Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Five Portraits - cover

Five Portraits

Piers Anthony

Publisher: Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Piers Anthony delivers another tale set in the bestselling world of Xanth, filled with magic, surprises, adventure, and a few puns. Here’s what the author has to say about his new book: “Five Portraits is a kind of sequel to Board Stiff in that it picks up where the other leaves off, with the same characters. Apart from that, it’s one of my favorites within the series. There’s something about Astrid Basilisk that appeals to me: a very pretty girl whose very glance is deadly, yet she’s a nice person whose selfless effort to save five difficult children from future Xanth is thoroughly worthy. I also like the theme of the power of unlikely friendship. Not just Xanth, but Mundania, too, would be better if there were more such friendships.”

Who read this book also read:

  • Werewolf Smackdown - A Novel - cover

    Werewolf Smackdown - A Novel

    Mario Acevedo

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “[Acevedo] is a very disturbed man—and I mean that in the absolute finest sense of the term.”—Tim Dorsey, author of Nuclear Jellyfish Felix Gomez, Latino vampire detective extraordinaire, tackles a sexy werewolf cabal in Werewolf Smackdown, the fifth installment in Mario Acevedo’s satirical supernatural series. The author’s wonderfully twisted blend of comedy, horror, and detective noir—expertly flourished in such books as The Nymphos of Rocky Flat and Jailbait Zombie—places him in the august company of Eric “Anonymous Rex” Garcia and Christopher “Bloodsucking Fiends” Moore, while earning him raves from coast to coast. The Baltimore Sun calls Acevedo’s novels, “decidedly good, unclean, unwholesome fun,” while author and fan J.A. Konrath calls them, “a smooth combination of Anne Rice and Michael Connelly, with a generous portion of Dave Barry.”
    Show book
  • Earth to Hell - Journey to Wudang: Book One - cover

    Earth to Hell - Journey to...

    Kylie Chan

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Author Kylie Chan has a boldly, brazenly unique take on urban fantasy—she combines it with Kung Fu. In Earth to Hell, Chan launches the characters from her Dark Heavens trilogy (White Tiger, Red Phoenix, Blue Dragon) on a new adventure that will take them from the teeming streets of Hong Kong through the portals of Hell to set free a friend—as demons and devils rise up to challenge them in life-or-death battle, forcing Emma Donahoe Chen, wife of God of the Northern Heavens, to seek the help of a sworn foe, the fearsome Demon King. An irresistible blend of Chinese mythology, martial arts action, and ingenious invention, Earth to Hell is a treat for Kung Fu movie fans; for readers of Lilith Saintcrow, Liz Williams, Karen Chance, Devon Monk, and Ilona Andrews; and for anyone who desires a different kind of fantasy.
    Show book
  • Frozen Desires - Asylums for Magical Threats #2 - cover

    Frozen Desires - Asylums for...

    Jessie Donovan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Camilla Melini is a high-ranking soldier with an organization fighting to free elemental magic users. Her latest assignment is to find one of the legendary elemental Four Talents, and she’s determined to get in and out of Mexico as quickly as possible to avoid running into the man who nearly destroyed her life. But when the dangerous man from her past finds her, Cam must work with Marco Alvarez, a man she’d dismissed as a playboy, to prevent the the powerful magic of the Talents from falling into the wrong hands. She never expected the charming playboy to be a cunning warrior worthy of her heart... 
    Marco Alvarez is sent to Mexico with two goals—to watch Cam’s back and to investigate a series of arson fires targeting former AMT prison employees. But when a shadow-shifter shows up looking for Cam, Marco decides he needs to stick close to her to help her mission succeed. As he gets to know the strong-willed woman, he’s torn between telling her the truth of his elemental magic and keeping the others who share his secret safe. But when Cam sacrifices herself to save her colleagues, Marco must expose the secret of his elemental magic or risk losing the only woman who can match both his passion and his strength. 
    NOTE: This series is a mix of paranormal and urban fantasy romance, filled with magic, fae, shadow-shifters, sirens, dream-speakers, and a slew of other surprises. Action, suspense, and mystery included at no additional charge. Age 18+ for steamy sexual content. 
    **While this can be read as a standalone, I would highly recommend checking out the first book int he series, Blaze of Secrets***
    Show book
  • Night Watch - Book One - cover

    Night Watch - Book One

    Sergei Lukyanenko

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    They are the "Others," an ancient race of supernatural beings—magicians, shape-shifters, vampires, and healers—who live among us. Human born, they must choose a side to swear allegiance to—the Dark or the Light—when they come of age. 
    For a millennium, these opponents have coexisted in an uneasy peace, enforced by defenders like the Night Watch, forces of the Light who guard against the Dark. But prophecy decrees that one supreme "Other" will arise to spark a cataclysmic war. 
    Anton Gorodetsky, an untested mid-level Light magician with the Night Watch, discovers a cursed young woman—an Other of tremendous potential unallied with either side—who can shift the balance of power. With the battle lines between Light and Dark drawn, the magician must move carefully, for one wrong step could mean the beginning of annihilation.
    Show book
  • A Lady's Heart - Takhini Shifters #3 - cover

    A Lady's Heart - Takhini...

    Vivian Arend

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A light-hearted, STAND ALONE paranormal in the Takhini Shifters world by NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR Vivian Arend 
    ----- 
    Lady Amanda Ainsworth found a safe place to pull herself together under the roof of the loud, boisterous Takhini Wolf pack. Safe—except for the sexy grizzly shifter with the oversized biceps and the steely-grey eyes who’s also hanging his hat with the Whitehorse wolves. Justin Cullinan makes her light up and shimmer inside like the Northern Lights, and she knows it’s time to start her new life. 
    He may be the bodyguard and not the CEO, but Justin’s powerful in his own right. He gets what he wants—and who he wants is the sweet seductive Mandy. He’ll go as slowly as necessary, but he has no intention of stopping until she admits they’re meant to be. 
    But when her safety is threatened, all bets are off. Justin’s going to keep his lady safe and find out who’s stalking her, and the best place is hidden in plain sight in the biggest shifter town in the north. 
    That is, if they aren’t running into a trap… 
     
    Warning: get ready for a trip up north to visit the Takhini pack (and Chicken!) because everyone deserves a happily-ever-after, especially a Lady with secrets.
    Show book
  • Embody - Insight - cover

    Embody - Insight

    Jamie Magee

    • 2
    • 9
    • 0
    Everything changed with one photo...
    
     
    The image reflected Willow blissfully embracing the flawless image of Drake Blakeshire; giving her not only proof that she had lived before, but that she had loved him. The revelation is quickly followed by a dark dream that forecasts the true wickedness of Esterious. 
    
     
    Willow struggles to find patience – to learn everything she needs to know before she faces Drake again, but her eagerness is dangerous and one step in the wrong direction takes everything and everyone away from her – the only way to survive this trial is for Willow to remember who she is and what she really wants out of this life. 
    
    Special note to the reader:
    
     
     
    
    The INSIGHT series is part of the “Web of Hearts and Souls Universe,” where several series combine into one large story. All series can be read independently or as one. 
    
     
    The reading order for the Insight Series:
    
     
    •    Insight 
    
    •    Embody 
    
    •    Image 
    
    •    Vital 
    
    •    Vindicate 
    
    •    Enflame 
    
    •    Imperial (Story of the Sovereigns) 
    
    •    Blakeshire (Drake’s Story) 
    
    •    Emanate  
    
    Reading Order for the Complete Web of Hearts Universe:  
    
    •    Insight 
    
    •    Embody 
    
    •    Image 
    
    •    See 
    
    •    Witness 
    
    •    Vital 
    
    •    Vindicate 
    
    •    Synergy 
    
    •    Enflame 
    
    •    Redefined 
    
    •    Rivulet 
    
    •    Imperial 
    
    •    Blakeshire 
    
    •    Derive 
    
    •    Emanate 
    
    •    Exaltation* 
    
    •    *If you are a fan of Adult Paranormal Edge can be read with the Web of Hearts, before or after Exaltation—the stories share the same characters. 
    
            Disavow 
    
    A Lover's Revolt
    Show book