Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
This Shall Be a House of Peace - cover

This Shall Be a House of Peace

Phil Halton

Publisher: Dundurn

  • 3
  • 9
  • 1

Summary

After the collapse of Afghanistan’s Soviet-backed government, a mullah finds himself doing anything to protect his students. 
 


Chaos reigns in the wake of the collapse of Afghanistan's Soviet-backed government. In the rural, warlord-ruled south, a student is badly beaten at a checkpoint run by bandits. His teacher, who leads a madrassa for orphans left behind by Afghanistan’s civil war, leads his students back to the checkpoint and forces the bandits out. His actions set in motion a chain of events that will change the balance of power in his country and send shock waves through history.

Amid villagers seeking protection and warlords seeking power, the Mullah's influence grows. Against the backdrop of anarchy dominated by armed factions, he devotes himself to building a house of peace with his students — or, as they are called in Pashto, taliban. Part intrigue, part war narrative, and part historical drama, This Shall Be a House of Peace charts their breathtaking ambition, transformation, and rise to power.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

    The Miniaturist - A Novel

    Jessie Burton

    • 3
    • 4
    • 0
    Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS 
    Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
    ”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
    On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
    But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
    Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
    Show book
  • Undiscovered Mazo de la Roche 9-Book Bundle - Explorers of the Dawn Possession Delight and 6 more - cover

    Undiscovered Mazo de la Roche...

    Mazo de la Roche

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Discover hidden gems from the bestselling author of the Jalna series.
     
     
    
    A farm inheritance cultivates an illicit love affair. An orphan finds a home with two sisters and their writer lodger and soon discovers strange and frightening events. Three motherless boys living at boarding school find freedom in their limitless imaginations. With these stories, Mazo de la Roche explores the lives of a fascinating and endearing set of characters.
     
     
    
    Discover beloved author Mazo de la Roche again with these enduring classics. Nine-book bundle includes: 
    
    
    Explorers of the Dawn 
    Possession
    Delight
    Lark Ascending
    Growth of a Man
    The Two Saplings
    A Boy in the House
    The Song of Lambert
    Bill and Coo
    Show book
  • The Alexandrian Embassy - cover

    The Alexandrian Embassy

    Robert Fabbri

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Rome, AD 39: Rome. Marcus Salvius Magnus, leader of the Crossroads Brotherhood, is buying a dangerous cargo of illegal weaponry. When a deal which will ensure Magnus's dominance over Rome's criminal underworld goes sour, Magnus must regain the shipment by any means necessary... 
    As the rival West Viminal Brotherhood threatens his whole operation, Magnus fights to outwit his opponents whilst juggling the threat of the law and the demands of his patron. With enemies, plots and intrigue on all sides, can Magnus manage to evade death long enough to emerge victorious? 
    A VESPASIAN NOVELLA
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 12
    • 116
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • A Father's Justice - A Junction City Western - cover

    A Father's Justice - A Junction...

    S. D. Parker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A man shouldn't outlive his son. Neither should his killer. 
    In a searing new western novelette from S. D. Parker, you will discover all a father will endure to see justice done right by his murdered son. 
    Luke Russell was a cowpuncher, making an honest way in the world at one of the biggest ranches outside of Junction City. But he got himself in trouble over a girl, and he paid the ultimate price. 
    Now, a stranger's in town, asking after Pete Davidson, the man who put a bullet in Luke Russell's gut. This stranger is old, and folks realize it's Luke father, come to kill Davidson. The gunslinger is young and vibrant, just like Luke Russell was. The old man doesn't stand a chance. 
    Or does he? 
    The answer comes in a brand-new western written in the style of Robert Vaughn, Louis L'Amour, and Chet Cunningham.
    Show book
  • Anvil of God - Book One of the Carolingian Chronicles - cover

    Anvil of God - Book One of the...

    J. Boyce Gleason

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It is 741. After subduing the pagan religions in the east, halting the march of Islam in the west, and conquering the continent for the Merovingian kings, mayor of the palace Charles the Hammer has one final ambitionthe throne. Only one thing stands in his wayhe is dying.
     
    
    Charles cobbles together a plan to divide the kingdom among his three sons, betroth his daughter to a Lombard prince to secure his southern border, and keep the Church unified behind them through his friend Bishop Boniface. Despite his best efforts, the only thing to reign after Charless death is chaos. His daughter has no intention of marrying anyone, let alone a Lombard prince. His two eldest sons question the rights of their younger pagan stepbrother, and the Church demands a steep price for their support. Son battles son, Christianity battles paganism, and Charless daughter flees his court for an enemys love.
     
    
    Based on a true story, Anvil of God is a whirlwind of love, honor, sacrifice, and betrayal that follows a bereaved familys relentless quest for power and destiny.
    Show book