Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Satan's Lullaby - cover

Satan's Lullaby

Priscilla Royal

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

It is the autumn of 1278. The harvest is in. The air is crisp. Dusty summer breathes a last sigh before the dark seasons arrive. 

For Prioress Eleanor, dark times arrive early in Norfolk. The head of her order, Abbess Isabeau, has sent Father Etienne Davoir from its headquarters in France to inspect all aspects of Tyndal Priory from its morals to its roofs. Surely the Abbess would not have chosen her own brother for this rare and thorough investigation unless the cause was serious and she had reason to fear intervention from Rome. Prioress Eleanor knows something is terribly amiss.

The situation turns calamitous when Davoir’s sick clerk dies from a potion sent by Sister Anne, Tyndale’s sub-infirmarian. Is Sister Anne guilty of simple incompetence—or murder? Or, Davoir asks, did Prioress Eleanor order the death to frighten him away before he discovered the truth behind accusations she is unfit for her position? When Davoir himself is threatened, the priest roars for justice. Even expectant father Crowner Ralf, the local representative of the king’s justice, has lost all objectivity. The most likely suspects are Anne, the woman Ralf once loved, the prioress he respects, and the Tyndal monk, Thomas, who is his closest friend. Who among the French and English assembled at Tyndal has succumbed to Satan's lullaby?

Other books that might interest you

  • Pearls of Deception - cover

    Pearls of Deception

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Short stories are either a hit or miss for me, and Carolyn Arnold hits this short story right out of the park… Pearls of Deception evokes all the thriller senses for a great short read. It’s well written with crisp, believable dialogue and a wonderful twist ending. I’m off to read another one of Arnold’s thrillers.” 
    –Jennifer Chase, International bestselling author 
    ’Til murder do us part… 
    Christina thought her twelve-year marriage to Bob was perfect. That is, until she finds out her husband has a mistress. Crushed, she finds a solution to remedy her broken heart—and get her revenge—but not everything goes according to plan…
    Show book
  • Shot in Southwold - cover

    Shot in Southwold

    Suzette A. Hill

    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    1960. Lady Fawcett is eager to vet her daughter Amy’s current beau, aspiring film director Bartholomew Hackle, who is shooting his first major movie in the charming Suffolk town of Southwold. As Amy is unable to accompany her mother, Rosy Gilchrist is strong-armed into tagging along. 
    On the set of The Languid Labyrinth nobody really knows what is going on – least of all Felix Smythe whose bit part is constantly changing, much to his chagrin. But the unambiguous death by gunshot of a female cast member injects some drama into proceedings – something sorely lacking in the film itself. Lady Fawcett, Rosy and Felix are at the centre of a murder mystery in which further victims may face the cut. 
    ‘CHARMING, ASTRINGENT AND WITTY’ The Guardian
    Show book
  • The Diehard - Detective Sergeant Mulheisen Mysteries - cover

    The Diehard - Detective Sergeant...

    Jon A. Jackson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The debut of Jon A. Jackson’s acclaimed “Fang” Mulheisen mystery series, The Diehard instantly established him as a master of the form. It begins in Indian Village, an exclusive enclave in Mulheisen’s crumbling Detroit precinct, where a gorgeous young heiress is shot and stabbed during a break-in and expires on a neighbor’s doorstep. It appears at first a simple robbery attempt. Mulheisen gets suspicious when her husband turns out to be the only executive of Fidelity Trust Insurance to escape blame for an embezzlement scandal worth some twenty million dollars. But what is the connection, where is the money, and who is the suntanned stranger who is tracking down the same leads, one step ahead of Mulheisen?
    Show book
  • Hardcastle's Obsession - cover

    Hardcastle's Obsession

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The new mystery featuring Detective Inspector Hardcastle in this popular First World War series   - September 1916. A Zeppelin with a deadly payload is aimed at Victoria station, but when the bombs miss their mark and instead destroy a nearby house in Washbourne Street, mystery ensues for DI Hardcastle. The body of a woman is discovered, who was not only unknown to the tenants of the building but also appears to have died before the bombs were even dropped…
    Show book
  • Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9 Search and Rescue Mysteries #2 - cover

    Inside the Echo - The Flint K-9...

    Jen Blood

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    K-9 handler Jamie Flint and her team – both human and canine – search for a group that’s mysteriously vanished during a dog sledding expedition for battered women in Maine’s Mahoosuc Mountains. When the authorities learn that a rogue gunman was at the heart of the disappearance, the question turns to which abusive partner is behind the violence. Jamie Flint, herself a survivor of domestic abuse, is haunted by memories of her own experiences as she and her dog, Phantom, fight to find the missing women before the shooter does.
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book