Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
How Writers Work - cover

How Writers Work

Ralph Fletcher

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 2
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Secret of Writing 
Its misleading to think of writers as special creatures, word sorcerers who possess some sort of magic knowledge hidden from everyone else. Writers are ordinary people who like to write. They feel the urge to write, and scratch that itch every chance they have. Writers get their ideas down on paper using particular strategies that seem to work for them. These strategies are available to anyone who wants to be a writer 
... Revealed! 
There is no secret. But there is a process. If you like to write, there are definite steps you can take to help you reach your goals. Good writing isn't forged by magic or hatched out of thin air. Good writing happens when human beings follow particular steps to take control o their sentences-to make their words do what they want them to do. 
This book will show you how writers work, how you can become a writer, and how you can find a process that works for you

Who read this book also read:

  • The Calling - cover

    The Calling

    Kelley Armstrong

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    Maya Delaney's paw-print birthmark is the mark of what she truly is—a skin-walker. She can run faster, climb higher, and see better than nearly everyone else. Experiencing intense connections with the animals that roam the woods outside her home, Maya knows it's only a matter of time before she's able to Shift and become one of them. And she believes there may be others in her small town with surprising talents. 
    Now Maya and her friends have been forced to flee from their homes during a forest fire they suspect was deliberately set. Then they're kidnapped, and after a chilling helicopter crash, they find themselves in the Vancouver Island wilderness with nothing but their extraordinary abilities to help them get back home. 
    In The Calling, the sizzling second book in the Darkness Rising trilogy, New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong pumps up the romance, danger, and suspense that left readers of The Gathering clamoring for more.
    Show book
  • Circle of Three #12: Written in the Stars - cover

    Circle of Three #12: Written in...

    Isobel Bird

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ever moving, ever changing, stars and planets come and go. Those who watch their movements say, "As is above, so is below." 
    Astrology—the study of the stars—is said to reveal the truths of the universe. Cooper, Kate, and Annie find this to be alarmingly true, and their progress on the Wiccan path is nearly undone by what the stars tell them.
    Show book
  • Circle of Three #11: The House of Winter - cover

    Circle of Three #11: The House...

    Isobel Bird

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Cooper, Annie, and Kate celebrate the winter solstice in true Wiccan spirit. The threesome joins practitioners of the Craft in a remote, haunted house in the wintry mountains. An unexpected blizzard strikes, and the girls cannot resist the lure of the dark house's shrouded mystery.
    Show book
  • Human - cover

    Human

    Alycia Linwood

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Ariel is a seventeen-year-old girl whose life takes a completely different turn on the day she comes late to school. There's a new, very handsome, dark-haired boy, Devin, in her class, but to Ariel's surprise everyone seems to know him, and her best friend claims he's been going with them to school for years, except Ariel is sure she has never seen him before. 
    Convinced her friends are messing with her, Ariel pretends nothing weird is going on. She even considers the possibility of having a brain disease ... until she starts having visions of unknown people with wings and unusual eyes. What's worse, her visions hint that Devin might be a demon who came to the human world to take an angel to Hell. As she becomes more and more aware of the existence of angels and demons, Ariel finds out her sister is the angel that the demons want to take. 
    Determined not to let anyone harm her sister, she will do anything, even try to kill the demon on her own. But can she really kill Devin when he appears so human, and what will she do when she reveals the secrets surrounding her true nature? Because, let's face it, a girl who can see both demons and angels in her visions can't really be human. 
     
    Young Adult. Urban Fantasy/Paranormal Romance.
    Show book
  • Love Lies & Lemon Pies - cover

    Love Lies & Lemon Pies

    Kathy Cannon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Love, Lies and Lemon Pies, the debut YA novel from Katy Cannon, is the perfect summer read for fans of Sarah Dessen and Louise Rennison. With a Bake Club recipe at the start of each chapter, this book perfectly captures the current appetite for all things baking! Sixteen-year-old Lottie is on a mission to protect her biggest secret, and it’ll take every lie and every baking trick she can muster. Since her dad died, life hasn’t been the same for Lottie. When the school suggests she joins Bake Club to get her back on track, Lottie reluctantly agrees. The alternative – the school paying her mum a home visit – is not an option. But Lottie’s uncertainty about Bake Club melts away as she rekindles her love of baking and gets caught up with Mac, school rebel and another unwilling Bake Club member. As the end-of-year Bake Off approaches, the tension rises. Can Lottie keep up the façade of her perfect life? And can her bubbling romance with Mac survive the pressure?
    Show book
  • Grimm's Fairy Tales - Illustrated by Mabel Lucie Attwell - cover

    Grimm's Fairy Tales -...

    Brothers Grimm

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This wonderful book contains 18 classic Brothers Grimm tales decorated profusely by the adored Mabel Lucie Atwell. There are many black and white line drawings and colour plates picturing her classic cherub like children and fairy creatures. Pook Press are working to republish these classic works in affordable, high quality, colour editions, using the original text and artwork so these works can delight another generation of children.
    Show book