Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Wissahickon Souls - A Wissahickon Creek Story - cover

Wissahickon Souls - A Wissahickon Creek Story

PJ Devlin

Publisher: Benezet Street Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When a white mob attacks her family home, Claire Penniman will fight back, even if it’s the last thing she does in life.
 
         In 1806 Philadelphia, Claire Penniman is born free. Claire is smart, brave, and bold -- qualities her white indenture holder, Anna Williams, finds irksome in a Negro. More irksome is her son, Lawrence’s forbidden love for Claire.
 
         In 1824, Claire becomes pregnant. She and Lawrence marry and flee to Haiti where their son is born, and three years later, a daughter. In a country of blacks, Claire finds acceptance but Lawrence, the blanc, feels disregarded. Haitian life involves backbreaking labor, scorching heat, tropical storms, and little fun. Claire embraces Voodoo but Lawrence finds solace in rum and cockfighting. After seven years, Lawrence becomes hostile and distant. Claire’s loneliness leads her to the sea and the discovery of astonishing love.
 
         After ten years in exile, Claire and her family return to a Philadelphia roiling with racial hatred. When the Flying Horses race riot threatens Claire’s home, she fights to save her family. The battle for Lawrence’s love proves more brutal.
 
         Young adult and adult fans of authentic historic fiction will love this beautiful story of forbidden love, regret, and reconciliation set in early 19th century Philadelphia, on Wissahickon Farm, and in Haiti.
 
“Devlin’s writing is beautiful and professional. The historical setting is authentic. Readers will walk alongside Claire on her sprawling journey as a freeborn black in the early 19th century when slavery was the rule of the land.”                                         —   Chanticleer Book Reviews

Other books that might interest you

  • Lovecraft Country - A Novel - cover

    Lovecraft Country - A Novel

    Matt Ruff

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Now an HBO® Series from J.J. Abrams (Executive Producer of Westworld), Misha Green (Creator of Underground) and Jordan Peele (Director of Get Out) 
    The critically acclaimed cult novelist makes visceral the terrors of life in Jim Crow America and its lingering effects in this brilliant and wondrous work of the imagination that melds historical fiction, pulp noir, and Lovecraftian horror and fantasy. 
    Chicago, 1954. When his father Montrose goes missing, 22-year-old Army veteran Atticus Turner embarks on a road trip to New England to find him, accompanied by his Uncle George—publisher of The Safe Negro Travel Guide—and his childhood friend Letitia. On their journey to the manor of Mr. Braithwhite—heir to the estate that owned one of Atticus’s ancestors—they encounter both mundane terrors of white America and malevolent spirits that seem straight out of the weird tales George devours. 
    At the manor, Atticus discovers his father in chains, held prisoner by a secret cabal named the Order of the Ancient Dawn—led by Samuel Braithwhite and his son Caleb—which has gathered to orchestrate a ritual that shockingly centers on Atticus. And his one hope of salvation may be the seed of his—and the whole Turner clan’s—destruction. 
    A chimerical blend of magic, power, hope, and freedom that stretches across time, touching diverse members of two black families, Lovecraft Country is a devastating kaleidoscopic portrait of racism—the terrifying specter that continues to haunt us today.
    Show book
  • Angel in the Glass The - A new forensic mystery series set in Stuart England - cover

    Angel in the Glass The - A new...

    Alys Clare

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    'A thought-provoking plot, and an affecting and powerful conclusion make this one of Clare's best' - Booklist Starred Review
    
    Physician-sleuth Dr Gabriel Taverner uncovers dark secrets in his small Devon village in the second of this intriguing historical mystery series. 
    
    June, 1604.  When the emaciated body of a vagrant is found on the edge of the moor, it’s the verdict of physician Gabriel Taverner that the man died of natural causes – but is all as it seems? Who was the dead man, and why had he come to the small West Country village of Tavy St Luke’s to die cold, sick and alone?  With no one claiming to have known him, his identity remains a mystery.
    
    Then a discovery found buried in a nearby field throws a strange new light on the case … and in attempting to find the answers, Gabriel Taverner and Coroner Theophilus Davey unearth a series of shocking secrets stretching back more than fourteen years.
    Show book
  • Molten City - cover

    Molten City

    Chris Nickson

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "Superior... Even minor characters are fully fleshed out in this trip down the mean streets of early 20th-century Leeds. Nickson's consistent high quality across multiple series continues to impress" - Publishers Weekly Starred Review
    
    Detective Superintendent Tom Harper senses trouble ahead when the prime minister plans a visit. Can he keep law and order on the streets while also uncovering the truth behind a missing child?
    
    Leeds, September 1908. There’s going to be a riot. Detective Superintendent Tom Harper can feel it. Herbert Asquith, the prime minster, is due to speak in the city. The suffragettes and the unemployed men will be out in the streets in protest. It’s Harper’s responsibility to keep order. Can he do it?
    
    Harper has also received an anonymous letter claiming that a young boy called Andrew Sharp was stolen from his family fourteen years before. The file is worryingly thin. It ought to have been bulging. A missing child should have been headline news. Why was Andrew’s disappearance ignored?
    
    Determined to uncover the truth about Andrew Sharp and bring the boy some justice, Harper is drawn deep into the dark underworld of child-snatching, corruption and murder as Leeds becomes a molten, rioting city.
    Show book
  • The Summer Country - A Novel - cover

    The Summer Country - A Novel

    Lauren Willig

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    "Tense, atmospheric, and gorgeously written, The Summer Country is a novel to savor!" – Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Huntress and The Alice Network 
    A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and South, New York Times bestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados. 
     
    Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan-- merely a vicar’s daughter, and a reform-minded vicar’s daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family’s lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day.  But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned.  
     
    When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts. 
     
    Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins?  Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom. 
     
    THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds.  
     
    Show book
  • The Water Dancers - A Novel - cover

    The Water Dancers - A Novel

    Terry Gamble

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    A stunning debut novel from a new voice in literary fiction, set on Lake Michigan following World War II, The Water Dancers limns the divide between the worlds of the wealthy elite "summer people" and the poor native population who serve them–and what happens when those worlds collide.  
     When Rachel Winnapee first comes to work at the March family summer home on vast and beautiful Lake Michigan, she quickly learns her place. Servants are seen and not heard as they bring the breakfast trays, wash and iron luxurious clothes, and serve gin and tonics to the wealthy family as they lounge on the deck playing bridge. Orphaned as a poverty–stricken young girl from the nearby band of Native Americans, Rachel is in awe of the Marches' glamorous life–and quite enamored of the family's son Woody.  
     Rachel is soon assigned the task of caring for Woody, a young man whose life has been changed utterly by his experience as a soldier in WWII. The war has cost Woody not only his leg, but, worse, the older brother he loved and admired. Now back at home, Woody cannot bear to face the obligations of his future – especially when it comes to his bride–to–be Elizabeth. Woody finds himself drawn to Rachel, who is like no one he's ever known. The love affair that unites these two lost souls in this Great Gatsby–esque portrait of class division will alter the course of their lives in ways both heartbreaking and profound. 
     This novel's richness is due, in part, to the author's memories of summers spent at her family's house on Lake Michigan, home to six generations of Gambles (as in Procter & Gamble). THE WATER DANCERS, told in a voice as clear and cool as lake water, is a luminescent tale of love, loss and redemption, and heralds the arrival of a remarkable new talent.
    Show book
  • Death of a Prominent Citizen - cover

    Death of a Prominent Citizen

    Cora Harrison

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    "Harrison's seventh Reverend Mother whodunit stands out as her trickiest yet... Fans of historical puzzle mysteries will be delighted" - Publishers Weekly Starred Review
    
    
    Money is the root of all evil, according to the Reverend Mother – but is it the motive for her cousin's murder?
    
    Wealthy widow Charlotte Hendrick had always promised that her riches would be divided equally between her seven closest relatives when she died. Now she has changed her mind and summoned her nearest and dearest, including her cousin, the Reverend Mother, to her substantial home on Bachelor's Quay to inform them of her decision. As Mrs Hendrick's relatives desperately make their case to retain a share of her wealth, riots break out on the quays outside as the flood waters rise ...
    
    The following morning, a body is discovered in the master bedroom, its throat cut. Could there be a connection to the riots of the night before – or does the killer lie closer to home? In her efforts to uncover the truth, the Reverend Mother unearths a tale of greed, cruelty, forbidden passion ... and cold-blooded malice.
    Show book