Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
Satan's Lullaby - cover

Satan's Lullaby

Priscilla Royal

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

It is the autumn of 1278. The harvest is in. The air is crisp. Dusty summer breathes a last sigh before the dark seasons arrive. 

For Prioress Eleanor, dark times arrive early in Norfolk. The head of her order, Abbess Isabeau, has sent Father Etienne Davoir from its headquarters in France to inspect all aspects of Tyndal Priory from its morals to its roofs. Surely the Abbess would not have chosen her own brother for this rare and thorough investigation unless the cause was serious and she had reason to fear intervention from Rome. Prioress Eleanor knows something is terribly amiss.

The situation turns calamitous when Davoir’s sick clerk dies from a potion sent by Sister Anne, Tyndale’s sub-infirmarian. Is Sister Anne guilty of simple incompetence—or murder? Or, Davoir asks, did Prioress Eleanor order the death to frighten him away before he discovered the truth behind accusations she is unfit for her position? When Davoir himself is threatened, the priest roars for justice. Even expectant father Crowner Ralf, the local representative of the king’s justice, has lost all objectivity. The most likely suspects are Anne, the woman Ralf once loved, the prioress he respects, and the Tyndal monk, Thomas, who is his closest friend. Who among the French and English assembled at Tyndal has succumbed to Satan's lullaby?

Other books that might interest you

  • Snake Skin - cover

    Snake Skin

    CJ Lyons

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons:
    
    An average Pittsburgh soccer mom, baking brownies and carrying a loaded forty-caliber Glock...
     
    From New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons comes an irresistible read that's "everything a great thriller should be—action packed, authentic, and intense" (Lee Child). With over 500 five-star reviews!
     
    A loving mom and wife, dutiful daughter, consummate professional, and kick-ass federal agent, Lucy is living the perfect life as a Supervisory Special Agent running the FBI's Sexual Assault Felony Enforcement squad.
     
    Until the day she comes up against a predator more vicious and cunning than any she's ever tackled before, one who forces Lucy to choose between the life of the young victim she is fighting to save and her own daughter's....and Lucy's dream life is shattered.
    Show book
  • All Fun and Games Until Somebody Loses an Eye - cover

    All Fun and Games Until Somebody...

    Christopher Brookmyre

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Brookmyre's Parlabane novels have sold more than one million copies in the UK, where he is a perennial bestseller. He is an important and well-loved figure in Scottish crime writing, along with the likes of Denise Mina and Val McDermid.
    
    We are working hard to build Brookmyre's American audience and as part of that effort have signed up two titles from his backlist that are favorites among his international audience and which we will publish for the first time in the US: All Fun and Games Until Somebody Loses an Eye and The Sacred Art of Stealing.
    
    These earlier novels hew closer to the Carl Hiaasen-style blend of dark humor, oddball characters, and ingenious plotting for which Brookmyre originally became known. All Fun and Games Until Somebody Loses an Eye won the 2006 Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize, the UK’s only literary award for comic literature (other winners include Alexander McCall Smith, Edward St. Aubyn, Howard Jacobson, Will Self, and Gary Shteyngart). 
    
    Brookmyre’s most recent frontlist title, The Last Hack (2017), received incredible review coverage, including raves from Maureen Corrigan in the Washington Post and Daneet Steffens in the Boston Globe. The book was mentioned by both Carl Hiaasen and Diana Gabaldon in the Washington Post round-up "What your favorite writers are reading this summer" and by Val McDermid in the Observer's round-up of "best holiday reads 2017." It was also longlisted for the 2017 McIlvanney Prize for Scottish crime book of the year and received blurbs from Lorenzo Carcaterra, John Gilstrap, Diana Gabaldon, Chris Pavone, Joe Ide, and Thomas Perry. 
    
    Though incremental, we've seen a nice upward sales trend for Brookmyre's recent books. 2016's Black Widow netted almost double the number 2015's Dead Girl Walking did in cloth, and we have shipped almost 30% more copies of The Last Hack than we did for Black Widow. 
    
    Brookmyre has devoted fans among readers and critics here in the US, including Charles McGrath at the New York Times.
    Show book
  • Devil Smoke - A Beacon Falls Mystery - cover

    Devil Smoke - A Beacon Falls...

    CJ Lyons

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons. For fans of Lisa Gardner, Tami Hoag, and Jeffery Deaver:
     
    "Everything a great thriller should be—action packed, authentic, and intense." ~#1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child
     
    After leaving the FBI, Lucy Guardino still feels like the new kid on the block with her team at Beacon Falls. But then a new case involving a young woman with amnesia searching for her lost memories shines a spotlight on a past case involving one of Lucy's team members.
     
    Dr. Tommy Worth left his job as a pediatrician ER physician to join the Beacon Group after his wife went missing, leaving him to raise their five-year-old daughter alone. Now the press is hounding him on the anniversary of his wife’s disappearance. Distracting himself with the newest case at Beacon Falls fails miserably after the woman he is trying to help becomes the target of an anonymous stalker. 
     
    Because, when you can’t even remember who you are, how do you know who to trust? Or who to run from?
    Show book
  • Gladiator - cover

    Gladiator

    E. L. Todd

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Good guy or bad guy? 
      
    I’m not sure which category Wilder falls under. 
      
    We met at a bar and things heated up pretty quickly. But my instinct told me to hit the brakes. I’ve been down this road before. 
      
    I’ve dated this kind of bad guy before. 
      
    Is Wilder different? Or is he far darker, far more mysterious, and far more criminal than I ever could have imagined.
    Show book
  • The Sicilian Woman's Daughter - Four generations of mafia women - cover

    The Sicilian Woman's Daughter -...

    Linda Lo Scuro

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Most victims of the mafia are the Sicilians themselves. The role of women both as perpetrators and victims has been grossly overlooked. Until now.   
    As the daughter of Sicilian immigrants, in her teens Maria turns her back on her origins and fully embraces the English way of life. Notwithstanding her troubled and humble childhood in London, and backed up by her intelligence, beauty and sheer determination, she triumphantly works her way up to join the upper middle-class of British society. There she becomes a bastion of civility.   
    But a minor incident wakes up feelings of revenge in her like those lurking in Maria's Sicilian origins. As she delves deeper into her mother's family history a murky past unravels, drawing Maria more and more into a mire of vendetta.
    
     
    
    
     
    Reviews
     
    “The charm of reading
    this book is that: always, and I mean always, the reader is satisfied
    with the result.” - Manuela Iordache
    
     
    
    “Wow – this is a great story!” - Phil Rowan
    
     
    "An
    enthralling read on many levels.” - Book
    Trail
    
     
    “It’s a must-read for
    mystery lovers.” - Carolyn
    Bowen
    
     
    “A cracking good
    read” - Ann Gough
    
     
    “This
    is an addictive read from page one to last and thoroughly
    enjoyable!” - Janet Cousineau
    
     
    “Insightful,
    well written and I found the pace just right” - Dawn
    D’auvin 
    
     
    “Certainly exciting and
    riveting reading.” - Emma B Books
    
     
    “I enjoyed it very much!”
    - Mary Weimer
    
     
    “I
    really enjoyed the book.” - Pamela
    Lewis
    
     
    **
    
     
    About the Author 
    
     
    Linda Lo Scuro lives in London. This is her first novel.
    Show book
  • Strain of Resistance - The Bixby Series #1 - cover

    Strain of Resistance - The Bixby...

    Michelle Bryan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I was 12 years old when the world ended. For eight years I've survived in this craphole once known as earth. Fighting the alien parasite that mutated most of the population into blood-thirsty freaks, while the rest of us became the lunch special on their alien menu. 
     
    Now things are changing and not for the better. The parasite is evolving. Becoming smarter, stronger, and deadlier. 
     
    They've already stolen everything from me. My home. My family. Even the man I loved. It's time for this to end once and for all. 
    My name is Bixby, and I'm the resistance. 
     
    Mature themes. 17+ Rating
    Show book