Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Healer of Harrow Point - cover

The Healer of Harrow Point

Peter Walpole

Publisher: Hampton Roads Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Thomas Singer is eleven years old. Soon, on his twelfth birthday, his father will present him with his first shotgun and take him on his first deer hunting trip. Thomas longed to go hunting all his young life, until the day he saw poachers shooting a deer, until the day he meet Emma. That day, as Thomas watched the wounded deer fall, something magical happened: a mysterious old woman suddenly rushed out from among the trees, laid her hands on the graceful animal, and somehow completely healed it. That day his life changed forever. With Emma's guidance, Thomas learns to heal and communicate with animals forcing him to realize he could never kill one. Now his whole world is turned upside down. He loves his father and doesn't want to disappoint him; in his father's eyes, being a man is to go hunting with men. But his birthday is coming fast, and soon he will have to choose.In the tradition of Where the Red Fern Grows and Old Yeller, The Healer of Harrow Point is a classic coming-of-age story in which a young boy learns the beauty of life, the folly of violence, and the secrets of true friendship.
Available since: 03/01/2000.
Print length: 144 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • My Puppy's Journey - cover

    My Puppy's Journey

    Barbra Hesson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The different stages a puppy goes through till reaching adulthood
    Show book
  • Dragon Storm: Connor and Lightspirit - Connor and Lightspirit - cover

    Dragon Storm: Connor and...

    Alastair Chisholm

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The seventh book in a thrilling, magical, and action-packed new fantasy series, illustrated throughout and perfect for 7-9 year olds!
    
    In the land of Draconis, there are no dragons.
    
    Once, there were. Once, humans and dragons were friends, and created the great city of Rivven together.
    
    But then came the Dragon Storm, and the dragons retreated from the world of humans.
    
    To the men and women of Draconis, they became legends and myth.
    
    When dragonseer, Connor, and his dragon, Lightspirit, solve an impossible puzzle, they are taken immediately to the palace. There they meet someone who needs their help to stop the Dragon Storm, and save Draconis from a terrible war!
    
    But something isn't adding up ... and not everyone can be trusted. Can Connor and Lightspirit work out who's really behind the Dragon Storm before it's too late?
    
    An exciting new fantasy series from the highly acclaimed author of Orion Lost, brilliantly illustrated throughout, and perfect for fans of Beast Quest and Dragon Mountain.
    Show book
  • Hymns for Kids - cover

    Hymns for Kids

    Kim Mitzo Thompson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Today's kids sing yesterday's hymns — contemporary arrangements of 25 all-time favorite hymns.
    Show book
  • Who's Wins? - cover

    Who's Wins?

    Lissa Rovetch

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Highlights presents Who's Wins? by Lissa Rovetch. Tex and Indi argue after playing tic-tac-toe.
    Show book
  • Saving for the Future - An introduction to Financial Literacy - cover

    Saving for the Future - An...

    Mattie Reynolds

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Saving for the Future helps children see the benefits of saving a portion of money earned. The book addresses the concepts of needs and wants. Introduce beginning readers to key financial concepts in the early elementary curriculum. Children build vocabulary and comprehension as they learn the four basic concepts of financial literacy: earning, saving, spending, and sharing.
    Show book
  • What's That You're Saying? - cover

    What's That You're Saying?

    Marty Kaminski

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Compilation piece about how sports players communicate with each other. Athletes include Rachel Buehler (Soccer) Chris Young (Baseball) Mo Williams (Basketball) and Meghan Duggan (Women's Ice Hockey).
    Show book