Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
How Writers Work - cover

How Writers Work

Ralph Fletcher

Publisher: HarperCollins

  • 2
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Secret of Writing 
Its misleading to think of writers as special creatures, word sorcerers who possess some sort of magic knowledge hidden from everyone else. Writers are ordinary people who like to write. They feel the urge to write, and scratch that itch every chance they have. Writers get their ideas down on paper using particular strategies that seem to work for them. These strategies are available to anyone who wants to be a writer 
... Revealed! 
There is no secret. But there is a process. If you like to write, there are definite steps you can take to help you reach your goals. Good writing isn't forged by magic or hatched out of thin air. Good writing happens when human beings follow particular steps to take control o their sentences-to make their words do what they want them to do. 
This book will show you how writers work, how you can become a writer, and how you can find a process that works for you

Who read this book also read:

  • Survivors #1: The Empty City - cover

    Survivors #1: The Empty City

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    From the #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors comes an action-packed animal fantasy series that shows readers the world through the eyes of dogs. Survivors is full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    The Empty City begins with the Big Growl, a devastating earthquake that changes Lucky's world forever. Lucky has always been a Lone Dog, but now he needs a Pack in order to stay alive, so he teams up with a group of Leashed Dogs who have been separated from their owners. 
    Lucky's vivid point of view and the pulse-pounding action make for the start of an addictive series. The time has come for dogs to rule the wild! 
    Correlates to the Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts
    Show book
  • Where the Truth Lies - cover

    Where the Truth Lies

    Jessica Warman

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    On the surface, Emily Meckler leads the perfect life. She has three best friends, two loving parents, and the ideal setup at the Connecticut prep school where her father is the headmaster. But Emily also suffers from devastating nightmares about fire and water, and nobody knows why. Then the enigmatic Del Sugar enters her life, and Emily is immediately swept away-but her passionate relationship with Del is just the first of many things that aren't quite what they seem in Emily's life. As the lies she's been told start to unravel, Emily must set out to discover the truth regarding her nightmare; on a journey that will lead her to question everything she thought she knew about love, family, and her own idyllic past. 
     
    This companion novel to Warman's critically acclaimed Breathless proves that sometimes the biggest lies are told to the people you love the most.
    Show book
  • Magical Stories for English Language Learners - A Hippo Graded Reader - cover

    Magical Stories for English...

    Cooper Baltis

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Welcome to a magical world of dark wizards, angry giants, wicked witches and scary spells.In these fantastic stories, you will meet Maxim the Giant, who builds a wall around his garden to keep the children out, but learns a valuable lesson in the process; and Bart the Nightingale, who helps his human friend, Lance, to find a present for the girl he loves. You will also read about a Magic Bed that gets grumpy if you don't jump on it; a Money Tree that has a dark secret; and a dark wizard who tries to use spells to win the heart of the beautiful Seraphina... but first he has to stop his hair from burning and avoid the giant bullfrog! If that isn't enough to satisfy your taste for magic, the tale of the Hospitable Witch will definitely leave you feeling anything but hungry! Why? There's only one way to find out...Magical Stories for English Language Learners is published by Hippo Books, a publisher dedicated to producing interesting, readable and fun books. This book is suitable for English students with intermediate English or higher. Be sure to check out our other Hippo Graded Readers.About the Author:Cooper Baltis is one of the writers and founders of Hippo Books. He is a former Fulbright English Teaching Assistant at the National University of Mongolia and is TESOL certified. He has taught English in Asia for five years and has published stories in several literary magazines in America. His Hippo books include Hassan and Lulu and My Brother the Giant, as well as many short story collections. 
    Show book
  • Dog Poems For Kids: Rhyming Books For Children - Dog & Unicorn Jerks - 2 in 1 Compilation Of Volume 1 & 3 - cover

    Dog Poems For Kids: Rhyming...

    Timmie Guzzmann

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    LIMITED-TIME SPECIAL: Special Bonus Inside! That's right...For a limited time you can download a FREE audiobook version of Timmie Guzzmann's Dog Jerk & Unicorn Jerk Joke Book with your purchase. You and your kids will laugh out loud at funny sound effects of these Jerk Unicorn Jokes, Jerk Dog Jokes and these funny Dog Pee Jerk Jokes. That's twice the fun! Dog and Unicorn lovers will laugh out loud at the jerkiness of their rainbow color striped and furry friends with these curious & humorous unicorn and dog poems and rhymes. In this hilarious Funny Poem Book For Kids compilation of tongue-twisting and rhyming poetry, Timmie watches dogs and unicorns while they think nobody watches them and unlocks the poet in him. Powered by his creative potential Timmie Guzzmann, the author of "Dogs Are Just Really Big Jerks!" and "Unicorns Are Just Really Big Jerks!"explains the jerky and weird behavior and ignorance of dogs and unicorns. The poem collection in the book perfectly captures the inner workings of the jerk unicorn and dog psyche. The book includes funny, hilarious and whimsical illustrations that reveal one horned horses and doggys at their jerkiest moments. Let yourself be wowed and dive into a totally new genre of dog and unicorn jerkiness because you won't believe how these jerks are acting when they think nobody is watching them... Inside this hilarious rhyming books for children you'll find jerky dog poems for kids and jerky unicorn moments like: * Rainbow Fairy Dust & Magical Ray Of Gooey Rainbow Dust * Unicorns & Clogged Toilets * Unicorn Dreads & Rainbow Spreads * Trees Are Like Guardian Angels * Rainbow Fairy Fluff * Turkey Dinner Turns Out Jerkier Than You Might Think * Jerky Treats Better Than Celery Sticks * The Perky Bullfrog Trick * Pee Wee Herman Philosophy * Soggy Doggy * The Flirt-Schooled Lord Of Misrule and lots more... Download this Just Really Big Jerk book now...
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 19
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
    Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.
    Show book
  • Shift the Darkness - cover

    Shift the Darkness

    Selina Rose Fugate

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Deep in the mountains of Perry County, Kentucky, a troubled young woman enters a new life of magic and danger.
     
    Wren is fresh out of high school, and her life is a mess. Her mother is dying, her aunt couldn’t be more overbearing, and her moods are wildly unpredictable. On a mission to self-destruct, she’s driving her aunt crazy with drinking and broken curfews.
     
    But Wren isn’t just acting out—something inside her is changing. After being attacked by a red-eyed man and being rescued by a beast that transforms into a gorgeous boy before her eyes, Wren discovers that she’s a shifter, able to take the form of any animal she makes contact with.
     
    Complicating matters, Wren finds out she is a special kind of shifter—a tracker—and a powerful vampire needs her help to find the rogues of his clan who are planning to destroy the town, and everyone in it. In return for her help, she’s promised the one thing she wants the most—her mother to be cured.
     
    Wren will have to choose between the safety of a familiar embrace and the fiery touch of the boy who makes her question everything she thought she knew. In order to survive the trials ahead, she’ll have to open her heart, and find the strength of the woman she’s destined to become.
    Show book