You wouldn't limit the air you breathe. Why limit your readings?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Girl of Fire and Thorns - cover

The Girl of Fire and Thorns

Rae Carson

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

  • 2
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

“Rae Carson has proved she’s a master and has shaken up the YA genre.”—USAToday.com 
The first book in Rae Carson’s award-winning and New York Times–bestselling trilogy! The Girl of Fire and Thorns is a sweeping journey full of adventure, sorcery, heartbreak, and power. Fans of George R. R. Martin’s Game of Thrones and Leigh Bardugo’s Grishaverse will devour this fantasy series. 
Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.  
Elisa is the chosen one. But she has always felt powerless, useless. Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs her to be the chosen one, not a failure of a princess. 
And he's not the only one who seeks her. Fierce enemies, seething with dark magic, are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people's savior. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake. 
Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn't die young. Most of the chosen do. 
William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist 
YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten Pick 
Andre Norton Award Finalist 
A Texas Tayshas Selection 
Ohioana Book Award YA winner 
Don’t miss Empire of Dreams, Rae Carson’s action-packed return to the world of The Girl of Fire and Thorns, coming in 2020! 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors #4: Rising Storm - cover

    Warriors #4: Rising Storm

    Erin Hunter

    • 5
    • 95
    • 0
    The fourth book in Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    Join the legion of fans who have made Erin Hunter’s Warriors series a bestselling phenomenon. More thrilling adventures, epic action, and fierce warrior cats await in Warriors #4: Rising Storm. 
    Fireheart’s traitorous enemy Tigerclaw has been vanquished and exiled from ThunderClan—but Fireheart can’t shake the feeling that he is lurking in the forest, waiting for a chance to strike. 
    In the heat of a blazing summer, Fireheart struggles to handle sinister omens, an apprentice with a shocking secret, and a devastated Clan leader who is a shell of her former self. And as the forest gets hotter and hotter, every cat braces for the coming storm….
    Show book
  • The Complete Big Nate: #12 - cover

    The Complete Big Nate: #12

    Lincoln Peirce

    • 2
    • 22
    • 0
    The Complete Big Nate collects every daily and Sunday cartoon ever syndicated. Presented in a numbered series of e-books, each containing one year's worth of strips, this is a goldmine for all Big Nate fans to see many cartoons that have never been published in books. Aspiring cartoonist Nate Wright is the star of Big Nate. As a popular middle-grade book character, Nate is 11 years old, four-and-a-half feet tall, and the all-time record holder for detentions in school history. He's a self-described genius and sixth grade Renaissance Man. Nate, who lives with his dad and older sister, has a habit of annoying his family, friends, and teachers with his sarcasm.
    Show book
  • Polly Diamond and the Super Stunning Spectacular School Fair - Book 2 - cover

    Polly Diamond and the Super...

    Alice Kuipers

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Polly and her magic book, Spell, have all kinds of adventures together because whatever Polly writes in Spell comes true! But when Polly and Spell join forces to make the school fair super spectacular, they quickly discover that what you write and what you mean are not always the same. Filled with the familiar details of home and school, but with a sprinkling of magic, this book is just right for fans of Ivy + Bean, Judy Moody, and Dory Fantasmagory, as well for aspiring writers, who, just like Polly, know the magic of stories.
    Show book
  • A Girl a Raccoon and the Midnight Moon - cover

    A Girl a Raccoon and the...

    Karen Romano Young

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In a slightly fantastical New York City, one very special library branch has been designated for possible closure. Bookish, socially awkward Pearl, the daughter of the librarian, can't imagine a world without the library—its books, its community of oddballs, its hominess. When the head of their Edna St. Vincent Millay statue goes missing, closure is closer than ever. But Pearl is determined to save the library. And with a ragtag neighborhood library crew—including a constantly tap-dancing girl who might just be her first friend, an older boy she has a crush on, and a pack of raccoons who can read and write—she just might be able to. With an eclectic cast of richly drawn characters, a hint of just-around-the-corner magic, footnotes, sidebars, and Jessixa Bagley's classic illustrations throughout, this warm-hearted, visually magnificent tale of reading and believing from beloved author Karen Romano Young tells of a world where what you want to believe can come true.
    Show book
  • The Complete Big Nate: #2 - cover

    The Complete Big Nate: #2

    Lincoln Peirce

    • 3
    • 48
    • 0
    The Complete Big Nate collects every daily and Sunday cartoon ever syndicated. Presented in a numbered series of e-books, each containing one year's worth of strips, this is a goldmine for all Big Nate fans to see many cartoons that have never been published in books. Aspiring cartoonist Nate Wright is the star of Big Nate. As a popular middle-grade book character, Nate is 11 years old, four-and-a-half feet tall, and the all-time record holder for detentions in school history. He's a self-described genius and sixth grade Renaissance Man. Nate, who lives with his dad and older sister, has a habit of annoying his family, friends, and teachers with his sarcasm.
    Show book
  • Challenger Deep - cover

    Challenger Deep

    Neal Shusterman

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    National Book Award and Golden Kite Award Winner 
    A captivating novel about mental illness that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman. 
    Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of the Marianas Trench. 
    Caden Bosch is a brilliant high school student whose friends are starting to notice his odd behavior. 
    Caden Bosch is designated the ship's artist in residence to document the journey with images. 
    Caden Bosch pretends to join the school track team but spends his days walking for miles, absorbed by the thoughts in his head. 
    Caden Bosch is split between his allegiance to the captain and the allure of mutiny. 
    Caden Bosch is torn. 
    Challenger Deep is a deeply powerful and personal novel from one of today's most admired writers for teens. Laurie Halse Anderson, award-winning author of Speak, calls Challenger Deep "a brilliant journey across the dark sea of the mind; frightening, sensitive, and powerful. Simply extraordinary."
    Show book