As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
How to Talk About Places You've Never Been - On the Importance of Armchair Travel - cover

How to Talk About Places You've Never Been - On the Importance of Armchair Travel

Pierre Bayard

Translator Michele Hutchison

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 2
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Written in the irreverent style that made How to Talk About Books You Haven't Read a critical and commercial success, Pierre Bayard takes readers on a trip around the world, giving us essential guidance on how to talk about all those fantastic places we've never been. Practical, funny, and thought-provoking, How to Talk About Places You've Never Been will delight and inform armchair globetrotters and jet-setters, all while never having to leave the comfort of the living room. 
  Bayard examines the art of the “non-journey,” a tradition that a succession of writers and thinkers, unconcerned with moving away from their home turf, have employed in order to encounter the foreign cultures they wish to know and talk about. He describes concrete situations in which the reader might find himself having to speak about places he's never been, and he chronicles some of his own experiences and offers practical advice. 
  How to Talk About Places You Haven't Been is a compelling and delightful book that will expand any travel enthusiast's horizon well beyond the places it's even possible to visit in a single lifetime.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Great Loop Experience - From Concept to Completion - A Practical Guide for Planning Preparing and Executing Your Great Loop Adventure - cover

    The Great Loop Experience - From...

    George Hospodar, Patricia Hospodar

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This guide helps you create the journey of a lifetime.  The book covers important financial, medical, insurance, home, time-frame, and life-style factors that should be considered before starting.  It details choosing and outfitting your boat for the journey, route planning, guidebooks, and charts to have onboard, types of locks, dealing with customs, negotiating open water passages, and more.
    Show book
  • A Thousand-Mile Walk to the Gulf (Illustrated Edition) - cover

    A Thousand-Mile Walk to the Gulf...

    John Muir

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "JOHN MUIR, Earth-planet, Universe."—These words are written on the inside cover of the notebook from which the contents of this volume have been taken. They reflect the mood in which the late author and explorer undertook his thousand-mile walk to the Gulf of Mexico. No less does this refreshingly cosmopolitan address, which might have startled any finder of the book, reveal the temper and the comprehensiveness of Mr. Muir's mind. He never was and never could be a parochial student of nature. 
    In September 1867, Muir undertook a walk of about 1,000 miles (1,600 km) from Kentucky to Florida, which he recounted in his book A Thousand-Mile Walk to the Gulf. He had no specific route chosen, except to go by the "wildest, leafiest, and least trodden way I could find."
    Show book
  • Tracks - One Woman's Journey Across 1700 Miles of Australian Outback - cover

    Tracks - One Woman's Journey...

    Robyn Davidson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The incredible true story of one woman’s solo adventure across the Australian outback, accompanied by her faithful dog and four unpredictable camels.I arrived in the Alice at five a.m. with a dog, six dollars and a small suitcase full of inappropriate clothes. . . . There are some moments in life that are like pivots around which your existence turns. For Robyn Davidson, one of these moments comes at age twenty-seven in Alice Springs, a dodgy town at the frontier of the vast Australian desert. Davidson is intent on walking the 1,700 miles of desolate landscape between Alice Springs and the Indian Ocean, a personal pilgrimage with her dog—and four camels. Tracks is the beautifully written, compelling true story of the author’s journey and the love/hate relationships she develops along the way: with the Red Centre of Australia; with aboriginal culture; with a handsome photographer; and especially with her lovable and cranky camels, Bub, Dookie, Goliath, and Zeleika.   Adapted into a critically acclaimed film starring Mia Wasikowska and Adam Driver, Tracks is an unforgettable story that proves that anything is possible. Perfect for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild.  
    Show book
  • Australia - cover

    Australia

    Irene Evagelelis, David McAleese

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Go down under and escape to a whole new world in Australia. Take a vacation and visit the many islands that make up the Melanesian region. Find the exact location of 10 cities in Australia using their latitude and longitude coordinates. Examine the unique wildlife species Australia's island continent has to offer. Research and collect facts about the Great Barrier Reef using the Undersea Organizer. Explore the largest ports in Australia, like Sydney and Melbourne, and complete a web graphic organizer with the information collected. Record information about Australia's regions found in the Queensland and New South Wales territories. Take a look at the primary roads and highways that go through Australia. Aligned to your State Standards and the Five Themes of Geography, additional maps, crossword, word search, comprehension quiz and answer key are also included.
    Show book
  • Key Concepts in Public Archaeology - cover

    Key Concepts in Public Archaeology

    Gabriel Moshenska

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book provides a broad overview of the key concepts in public archaeology, a research field that examines the relationship between archaeology and the public, in both theoretical and practical terms. While based on the long-standing programme of undergraduate and graduate teaching in public archaeology at UCL’s renowned Institute of Archaeology, the book also takes into account the growth of scholarship from around the world and seeks to clarify what exactly ‘public archaeology’ is by promoting an inclusive, socially and politically engaged vision of the discipline. 
    Written for students and practitioners, the individual chapters provide textbook-level introductions to the themes, theories and controversies that connect archaeology to wider society, from the trade in illicit antiquities to the use of digital media in public engagement, and point readers to the most relevant case studies and learning resources to aid their further study. 
    This book was produced as part of JISC's Institution as e-Textbook Publisher project. Find out more at https://www.jisc.ac.uk/rd/projects/institution-as-e-textbook-publisher 
    Praise for Key Concepts in Archaeology 
    'Littered throughout with concise and well-chosen case studies, Key Concepts in Public Archaeology could become essential reading for undergraduates and is a welcome reminder of where archaeology sits in UK society today.'British Archaeology 
    ‘Key Concepts in Public Archaeology offers a useful compilation of themes and has the advantage of being freely available on the publisher’s platform, giving access to a much-needed resource in a context where most contents are locked away behind a paywall or expensive purchase prices.’Public Archaeology 
    ‘Key Concepts in Public Archaeology offers an overview of the remarkable diversity of ways UK archaeologists have brought the field to a wide audience of nonprofessionals, many in active roles. Moshenska, the volume editor, offers a succinct but thoughtful definition for public archaeology as “practice and scholarship where archaeology meets the world.”’American Anthropologist 
    ‘Moshenska has brought together a bevy of talented individuals who have produced a solid introductory text that is accessible in terms of cost and content. The book is not intended to be a comprehensive guide to public archaeology, but it does an excellent job in capturing diverse interfaces between archaeology and the public.’Historical Archaeology
    Show book
  • The Last of the Plainsmen - cover

    The Last of the Plainsmen

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Travel along as Mike Vendetti aka miketheauctioneer narrates an outstanding true account of a trip made in 1909 by Zane Grey and a plainsman, Buffalo Jones, through the Grand Canyon to lasso a cougar. That’s right lasso. Throw a rope around. That’s equivalent to catching one by the tail.As I narrated this book, I found fact to be as exciting as fiction. This part of the west was relatively wild and untamed at this time. Wolves, wild horses, buffalo and other wildlife were quite prevalent, and the Indians were not that friendly.This adventure would never make it to “Animal Planet”, or as a National Geographic special, because there is quite a lot of what we would consider cruelty to animals, but this is a true story, and life as it was at the turn of the last century. Parts of this story will offend the sensibilities of some, but it is a glimpse into a world that no longer exists. I was definitely drawn into this story, as I hope the listener will be. (Summary by Mike Vendetti)
    Show book