If you like reading, you will LOVE reading without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Poems on various subjects religious and moral - cover

Poems on various subjects religious and moral

Phillis Wheatley

Publisher: iOnlineShopping.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Poems on Various Subjects, Religious and Moral by Phillis Wheatley, Negro Servant to Mr. John Wheatley, of Boston, in New England (published 1 September 1773) is a collection of 39 poems written by Phillis Wheatley the first professional African-American woman poet in America and the first African-American woman whose writings were published.

Phillis Wheatley broke barriers as the first American black woman poet to be published, opening the door for future black authors. James Weldon Johnson, author, politician, diplomat and one of the first African-American professors at New York University, wrote of Wheatley that "she is not a great American poet—and in her day there were no great American poets—but she is an important American poet. Her importance, if for no other reason, rests on the fact that, save one, she is the first in order of time of all the women poets of America. And she is among the first of all American poets to issue a volume."

Other books that might interest you

  • Dumplin' - cover

    Dumplin'

    Julie Murphy

    • 8
    • 131
    • 0
    Now a popular Netflix feature film, starring Jennifer Aniston, Danielle Macdonald, and Dove Cameron, as well as a soundtrack from Dolly Parton! 
    The #1 New York Times bestseller and feel-good YA of the year—about Willowdean Dixon, the fearless, funny, and totally unforgettable heroine who takes on her small town’s beauty pageant. 
    Self-proclaimed fat girl Willowdean Dickson (dubbed “Dumplin’” by her former beauty queen mom) has always been at home in her own skin. Her thoughts on having the ultimate bikini body? Put a bikini on your body. 
    With her all-American beauty best friend, Ellen, by her side, things have always worked . . . until Will takes a job at Harpy’s, the local fast-food joint. There she meets Private School Bo, a hot former jock. Will isn’t surprised to find herself attracted to Bo. But she is surprised when he seems to like her back.  
     
    Instead of finding new heights of self-assurance in her relationship with Bo, Will starts to doubt herself. So she sets out to take back her confidence by doing the most horrifying thing she can imagine: entering the Miss Clover City beauty pageant—along with several other unlikely candidates—to show the world that she deserves to be up there as much as any girl does. 
    Along the way, she’ll shock the hell out of Clover City—and maybe herself most of all.
    Show book
  • Destroy Me - cover

    Destroy Me

    Tahereh Mafi

    • 4
    • 6
    • 0
    Set after Tahereh Mafi's Shatter Me and before Unravel Me, Destroy Me is a novella told from the perspective of Warner, the ruthless leader of Sector 45. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can't stop thinking about her—and he'll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent and The Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as "a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love" by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. 
    Don’t miss Defy Me, the shocking fifth book in the Shatter Me series!
    Show book
  • A Trick of the Light - cover

    A Trick of the Light

    Lois Metzger

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Telling a story of a rarely recognized segment of eating disorder sufferers—young men—A Trick of the Light by Lois Metzger is a book for fans of the complex characters and emotional truths in Laurie Halse Anderson's Wintergirls and Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why. 
    Mike Welles had everything under control. But that was before. Now things are rough at home, and they're getting confusing at school. He's losing his sense of direction, and he feels like he's a mess. Then there's a voice in his head. A friend, who's trying to help him get control again. More than that—the voice can guide him to become faster and stronger than he was before, to rid his life of everything that's holding him back. To figure out who he is again. If only Mike will listen.
    Show book
  • The Naughtiest Unicorn at Christmas - cover

    The Naughtiest Unicorn at Christmas

    Pip Bird

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Join Dave the naughtiest unicorn for magic and mayhem in this hilarious series for 6+ fans of Pamela Butchart, Rabbit and Bear, The Worst Witch and UNICORNS!
     
    Pull on your Christmas jumper and untangle the tinsel! It’s the week before Christmas and Mira and her friends are getting ready to celebrate the holidays with their unicorn best friends forever (UBFF)! 
     
    Dave the naughtiest unicorn LOVES Christmas, mainly because there are so many delicious things to EAT. Plus there's a tree to decorate, a festive quest and a very special CHRISTMAS SHOW to rehearse. Mira is desperate for her and Dave to play the lead roles of Snow Unicorn and Lost Child . . . will her wish come true? Or will Dave get distracted by all the mince pies? One thing is for sure . . . Christmas time at Unicorn School is sure to be festive fun for EVERYONE! 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Worst Witch, The Pug Adventures and Pamela Butchart.
     
    Pip Bird is a children’s author living in London. When she’s not writing magical stories, she dreams of going to Unicorn School and having her own Unicorn Best Friend Forever.
     
    The Naughtiest Unicorn series: The Naughtiest UnicornThe Naughtiest Unicorn at Sports DayThe Naughtiest Unicorn and the School DiscoThe Naughtiest Unicorn at Christmas
    Show book
  • A Court of Mist and Fury - cover

    A Court of Mist and Fury

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 23
    • 0
    The # 1 New York Times bestselling sequel to Sarah J. Maas' spellbinding A Court of Thorns and Roses. 
     
    Feyre survived Amarantha's clutches to return to the Spring Court--but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can't forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin's people. 
     
    Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms--and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future--and the future of a world cleaved in two. 
     
    With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas's masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.
    Show book
  • Queen of Hearts - cover

    Queen of Hearts

    Colleen Oakes

    • 3
    • 10
    • 0
    The first novel in Colleen Oakes’s epic, imaginative series tells the origin of one of the most infamous villains—the Queen of Hearts. 
    This is not the story of the Wonderland we know. Alice has not fallen down a rabbit hole. This is a Wonderland where beneath each smile lies a secret, each tart comes with a demand, and only prisoners tell the truth. 
    Dinah is the princess who will one day reign over Wonderland. She has not yet seen the dark depths of her kingdom; she longs only for her father’s approval and a future with the boy she loves. But when a betrayal breaks her heart and threatens her throne, she is launched into Wonderland’s dangerous political game. Dinah must stay one step ahead of her cunning enemies or she’ll lose not just the crown but her head.
    Show book