Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Dark Days - cover

The Dark Days

P. M. Griffin

Publisher: MuseItUp Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

As it becomes ever more evident that the long-promised divine chastisement is close at hand, Helena Moriarty, her associate Doctor Leonard Duck, and her family hasten to make what preparations they can and to warn others in the community around them.  Disbelief is strong even among their own kin, and when the disaster strikes, all too many are unready to meet it. 
The people and their animal charges brace themselves to endure and to survive as total darkness and bitter cold envelop the world.  Fiery bolts sear downward, and walls of flame sweep through the streets, but these pale into insignificance as Hell’s demons are released to take whatever humans they can claim or slay those who refuse submission.  These infernal entities cannot be fought by mere human strength or weapons, yet Helena must fight, or she will fail the two small creatures she is pledged to defend.

Other books that might interest you

  • Letters from the Dead - cover

    Letters from the Dead

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby.   Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . .   From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.  
    Show book
  • Horror Short Stories - cover

    Horror Short Stories

    H. P. Lovecraft

    • 2
    • 12
    • 0
    Ghouls, ghosts, and macabre terrors stalk the night in this spine-tingling collection. With tales describing unnatural frights and haunting visions of cosmic terror, you will be taken on a journey into the disturbing imaginations of some of horror's greatest writers. The stories' heroes face incredible creatures, unknowable gods, and supernatural beings who have no regard for human life.Horror literature has its roots in the mists of time. In the 19th century, writers delved into ancient folk tales and local legends to inspire an entire genre. In the 20th century, the next generation of writers brought to life a brand new array of terrifying monsters.The authors in this volume range from Victorian pioneers, such as Bram Stoker and Edgar Allan Poe, to the pulp writers of the 20th century, such as William Hope Hodgson and H. P. Lovecraft. The tradition of horror writing that developed took very different turns on either side of the Atlantic - while American authors turned to unknowable horrors and cosmic terrors, British writers such as E. F. Benson and M. R. James mastered a more familiar form, the classic ghost story.It was not only English-speakers who sought to terrify their readers. The French writer Guy de Maupassant, a prolific short story writer and pupil of the acclaimed novelist Gustave Flaubert, found ways to make his protagonists doubt their own sanity as they faced terrors that would drive any ordinary man mad.This collection of bone-chilling tales comes from the pens of some of horror's most acclaimed writers. Authors include:E. F. BensonAmbrose BierceFrancis Marion CrawfordW. W. JacobsM. R. JamesWilliam Hope HodgsonH. P. LovecraftGuy de MaupassantEdgar Allan PoeBram Stoker
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 8
    • 27
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau's bed? He's not dessert—he's the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there's another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course it doesn't hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger's bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That's a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • The Wanting - cover

    The Wanting

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A California vacation town holds a terrifying secret in this novel from the international bestselling author who “writes much better than King or Straub” (Village Voice).   When Max and Louise Untermeyer rent a house in the remote pine forests of Northern California, they figure it’ll be a perfect escape from the city, especially for their twelve-year-old son, Denny. Their neighbors, Dick and Charlotte Summer, are an elderly couple who certainly seem nice enough. And while they positively dote on the boy, plying him with sweets and gifts, it’s a shame there are no other children Denny’s age to play with. Louise is beginning to wonder why, but no one in town likes to talk about it.   But that’s not the only thing troubling Louise. A parent expects a boy of Denny’s age to go through changes—just not like this. Day by day, his innocence seems to be draining away, replaced by something unhealthy, even perverse. Now, the closer Denny gets to Mr. and Mrs. Summer, the closer he is to being lost forever in their dark secret. And anyone who comes looking for him hasn’t got a prayer.   The international bestselling author of the Glasgow novels and the Frank Pagan series, Campbell Armstrong has won a Scottish Arts Council Award and a nomination for the Prix du Polar. Any one of his novels “belongs in the permanent collection of horror/thriller fans” (Kirkus Reviews).  
    Show book
  • Into the Darkness (Special Edition) - Cathell Series #1 - cover

    Into the Darkness (Special...

    A.M. Rycroft

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    An unimaginable evil, bound by the gods to the sword Aeryn needs to repay a blood debt to her father. 
    Aeryn Ravane chose the gray path of a sell-sword over that of a hero like her father. When he died, though, she chose to fulfill her debt to him by finishing his last quest. She never suspected his search for the sword bound by a curse would open a dark portal and tie the fate of an innocent to her own. 
     
    The waifish girl stalking her looks harmless, but when Aeryn confronts her, Theo spins a series of tales faster than a bard, leaving Aeryn suspicious about her motives. She reluctantly lets the girl tag along. But when they're attacked by the ancient evil bound to the sword, it's clear they won't survive unless they help each other. 
     
    Now Aeryn must make a choice -- try to save Cathell from what she unleashed or walk away and save herself and the girl. 
    This dark epic tale by award-winning fantasy author A.M. Rycroft is a must-read for fans of Michael J. Sullivan, Robin Hobb, and M.L. Spencer. Note: This edition includes the series prequel and additional content. 
    Buy your copy today to start this hard-hitting dark fantasy series! 
    GOODREADS REVIEW EXCERPTS: 
     
    I enjoyed Rycroft's storytelling. [...] Her character building is above par, creating an emotional ride through this dark tale. It is inventive in its characters and the compilation of adventurers that team up together, a twisted version of heroes from the likes of Tolkien and Terry Brooks." -- full review available on Goodreads 
     
    "A great start to an intriguing world, AM Rycroft creates a world of fantasy and dark magic that's easy to follow with a set of strong female characters who are relatable and real." -- full review available on Goodread
    Show book
  • The Guardians - The Tempest Isle Series #1 - cover

    The Guardians - The Tempest Isle...

    Rena Marin, S.C. Storm

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Hidden in the beauty of a cluster of islands, unbeknownst to humans, a supernatural war rages. The Guardians, protectors of the Nexxus and the Goddess Selena, fight daily to ensure the survival of all races. Hidden agendas, supernatural politics, and sins of the past threaten to endanger the very world they all strive to protect. Led by two families who must embrace their destinies, the Guardians of Tempest must now step up to lead their races to victory.
    Show book