Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Shadow Magic: Six Strong Heroines of Urban Fantasy - cover

Shadow Magic: Six Strong Heroines of Urban Fantasy

Pippa DaCosta, Annie Bellet, C. Gockel, Aimee Easterling, Dale Ivan Smith, Jenn Stark

Publisher: Wetknee Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Dive into six full-length urban fantasy novels by USA Today and national bestselling authors! 
Escape into tales of shifters and sorceresses, gamers and bakers, demons and artifact hunters, plus one very mischievous Norse god. Full of adventure, mystery, romance, and plenty of snark, these novels will immerse you in magical worlds while you turn pages far into the night. 
Huntress Born by Aimee Easterling - Werewolf and baker Ember leaves her pack to hunt for her missing half brother. But with danger growing on all sides, it's only a matter of time before she gets burned. By an author described as a "good choice for Patricia Briggs fans." 
Beyond the Veil by Pippa DaCosta - Half-demon and half-human, Muse tried to lead an ordinary life. But when an underworld assassin comes after her, she must embrace her powers—and make a formidable deal with the Prince of Greed. 
Justice Calling by Annie Bellet - Between hiding out from her evil ex-boyfriend who wants to steal her power and keeping her friends safe from dangerous magics, Jade Crow has all the problems. For fans of The Dresden Files and the Iron Druid, this is a nerdy urban fantasy full of snark and fireballs. 
Getting Wilde by Jenn Stark - Tarot-reading artifact hunter Sara Wilde can find anything, for a price. Then a wickedly sexy magician offers her the ultimate challenge: Sneak behind Vatican walls...and steal the Devil himself. Globe-trotting, fast-paced, high-stakes adventure perfect for fans of Darynda Jones, Faith Hunter, and Ilona Andrews! 
Wolves by C. Gockel - When Amy prays for help, Loki the Norse God of mischief and Chaos isn't the savior she has in mind. Loki can't resist Amy's summons, but he can insist that she help him outwit Odin, ruler of the Nine Realms. The start of an epic urban fantasy with myth, magic, and mayhem! 
Empowered: Agent by Dale Ivan Smith - The world says those possessing superpowers are either heroes or villains. But what if you're both? Former rogue empowered Mathilda Brandt must return to villainy in order to save her family and thousands of others from a psychotic criminal mastermind.

Other books that might interest you

  • Timeless - A Drizzt Novel - cover

    Timeless - A Drizzt Novel

    R. A. Salvatore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times and USA Today Bestseller! 
    R. A. Salvatore returns with one of fantasy's most beloved and enduring icons, the dark elf Drizzt Do'Urden, in an all-new trilogy full of swordplay, danger, and imaginative thrills. 
    Centuries ago, in the city of Menzoberranzan, the City of Spiders, the City of Drow, nestled deep in the unmerciful Underdark of Toril, a young weapon master earned a reputation far above his station or that of his poor house. 
    The greater nobles watched him, and one matron, in particular, decided to take him as her own. She connived with rival great houses to secure her prize, but that prize was caught for her by another, who came to quite enjoy the weapon master. 
    This was the beginning of the friendship between Zaknafein and Jarlaxle, and the coupling of Matron Malice and the weapon master who would sire Drizzt Do’Urden. 
    R. A. Salvatore reveals the Underdark anew through the eyes of Zaknafein and Jarlaxle—an introduction to the darkness that offers a fresh view of the opportunities to be found in the shadows and an intriguing prelude to the intriguing escapes that lie ahead in the modern-day Forgotten Realms. Here, a father and his son are reunited and embark on adventures that parallel the trials of centuries long past as the friends of old are joined by Drizzt, Hero of the North, trained by Grandmaster Kane in the ways of the monk. 
    But the scourge of the dangerous Lolth’s ambitions remain, and demons have been foisted on the unwitting of the surface. The resulting chaos and war will prove to be the greatest challenge for all three.
    Show book
  • The Ledberg Runestone - cover

    The Ledberg Runestone

    Patrick Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The author of Demon Jack delivers the first novel ina daring Southern urban fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and M.D. Massey.Magic: To some, it’s spectacle. To Jonah, it’s pure profit.A shaman for hire, Jonah can tap into his powers as easily as turning on a light switch, but the real money is in putting on a show. And after putting himself in debt to the Carver brothers, Asheville’s version of a mafia, in order to save his father’s business, he’s in need of some real money. Then a mysterious woman makes Jonah a staggering offer: $20,000—to find and deliver the Ledberg runestone, a legendary artifact of Norse myth. He’s suspicious of the case and the buyer, but when the Carvers threaten Jonah’s father if they don’t get their payment within the month, Jonah starts his investigation. As he explores Asheville’s seedy magical underbelly, Jonah discovers he’s not alone on the hunt. Will Jonah survive long enough to save his father, or will his past of swindling mortals and dodging debt collectors finally catch up with him? “The plot itself is fun . . . We have twists and an exceptional one at the end; but what holds it together is this unique character and the foundations it lays for something truly epic to come.”—Fangs for the Fantasy
    Show book
  • Vampire Interrupted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Interrupted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 3
    • 16
    • 0
    After seven hundred years of life, Marguerite Argeneau finally has a career. Well, the start of one, anyway. She's training to be a private investigator, and her first assignment is to find an immortal's mother. It seemed simple enough, until Marguerite wakes up one evening to find herself at the wrong end of a sword. Now she realizes she's in way over her head. 
    Julius Notte wants to protect Marguerite, and not because someone just tried to take her head off. She doesn't know it yet, but she's his lifemate and he's determined to woo her. It's been over five hundred years since he last courted a woman, but surely the techniques haven't changed. Now if only he can keep her alive—so to speak—so they can have that happily-ever-after.
    Show book
  • Vampire Most Wanted - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Vampire Most Wanted - An...

    Lynsay Sands

    • 7
    • 28
    • 0
    Take a road trip with the undead . . . in this latest in the Argeneau series by New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands 
    For Basha Argeneau, anything is better than facing her estranged family. Even hiding out in sweltering southern California. But when a sexy immortal in black shows up determined to bring her back to the clan, she'll do anything to keep far, far away from the past she can't outrun. 
    Marcus Notte isn't here to play games—especially not with someone as crazy as the infamous blonde. Asked by Lucian Argeneau to bring her back for questioning, Marcus is determined to carry out Lucian's request—no matter how the seductive little mind-reading vamp feels about it. 
    Basha doesn't mind fighting fire with fire, especially with a hot immortal involved. But if he wants to take her away, he'll have to catch her first . . .
    Show book
  • The Scribbly Man - The Children of D'Hara episode 1 - cover

    The Scribbly Man - The Children...

    Terry Goodkind

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    'We have all caught fleeting glimpses of them: the monster under the bed, the dark shadow just out of sight, the knot of unexpected terror in the pit of your stomach' – Kahlan Amnell. 
     
    The world has been forged anew. Tyranny vanquished, the breach between the living and the dead healed, the stars themselves realigned. It is the triumph Richard Rahl and his wife Kahlan Amnell fought so hard, over so many years, for. Ruling a vast realm encompassing lands and peoples unknown, they have vowed to bring a golden age of peace to a world shattered by terror and war. 
     
    What Richard does not expect is a demand for his immediate, unconditional surrender. 
     
    Not of D'Hara, but of the entire world... 
     
    The Scribbly Man is the first episode in Terry Goodkind's new serial novel, The Children of D'Hara. Told in irresistibly intense instalments, this is the story of a world confronted by an apocalyptic nightmare. If you've read Terry Goodkind before, welcome back. If you haven't, there's no better place to start than here. 
     
    'I want to introduce everyone to THE CHILDREN OF D'HARA, a new series that continues the story of the lives of Richard and Kahlan. This is a journey that began 25 years ago with the 1994 release of WIZARD'S FIRST RULE, when Richard first met Kahlan that fateful day in the Hartland woods. 
     
    After the Sword of Truth series ended, I knew there was more to Richard and Kahlan's story. Much more. A whole world more. For years, readers have asked me about Richard and Kahlan's lives after the Sword of Truth series... and importantly, about their children. 
     
    While my masterwork, Sword of Truth, concluded with WARHEART – 20 languages and 26 million books sold – I was burning to tell readers more about Richard and Kahlan. For that reason, this new series starts immediately after the 'Sword of Truth' books ended. Without skipping a beat, readers will plunge back into Richard and Kahlan's lives, with new episodes releasing every three months. 
     
    So it is that I want to welcome you all back into the Sword of Truth world with many of the characters besides Richard and Kahlan, such as the Mord-Sith, that we have come to love. Learn what the star shift has done to their world and what monsters now lurk in shadows. I promise an arresting, beautiful, and sometimes tragic adventure that will keep you glued to this irresistible story.' – Terry Goodkind.
    Show book
  • Kill the Queen - cover

    Kill the Queen

    Jennifer Estep

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    Gladiator meets Game of Thrones: a royal woman becomes a skilled warrior to destroy her murderous cousin, avenge her family, and save her kingdom in this first entry in a dazzling fantasy epic from the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Elemental Assassin series—an enthralling tale that combines magic, murder, intrigue, adventure, and a hint of romance. 
    In a realm where one’s magical power determines one’s worth, Lady Everleigh’s lack of obvious ability relegates her to the shadows of the royal court of Bellona, a kingdom steeped in gladiator tradition. Seventeenth in line for the throne, Evie is nothing more than a ceremonial fixture, overlooked and mostly forgotten. 
    But dark forces are at work inside the palace. When her cousin Vasilia, the crown princess, assassinates her mother the queen and takes the throne by force, Evie is also attacked, along with the rest of the royal family. Luckily for Evie, her secret immunity to magic helps her escape the massacre. 
    Forced into hiding to survive, she falls in with a gladiator troupe. Though they use their talents to entertain and amuse the masses, the gladiators are actually highly trained warriors skilled in the art of war, especially Lucas Sullivan, a powerful magier with secrets of his own. Uncertain of her future—or if she even has one—Evie begins training with the troupe until she can decide her next move. 
    But as the bloodthirsty Vasilia exerts her power, pushing Bellona to the brink of war, Evie’s fate becomes clear: she must become a fearsome gladiator herself . . . and kill the queen.
    Show book