Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Girl of Fire and Thorns - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 500,000 other books you can enjoy!

The Girl of Fire and Thorns

Rae Carson

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

  • 2
  • 14
  • 0

Summary

“Rae Carson has proved she’s a master and has shaken up the YA genre.”—USAToday.com 
The first book in Rae Carson’s award-winning and New York Times–bestselling trilogy! The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a sweeping journey full of adventure, sorcery, heartbreak, and power. Fans of George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones and Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse will devour this fantasy series. 
Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.  
Elisa is the chosen one. But she has always felt powerless, useless. Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs her to be the chosen one, not a failure of a princess. 
And he's not the only one who seeks her. Fierce enemies, seething with dark magic, are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people's savior. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake. 
Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn't die young. Most of the chosen do. 
William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist 
YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten Pick 
Andre Norton Award Finalist 
A Texas Tayshas Selection 
Ohioana Book Award YA winner 
Don’t miss The Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson’s action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns! 
 
Available since: 09/19/2012.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Baker's Dozen - cover

    A Baker's Dozen

    Unknown Unknown

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    American folklore binds traditions of Native Americans and Europeans who arrived in the 16th century. It includes founding myths of America that feature Christopher Columbus and Pilgrims, leaders of the American Revolution, but the fundamental of the American folklore are its tall tales with the famous John Henry and Paul Bunyan. This is a story of a baker who refused once to give a customer a free cookie. After that woe and misfortune fell upon him, his business started to run badly and he was almost out of funds to support his family. As he sought an advice of Saint Nicholas – the patron of merchants and sailors – the latter revealed to him a simple but vital wisdom which everyone should stick to. This story is a wonderful and edifying parable for children and a wonderful reminder for adults.
    Show book
  • Where People Live - cover

    Where People Live

    Richard Northcott

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Dolphin Readers are interactive graded readers specially designed to make developing language skills fun for younger learners. Cross-curricular content stimulates students' interest and maintains their attention, while carefully graded English introduces them to new language points in an entertaining context. Integrated activities encourage students to practice newly acquired language skills.An Oxford Press Audio production.
    Show book
  • Freedom Soup - cover

    Freedom Soup

    Tami Charles

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The shake-shake of maracas vibrates down to my toes. Ti Gran’s feet tap-tap to the rhythm. Every year, Haitians all over the world ring in the new year by eating a special soup, a tradition dating back to the Haitian Revolution. This year, Ti Gran is teaching Belle how to make the soup — Freedom Soup — just like she was taught when she was a little girl. Together, they dance and clap as they prepare the holiday feast, and Ti Gran tells Belle about the history of the soup, the history of Belle’s family, and the history of Haiti, where Belle’s family is from.In this celebration of cultural traditions passed from one generation to the next, Belle's story and the story of the Haitian Revolution are brought to life. Tami Charles’ lyrical text, as accessible as it is sensory, makes for a tale that everyone will enjoy to the last drop.
    Show book
  • From the Tops of the Trees - cover

    From the Tops of the Trees

    Kao Kalia Yang

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Father, is all of the world a refugee camp?" 
    Young Kalia has never known life beyond the fences of the Ban Vinai Refugee Camp. The Thai camp holds many thousands of Hmong families who fled in the aftermath of the little-known Secret War in Laos that was waged during America's Vietnam War. For Kalia and her cousins, life isn't always easy, but they still find ways to play, racing with chickens and riding a beloved pet dog. 
    Just four years old, Kalia is still figuring out her place in the world. When she asks what is beyond the fence, at first her father has no answers for her. But on the following day, he leads her to the tallest tree in the camp and, secure in her father's arms, Kalia sees the spread of a world beyond. 
    Kao Kalia Yang's sensitive prose and Rachel Wada's evocative illustrations bring to life this tender true story of the love between a father and a daughter.
    Show book
  • The Not-So-Uniform Life of Holly-Mei - cover

    The Not-So-Uniform Life of...

    Christina Matula

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "I can't wait for readers to explore Hong Kong with Holly-Mei. I have no doubt they will love both as much as I did." —Erin Entrada Kelly, 2018 Newbery Medalist and 2021 Newbery HonoreePacked with humor and heart, this debut middle grade series follows a girl finding her place in a brand-new world of private school and frenemies when her family moves to Hong Kong. Holly-Mei Jones couldn’t be more excited about moving to Hong Kong for her mother’s job. Her new school is right on the beach and her family’s apartment is beyond beautiful. Everything is going to be perfect . . . right?Maybe not. It feels like everywhere she turns, there are new rules to follow and expectations to meet. On top of that, the most popular girl in her grade is quickly becoming a frenemy. And without the guidance of her loving Ah-ma, who stayed behind in Toronto, Holly-Mei just can’t seem to get it right.It will take all of Holly-Mei’s determination and sparkle (and maybe even a tiny bit of stubbornness) to get through seventh grade and turn her life in Hong Kong into the ultimate adventure!Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.
    Show book
  • Precious Baby Vol 1 - cover

    Precious Baby Vol 1

    Kim Mitzo Thompson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    60 minutes of very soft, soothing, comforting instrumental lullabies.
    Show book