Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Chinese Thinkers Through the Ages - The Wisdom of Confucius The Wisdom of Mao and Classics in Chinese Philosophy - cover

Chinese Thinkers Through the Ages - The Wisdom of Confucius The Wisdom of Mao and Classics in Chinese Philosophy

Philosophical Library

Publisher: Philosophical Library

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

From the I Ching to The Little Red Book: Two thousand years of wisdom from some of China’s greatest philosophers and political thinkers.The Wisdom of Confucius: Whether considering his own life, human nature, or a society’s responsibilities, Confucius’s teachings emphasize morality, social relationships, justice, and sincerity. He pursued social and political reform, leaving a legacy of wisdom that remains vital today. Organized by topic and accompanied with contextual footnotes, this collection of quotations and lessons is often as entertaining as it is educational.  The Wisdom of Mao: In this collection of essays, China’s Chairman Mao Tse-Tung explains his interpretation of Marxism-Leninism that became known as Maoism. From examining the root causes of societal shifts to explaining the necessity of guerilla-based revolution, Mao mixes his philosophical positions with the history of the Chinese people.Classics in Chinese Philosophy: An anthology of the most important philosophical texts in Chinese history, from Confucius and the I Ching to Mao Tse-Tung and Yu-Lan Fung.  

Other books that might interest you

  • Think Little - Essays - cover

    Think Little - Essays

    Wendell Berry

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The first in the new Counterpoints series, Think Little is an evergreen, ever-urgent, and now pocket-sized argument for focused and inclusive climate change activism
    Designed and priced for point-of-sale, the Counterpoints series will feature essays, poems, and stories from Wendell Berry, Gary Snyder, Mary Robison, Betty Fussell, MFK Fisher, and many more
    Berry argues that environmental activism and policy change cannot only be a public, large-scale, corporate- and organization-led; instead, changes must happen at the person, individual, and community levels in order for our attempts to slow climate change to be successful. Just as the Civil Rights movement had to become personal, had to be adopted in homes and communities across the country in order to gain momentum and critical mass, so too does environmental activism
    Berry also reminds us that the forces that would exploit people based on their race, gender, and socioeconomic status are the same forces that are content to exploit the earth for its natural resources
    Show book
  • Toxic Love - The Shocking True Story of the First Murder by Cancer - cover

    Toxic Love - The Shocking True...

    Tomás Guillén

    • 0
    • 17
    • 2
    The chilling true story of romantic obsession and murder by cancer from the New York Times–bestselling author of The Search for the Green River Killer.Omaha, Nebraska, 1978. Sandy Johnson was in shock. Her husband, Duane, and young daughter, Sherrie, were violently ill when word arrived that her infant nephew just died of mysterious causes. Days earlier, the entire family was happy, healthy, and living the American dream. Now they were at the center of a terrifying medical crisis.   Duane soon died in a condition unlike anything the doctors had ever seen. As they raced to discover what disease or toxin could have done so much damage so quickly, Lt. Foster Burchard of the Omaha police began to suspect foul play. Sandy herself became a primary suspect, as did her ex-boyfriend Steven Harper—a man prone to violence who never got over their breakup.   In Toxic Love, investigative reporter and true crime author Tomás Guillén offers a detailed and vivid account of this baffling case from the day of the poisoning to the harrowing trial and the murderer’s eventual suicide on death row.  
    Show book
  • The Bridal Party - Perfect for fans of Lucy Foley's The Guest List - cover

    The Bridal Party - Perfect for...

    J G Murray

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Sometimes friendship can be murder... It's the weekend of Clarisse's bridal party, a trip the girls have all been looking forward to. Then, on the day of their flight, Tamsyn, the maid of honour, suddenly backs out. Upset and confused, they try to make the most of the stunning, isolated seaside house they find themselves in. But, there is a surprise in store - Tamsyn has organised a murder mystery, a sinister game in which they must discover a killer in their midst. As tensions quickly boil over, it becomes clear to them all that there are some secrets that won't stay buried...WINNER OF THE DEVIANT MINDS CRIME THRILLER PRIZE 2018READERS LOVE THE BRIDAL PARTY!"Dark, gritty, edge of your seat, addictive reading at its best" Karen, Netgalley"A chilling, sinister, intense thriller" Nicki, Netgalley
    Show book
  • Holidays Are Hell - cover

    Holidays Are Hell

    Kim Harrison, Lynsay Sands,...

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    This holiday, spend quality time with family and loved ones—living and dead . . . 
    There's no place like home for the horrordays—unless you'd prefer a romantic midnight walk through a ghost-infested graveyard . . . or a haunted house candlelight dinner with the sexy vampire of your dreams. The (black) magical season is here—and whether it's a solstice séance gone demonically wrong with the incomparable Kim Harrison, a grossly misshapen Christmas with the remarkable Lynsay Sands, a blood-chilling-and-spilling New Year's with the wonderful Marjorie M. Liu, or a super-powered Thanksgiving with the phenomenal Vicki Pettersson, one thing is for certain: in the able hands of these exceptional dark side explorers, the holidays are going to be deliciously hellish!
    Show book
  • The Hands That Held Me - cover

    The Hands That Held Me

    Lisa Jo Symonds

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Hands That Held Me  is Lisa Jo Symonds’ personal journey through childhood trauma - of abuse, child trafficking, addiction, overdose, and ultimately victory over all that meant to destroy her. She describes in shocking and honest details - the various types of physical, emotional, and sexual abuse she encountered while growing up. At 15 years old, she became pregnant and ran away, surviving among drug and prostitution-filled streets, while searching herself for forgiveness for all who hurt her. Years after her sister's death to overdose and her own suicide attempt, Lisa describes her lowest points in life. Through her strength, determination, and faith, she survived a traumatic childhood, endured the challenges of being a single parent, overcame abusive relationships, and broke free from a lifetime of multiple addictions. She shares with readers how she was able to do this on her own without withdrawals or cravings, after repeated failed attempts with traditional addiction treatment programs and counselors.  This is a story of victory in the face of a lifetime of adversity. 
    Lisa Jo began sharing her story through a series of powerful posts on Facebook in May of 2018 that extended over a 2-month period.  Some of the actual posts are incorporated into The Hands That Held Me. As she exposed the horrific memories of her own childhood and publicly admitted to her addictions and afflictions, others stepped forth, inspired by her story, to tell their own story and begin their own journey of healing and recovery. 
    About the Author:  Despite it all, Lisa Jo earned a dual Bachelor and Masters degree in health sciences – Public Health.  She uses her life experiences and her education to improve the health and lives of others on a global scale.  Lisa Jo is the American Ambassador of ‘Hope For Rural Orphans,” an orphanage in Mbale, Uganda.  She also focuses much of her attention to actively raising awareness and pushing for public health policy changes regarding addiction and treatment.  Her goal is to help bring an end to policies that have cost hundreds of thousands of preventable deaths since the war on drugs and the opioid overdose epidemic began.  She is a voice and an advocate for all other survivors of abuse, domestic violence, and human trafficking and makes herself available to all who reach out to her on social media 24/7.
    Show book
  • The 12Th Plague: Religion - A Short History and Exposé of Religion’S Millennia-Long Strangle Hold on Society with All Its Schemes Controls and Corruption Revealed - cover

    The 12Th Plague: Religion - A...

    Peter Hendersen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Author exposes Religion as a form of Mafia that controls people through fear, by promising protection from Gods wrath.
    The title refers to the ten Plagues of Moses and the Black Plague and considers Religion the current Plague that must be cured. 
    The author offers a unique look at religious beliefs, massacres and wars, the fear tactics, ruthless methods and brainwashing techniques that religious leaders use to promote their fantasies and control people psychologically and financially.
    In a no-holds-barred manner, he exposes the corruption of this immense business that is religion, and documents the conflicts between religions and their century-long battles for supremacy. 
    This book describes all Councils of the Catholic Church, all of the 265 Popes and 37 Antipopes, the activities and depravity of many of them and the schism in the Catholic Church in the 14th and 15th centuries, when there were three Popes at the same time. It teaches the insanity of the Crusades, the horrors of the Inquisition, the in-fighting between popes and the appointment and deposition of popes by kings, governments and cardinals.
    It describes the origins of the Bible and Koran, discusses gods, the soul, beliefs, the heresy that is religion, the futility of praying, the poverty resulting from religions exploitation of the poor, religious terrorists, Islam, Jews, cloning, honour killing, blasphemy, out-of-body experience, aliens, gay marriages, Noahs deluge and many other interesting topics.
    This courageous work uses sound philosophical arguments, describing openly how the Church, in forbidding abortions and contraceptives, is causing deaths from illegal abortions, deaths by AIDS, and unwanted children who die of hunger at the rate of over 29,000 per day. It shows Religions clash with Civil Law and its control of politics by supporting religious politicians. 
    The author suggests a bold plan to rid the world of Religion.
    Show book