A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Spy Who Spoke Porpoise - cover

The Spy Who Spoke Porpoise

Philip Wylie

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A circus performer turned superspy is caught up in a Cold War web of conspiracy and death when the body of a murdered CIA agent is discovered in a Hawaiian marine park By any definition, Ringling Wallenda Grove is an extraordinary man. The son of expatriate Russian former circus owners, he mastered the arts of acrobatics, animal training, and magic at a young age, distinguished himself as an officer in World War II, and went on to amass a fortune of several million dollars before going into semiretirement.   But there is another side to this man that few know about. R. W. Grove is a master spy, having honed his trade as a postwar intelligence agent with the OSS. Now the murder of a Company agent, whose body was found floating among the aquatic animals in Honolulu’s popular Sea Life Park, is pulling Grove back into the game. A deadly international conspiracy is afoot, involving the nation’s most bitter and dangerous enemies, and it centers on a covert CIA operation code-named Zed—an undertaking so secretive that even the president can know nothing about it.    Renowned for his provocative, stunningly realized speculative fiction, Philip Wylie joined the ranks of John le Carré, Len Deighton, Robert Ludlum, and other masters of the espionage thriller when he first published The Spy Who Spoke Porpoise. Brimming with action, intrigue, and ingenious twists and turns, the novel brilliantly captures the fears, anxieties, paranoia, and rampant conspiracies that hallmarked the Cold War era.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dark Queen Rising - A medieval mystery series - cover

    Dark Queen Rising - A medieval...

    Paul Doherty

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    First in a brand-new historical mystery series featuring Margaret Beaufort, mother of King Henry VII and matriarch of the Tudor dynasty. 
    May, 1471. The Wars of the Roses are reaching their bitter and bloody climax. Edward of York has claimed the English throne, and his supporters are extracting a savage revenge on all who supported the Lancastrian cause. Surrounded by enemies wherever she turns, the position of Margaret Beaufort, Countess of Richmond and mother to Henry Tudor, the last remaining hope of the House of Lancaster, is precarious to say the least.
    Determined to protect her son whatever it takes, Margaret must rely on her sharp-witted clerk Christopher Ulswicke to be her eyes and ears. When four bodies are discovered in a London tavern, their throats slit, and Margaret herself is suspected of being behind the crime, it’s up to Ulswicke to prove his mistress’s innocence and unmask the real killer.
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book
  • The Cross-Legged Knight - The Owen Archer Series - Book Eight - cover

    The Cross-Legged Knight - The...

    Candace Robb

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    York, 1371. The Bishop of Winchester, William of Wykeham, is tasked with bringing home the remains of the powerful patriarch of the Pagnell family. But Wykeham’s arrival is fraught with tension. The Pagnells are reeling from their father’s death and they suspect Wykeham of having a hand in it. Days after his arrival, his townhouse burns to the ground—a terrible accident, or a threat.
    
    When the charred body of a woman is found in the remains, Wykeham fears for his reputation and his life. The Archbishop of York, John Thoresby, turns to the one-eyed spy, Owen Archer, for help.
    
    Archer, preoccupied by his wife’s tragic miscarriage, reluctantly agrees to investigate the case. But the attempt on Wykeham’s life runs deeper than anyone suspects. This tangled web includes knights, bishops, and even kings. When Archer discovers that the dead woman is a midwife known to all of York, including his wife, this dangerous plot is brought to his very home.
    Show book
  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 3
    • 16
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • An Afternoon to Kill - cover

    An Afternoon to Kill

    Shelley Smith

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    This Victorian mystery with twists and turns will keep you gripped until the very last page: “Prim and petticoated and poisonous” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review).   Lancelot Jones was on his way to his first job—as tutor to an Indian Rajah’s son. But the Rajah’s ancient plane and incompetent pilot dropped him in the middle of a desert. The wrong desert, at that.   Seeking shade, he finds the only dwelling of any size within miles and its curious owner, an old Englishwoman named Alva Hine. Taking him into her home, Alva begins to tell Lancelot an incredible tale. She tells him a strange story of a summer fifty years ago, of love and hate and murder in a respectable middle-class Victorian household . . .   And as the afternoon wears on, Alva’s story begins to take on an increasingly sinister note for the weary Mr. Jones. Soon, he has more than one reason to want to hear the end of the story . . .   “[An] amazing novel . . . I am completely under the spell of this fine writer.” —Pretty Sinister Books   “Entirely credible.” —Birmingham Post
    Show book
  • The Bad Place - cover

    The Bad Place

    M.K. Hill

    • 2
    • 7
    • 1
    The newspapers called it The Bad Place. A remote farm out on the Thames estuary, where six children were held captive for two weeks. Five of them got out alive. 
     
    That was twenty years ago. Now adults, they meet up annually to hold a candlelit vigil for their friend who died. The only rule is that no-one can talk about what happened the night they escaped. But at this year's event, one of them witnesses a kidnapping. A young girl, Sammi, is bundled into a van in front of their eyes. 
     
    Is history repeating itself? Is one of them responsible? Or is someone sending them a twisted message? 
     
    DI Sasha Dawson, of Essex Police, is certain that the key to finding Sammi lies in finding out the truth about The Bad Place. But she also knows that with every second she spends trying to unlock the past, the clock ticks down for the missing girl...
    Show book