts,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    James Patterson's hilarious story of perseverance and courage shows everyone's favorite troublemaker, Rafe Khatchadorian, the star of the Middle School series, learning to become a leader at long last.   After a rough summer, Rafe is heading back to the dreaded Hills Village Middle School, the site of the very worst years of his life. And as if that's not bad enough, he's learned that he's going to be held back a year unless he can prove himself on an outdoor survival excursion--complete with dangerous white-water rafting, dizzying rock climbing, and fanatical counselors. Rafe and the rest of the pack of "delinquent" trainees are forced to cooperate as they prepare for the final test: a solo excursion in the deep woods. Can Rafe come out of the experience in one piece? And if he does, he go home as the same insecure kid?
    Show book
  • Hearts at Stake - cover

    Hearts at Stake

    Alyxandra Harvey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    On Solange's sixteenth birthday, she is going to wake up dead. As if that's not bad enough, she also has to outwit her seven overprotective older brothers, avoid the politics involved with being the only daughter born to an ancient vampire dynasty, and elude Kieran Black-agent of an anti-vampire league who is searching for his father's killer and is intent on staking Solange and her entire family. 
     
     
    Luckily she has her own secret weapon-her human best friend Lucy-who is willing to defend Solange's right to a normal life, whether she's being smothered by her well-intentioned brothers or abducted by a power-hungry queen. Two unlikely alliances are formed in a race to save Solange's eternal life-Lucy and Solange's brother Nicholas, and Solange and Kieran Black-in a dual romance that is guaranteed to jump start any romance-lover's heart. 
     
     
    Even fans of the genre who've seen it all will find a fresh read with kick-butt characters and family dynamics that ring true for all brothers and sisters-vampire or otherwise. 
     
    Look out for the other books in this series: Blood Feud, Out for Blood, and Bleeding Hearts-out next year!
    Show book
  • I Am Number Four: The Lost Files: Legacies Reborn - cover

    I Am Number Four: The Lost...

    Pittacus Lore

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In this game-changing 100-page companion novella to the New York Times bestselling I Am Number Four series, the Mogadorian invasion of Earth has begun and one teenager's life will be forever changed. 
    At first, Daniela Morales thought the spaceship attacking New York City on the television was just part of some science fiction movie. Then the horrible truth became clear: it was happening in real life. Aliens do exist, and they were invading the planet.  
    Unable to reach her mother, Daniela makes it her mission to get to her mom's job downtown to find her.  But with the city under fire, trying to make it from her apartment in Harlem to the Financial District proves nearly impossible—until Daniela makes an incredible discovery. When a squad of Mogs get the jump on her, she is somehow able to throw them across the street, using telekinesis. Daniela doesn't know where this power came from or why she suddenly has it, but she is sure as hell going to use it. Aliens are tearing up her city and she'll destroy every last one of them that gets in her way. But when she comes face-to-face with the Garde, will she be a friend or a foe?
    Show book
  • Crossing the Line - The Rosewoods #10 - cover

    Crossing the Line - The...

    Katrina Abbott

    • 1
    • 21
    • 0
    The school year is winding down at The Rosewood Academy for Academic Excellence, but Brooklyn Prescott is nowhere near ready to leave her friends behind to go home for the summer. Also, there’s that unfinished business with Brady—she can’t leave for the summer with how things are between them now. But how is she supposed to get through to him when he won’t even talk to her to let her explain? Not to mention that he’s moved on and found someone else, a mystery girl that no one knows. The best Brooklyn can do is try to put it all behind her and move on. At least she knows that when she’s ready, there’s someone in the wings waiting for her, someone who makes her laugh and wants to spend time with her. He may not be Mr. Right, but as Brooklyn’s friends tell her, maybe the distraction of Mr. Right Now is just what she needs. 
    And then there’s her writing project with Celia that will hopefully help get her mind off her mess of a love life. Maybe creating a book boyfriend will help her get over the real one that got away. Can she make it through the rest of the year without getting her heart broken again? 
    Crossing the Line is the tenth and final installment of The Rosewoods, an exciting Young Adult series for readers who love fun, flirty love stories. 
    The Rosewoods Series 
    TAKING THE REINS 
    MASQUERADE 
    PLAYING THE PART 
    READING BETWEEN THE LINES 
    I’LL NEVER FORGET (Short Story) 
    THIS POINT FORWARD 
    RISKING IT ALL (Short Story) 
    MAKING RIPPLES 
    ACTING OUT 
    HITTING THE TARGET 
    TURNING THE PAGE 
    CROSSING THE LINE
    Show book