Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Good the Bad and the Unknown - Deep Dark and Captivating Crime Stories from India - cover

The Good the Bad and the Unknown - Deep Dark and Captivating Crime Stories from India

Raj Tilak Roushan

Publisher: Bloomsbury India

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

While the clock is ticking fast and the city is in a state of shock, how long will it take for Rishi to trace a little girl? 
 Will Rishi be able to give justice to a heartbroken Amol who has lost his married daughter under mysterious circumstances?  
Where and for what her whole family has vanished from their house one fine night while Radha was away? 
The truth can often be strange and shocking. Not everyone has the heart to handle it. 
A collection of short stories, The Good, the Bad and the Unknown takes the reader into the minds of criminals and police officers. Gripping and unputdownable in its storytelling, the collection depicts not only the seedy underbelly of our society but also tries to show what motives people around us and people like us have to take up a life of crime. All the characters in the stories-be it the grandmother who finds a dead body in her house or the farmer whose crops are burnt down or even a petty thief-have layers to their personalities, where truth and fiction can barely be discerned. Each story portrays various shades of human behaviour-guilt, rage, love, greed, vengeance and fear-and offers many versions of the truth; the protagonist(s) and even the readers have to rely on their wits to make sense of this twisted world around them.  
  
The Good, the Bad and the Unknown has a universal appeal to it as it reflects the unravelling of the deepest and darkest human emotions through the most unlikely of characters.

Other books that might interest you

  • Summary and Analysis of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil: A Savannah Story - Based on the Book by John Berendt - cover

    Summary and Analysis of Midnight...

    Worth Books

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    So much to read, so little time? This brief overview of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil tells you what you need to know—before or after you read John Berendt’s book. Crafted and edited with care, Worth Books set the standard for quality and give you the tools you need to be a well-informed reader.   This short summary and analysis of Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil: A Savannah Story includes:  Historical contextChapter-by-chapter overviewsProfiles of the main charactersWhat’s what in SavannahImportant quotesFascinating triviaGlossary of termsSupporting material to enhance your understanding of the original work  About Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil: A Savannah Story by John Berendt:   John Berendt’s engrossing bestseller Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil tells the story of his time spent in Savannah, Georgia. Berendt didn’t just observe the city’s lovely locales and its quirky characters—he also became immersed in a murder case that would shock and fascinate much of Georgia.    Part true crime saga, part travel diary, part reportage, Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil is a suspenseful, sharply observed account of Berendt’s sojourns in Savannah and the murder trial of one if its socialites.   The summary and analysis in this ebook are intended to complement your reading experience and bring you closer to a great work of nonfiction.  
    Show book
  • Napkin Notes - Make Lunch Meaningful Life Will Follow - cover

    Napkin Notes - Make Lunch...

    W. Garth Callaghan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Garth Callaghan doesn’t know how long he has to live. But he can be certain of one simple thing: No matter his fate, his daughter, Emma, will find a handwritten note inside her lunchbox each day until she graduates from high school. 
    Cancer has given Garth Callaghan a new purpose: to inspire parents to connect more with their children even in small ways, as he has done before and since his diagnosis by tucking a napkin note into his daughter’s lunch every day. 
    Every morning as he packs Emma’s lunch, Garth adds a little surprise: a “napkin note”—a short, tender message to convey his love, encouragement, and pride. Garth began writing his napkin notes when Emma was in grade school, and as she grew up, his notes became more meaningful. 
    Shortly after Emma turned twelve, Garth learned he had kidney cancer. Determined to make the time he has left meaningful, he has compiled years’ worth of notes to get his daughter through her high school graduation. Now, in this moving book, a blend of inspiration and memoir, he makes his remarkable legacy available to all of us, to deepen our relationships with our own children and those we love. 
    Garth introduces each chapter with a napkin note and then shares a story connected to it and to his life. In the vein of The Last Lecture, Tuesdays with Morrie, and Until I Say Good-bye, Napkin Notes is an inspiring tale of family, love, and wisdom. Beautifully written, tender, and wise, it is sure to warm the hearts and touch the souls of listeners everywhere.
    Show book
  • Places I Stopped on the Way Home - A Memoir of Chaos and Grace - cover

    Places I Stopped on the Way Home...

    Meg Fee

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sometimes I think of how I will describe New York to my children. I will tell them that the city was in so many ways, and for such a long time, the best and worst thing about my life. That it was a sort of perpetual question in pursuit of an answer. And that in attempting to answer it, I turned and faced myself.In Places I Stopped on the Way Home, Meg Fee plots a decade of her life in New York City — from falling in love at the Lincoln Center to escaping the roommate (and bedbugs) from hell on Thompson Street, from chasing false promises on 66th Street and the wrong men everywhere to finding true friendships over glasses of wine in Harlem and Greenwich Village.Weaving together her joys and sorrows, expectations and uncertainties, aspirations and realities, the result is an exhilarating collection of essays about love and friendship, failure and suffering, and above all hope. Join Meg on her heart-wrenching journey, as she cuts the difficult path to finding herself and finding home.
    Show book
  • Casting Off - How a City Girl Found Happiness on the High Seas - cover

    Casting Off - How a City Girl...

    Emma Bamford

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As a journalist for the Independent, Emma Bamford is swept along with the London rat race, lost amongst the egos of Fleet Street. Surrounded by budget cuts and bullies, the thrill of a breaking news story is no longer enough. And at 31, still struggling to get to a fourth date and surrounded by friends settling down to married life and babies, Emma decides to grasp her life by the roots and reclaim her freedom...by running away to sea and joining a complete stranger (and his cat) on a yacht in Borneo. 
     
    Reflective yet humorous and self-deprecating, we share Emma's excitement and fear at leaving a good job for an unknown adventure, and join her as she travels to some of the most exotic places in the world and starts to realise what really matters in life. She discovers the supreme awkwardness of sharing a tiny space with total strangers, the unimaginable beauty of paradise islands and secret jungle rivers, glimpses lost tribes, works all hours for demanding superyacht owners, and has a terrifyingly near miss with pirates. Fending off romantic propositions from a Moldovan pig farmer and a Sri Lanken village chief amongst others, Emma finds adventure and happiness in the most unlikely places. 
     
    From planning each day meticulously to learning to let go and leave things to chance, Emma's story shows that it is possible to break free and find happiness – and love – on your own terms.
    Show book
  • The Magic of Terry Pratchett - cover

    The Magic of Terry Pratchett

    Marc Burrows

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An in-depth look into the life and writings of the bestselling author of the Discworld novels, Good Omens, and Nation. 
     
    The Magic of Terry Pratchett is the first full biography of Sir Terry Pratchett ever written. Sir Terry was Britain’s bestselling living author*, and before his death in 2015 had sold more than 85 million copies of his books worldwide. Best known for the Discworld series, his work has been translated into thirty-seven languages, and performed as plays on every continent in the world, including Antarctica. 
     
    Journalist, comedian and Pratchett fan Marc Burrows delves into the back story of one of UK’s most enduring and beloved authors, from his childhood in the Chiltern Hills, to his time as a journalist, and the journey that would take him—via more than sixty best-selling books—to an OBE, a knighthood and national treasure status. 
     
    The Magic Of Terry Pratchett is the result of painstaking archival research alongside interviews with friends and contemporaries who knew the real man under the famous black hat, helping to piece together the full story of one of British literature’s most remarkable and beloved figures for the very first time. 
     
    * Now disqualified on both counts. 
     
    Praise for The Magic of Terry Pratchett 
     
    "In this encompassing biography of the prolific fantasy and science-fiction author, writer and comedian Burrows details both the writing accomplishments and the personal life of Sir Terry Pratchett. . . . Burrows spoke to friends and family, and this biography has moments of sadness, especially when discussing Pratchett’s fight with Alzheimer’s. But the book is also funny and conversational in tone, and an excellent tribute to a beloved author.” —Booklist 
     
    “Affable and consistently engaging . . . Burrow’s buoyant, pun-peppered, and aptly footnote-flecked style . . . helpfully marries his subject matter, propelling us through decade after decade of a heavily writing-centric life while illuminating Pratchett’s complexities and contradictions without any drag in the tempo.” —Locus Magazine 
     
    “An impressively comprehensive, engagingly written biography. ****”—SFX
    Show book
  • 101 Amazing Facts about the Tudors - cover

    101 Amazing Facts about the Tudors

    Jack Goldstein

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do you know the main difference between the diet of a Tudor nobleman and that of a peasant? What was it that changed Henry VIII from an active and pleasant young man into a vastly overweight tyrant? What did a gong farmer do? And what was the purpose of a whipping boy?
    
    In this excellent audio-book, narrator Jason Zenobia answers all these questions and more as he talks us through over 100 amazing facts about the Tudors. If you're interested in one of the most fascinating periods in English history, this is perfect for you!
    
    ©2017 Jack Goldstein Books (P)2017 Jack Goldstein Books
    Show book