Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Bridge of Sighs - cover

Bridge of Sighs

Priscilla Masters

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

Two violent suicides leave Coroner Martha Gunn with some disturbing questions to answer – but the most difficult one of all lies closer to home . . . Gina Marconi was a beautiful young barrister with everything to live for – a loving fiancé, a young son and a successful career. So why did she leave her home in the middle of the night and drive her car into a stone wall? Soon afterwards, Patrick Elson, a clever twelve-year-old schoolboy, jumps off a bridge on to the A5. The victims are unrelated, but neither suicide makes sense. Could there be a connection? Then there’s a third unexplained death: DI Alex Randall’s wife, Erica. With Alex on gardening leave pending an investigation, Martha must search for answers to the questions raised by the suicides on her own. Not only that, she must confront the most difficult question of all: could Alex Randall be a murderer?

Other books that might interest you

  • Flights and Falls - A BC Blues Crime Novel - cover

    Flights and Falls - A BC Blues...

    R.M. Greenaway

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Book four of the B.C. Blues crime series starring sleuths Dion and Leith solving murders and twisted cases in the Pacific Northwest.
    An apparent traffic accident turns into a homicidal game, and a crime in Dion's past may be wrapped up in the plot
    Booklist "A series to watch," Kirkus "Greenaway brings a keen understanding of love, loyalty, frailty, and greed," Toronto Star "More good things ahead."
    Show book
  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • Blood Stained - cover

    Blood Stained

    CJ Lyons

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons:
    Lucy Guardino, your average Pittsburgh soccer mom, baking brownies and carrying a loaded forty-caliber Glock, is back!
     
    From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons, Book #2 in the critically acclaimed, international bestselling Lucy Guardino FBI Thriller series.
     
    Once a shining star in the FBI’s roster, Lucy finds herself sidelined, chained to a desk, until a mysterious letter forces her to return to the crime scene where she almost died at the hands of a serial killer, a killer she killed…or did she?
     
    BLOOD STAINED is the second novel in the Lucy Guardino FBI Thrillers series. If you enjoy captivating suspense, intelligent storytelling, strong and vulnerable characters, and a freight-train pace, then you'll love this adrenaline rush of a heart-pounding thriller.
    Show book
  • Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont Mystery - cover

    Name Withheld - A JP Beaumont...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An explosive novel of betrayal and blood vengeance featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont. 
    There are those who don’t deserve to live—and the corpse floating in Elliott Bay may have been one of those people. Not surprisingly, many individuals, too many in fact, are eager to take responsibility for the brutal slaying of the hated biotech executive whose alleged crimes ranged from the illegal trading of industrial secrets to rape. For Seattle Detective J.P. Beaumont—who’s drowning in his own life-shattering problems—a case of seemingly justifiable homicide has sinister undertones, drawing the haunted policeman into a corporate nightmare world of double deals, savage jealousies, and real blood spilled far too easily, as it leads him closer to a killer he’s not sure he wants to find.
    Show book
  • Justice Denied - cover

    Justice Denied

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The murder of an ex-drug dealer ex-con—gunned down on his mother's doorstep—seems just another turf war fatality. Why then has Seattle homicide investigator J.P. Beaumont been instructed to keep this assignment hush-hush? Meanwhile, Beau's lover and fellow cop, Mel Soames, is involved in her own confidential investigation. Registered sex offenders from all over Washington State are dying at an alarming rate—and not all due to natural causes. 
    A metropolis the size of Seattle holds its fair share of brutal crime, corruption, and dirty little secrets. But when the separate trails they're following begin to shockingly intertwine, Beau and Mel realize that they have stumbled onto something bigger and more frightening than they anticipated—a deadly conspiracy that's leading them to lofty places they should not enter . . . and may not be allowed to leave alive.
    Show book
  • Crisis at the Cathedral - cover

    Crisis at the Cathedral

    Jeanne M. Dams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When a wealthy Iraqi couple disappear following a concert at Sherebury Cathedral, American Anglophile Dorothy Martin investigates.When Dorothy Martin and her husband Alan meet the wealthy Ahmad family, they are charmed by their courtesy, their perfect English, their delightful children and their commitment to peace. Following a concert at Sherebury Cathedral, the Ahmads offer to host a party afterwards at the Rose and Crown pub.But Mr and Mrs Ahmad don’t show up. Their children are asleep upstairs at the inn, but the parents are nowhere to be found . . .With suspicions of kidnap and even murder being raised, Dorothy and Alan feel compelled to assist the police and MI5 in their efforts to find their new friends, a search that will take them to London and the murky world of big business, politics and even terrorism . . .
    Show book