Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Topsys & Turvys Book 2 - cover

Topsys & Turvys Book 2

Peter Newell

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A timeless classic, Topsys and Turvys Number 2 is the perfect interactive book for people of all ages.It's been 120 years since Peter Newell's enduringly popular Topsys and Turvys 2—the sequel to his bestselling Topsy and Turvys—was first published in the United States. Using the same ingenious style and imagination, he invents worlds of confusion and fun as he transforms hunters into bears, has a buffalo converse with a tree frog, or creates and illustrates pure nonsense. The story changes depending on whether you are holding the action book "upside-down" or "right-side-up."These beautiful classic books reproduce all of the brilliant color and charm of the originals while ensuring that Topsys and Turvys can be shared and enjoyed anew by future generations.Peter Newell (1862-1924) began his career as an artist drawing portraits, using crayons as his medium. In his fantastic humor, many believe, is the first appearance of the gentle comedy of the absurd which The New Yorker has subsequently developed to such a high level. Tuttle Publishing has kept Newell's retro books in print for the new generation to enjoy a whimsical, thought-provoking look at life.

Who read this book also read:

  • Sky Rider - cover

    Sky Rider

    Nancy Springer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Everything changes when a handsome stranger rides off into the night on Dusty’s horse There’s no way around it: Dusty’s horse Tazz needs to be put down. Once a champion jumper, Tazz can barely walk now due to hoof pain. And that’s not the only thing that’s wrong in Dusty’s life. Since her mother’s death, Dusty’s dad hasn’t stopped drinking—even after his drunk driving put Dusty in the hospital with a now-chronic back injury. Why don’t they just put me down too? she wonders. While Dusty is giving Tazz one last grooming, his ears suddenly prick up as a stranger approaches: a young boy with an otherworldly beauty. He offers to take Tazz with him, and the two race off into the distance as though Tazz were in perfect health, with the boy perched on his back. Who could this person be? And what is he doing here? It’s only when Dusty returns to school the next day that she hears about the boy who was killed. When she sees his photo in the newspaper, she knows that he’s the mysterious guy who rode off on Tazz. What she doesn’t know is that he will soon return.
    Show book
  • 21 Stolen Kisses - cover

    21 Stolen Kisses

    Lauren Blakely

    • 4
    • 23
    • 0
    ***NOW A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!*** 
     
     
    When I first met him I resisted.  
    Like any forbidden love, I told myself he was a crush, and it would pass. 
    That was a lie. It never faded. 
     
    And I never expected he would fall for me just as hard.  
     
    There were so many reasons that should have kept us apart, least of all, the decade that separated us. 
    Growing up in New York City, I learned early on that love is a double-edged sword.  
    Love broke up my parents, love took away my friends, and love -- the big, intense, never-been-like-this-before 
    love -- landed me in therapy. 
    Now I'm heading to college, and it's time to give love a clean slate again. But, can I really start over when he's still in my life? 
    Because the one man I've always wanted, and also the only guy I absolutely can't have… 
    And he wants me just as fiercely.  
     
    Can I settle for anything less than the love of my life? 
     
     
    Reviews:  
     
    "21 Stolen Kisses captured my heart from the first page and didn't let go. It made my heart ache, leap from joy, and ultimately root for a love that's forbidden yet unstoppable." - NYT Bestselling Author Claire Contreras 
     
    "21 Stolen Kisses was a truly beautiful and genuine love story. This is romantic as it gets, people. Lauren Blakely brought it, and she brought it hard. Nothing will make you believe in true love more than this story right here." - Shayna Renee's Spicy Reads
    Show book
  • The Queen of Attolia - cover

    The Queen of Attolia

    Megan Whalen Turner

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Discover the world of the Queen’s Thief 
    New York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with political machinations and intrigue, battles lost and won, dangerous journeys, divine intervention, power, passion, revenge, and deception. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Marie Lu, Patrick Rothfuss, and George R. R. Martin. 
    The brilliant thief Eugenides has visited the Queen of Attolia’s palace one too many times, leaving small tokens and then departing unseen. When his final excursion does not go as planned, he is captured by the ruthless queen. The Queen’s Thief novels have been praised by writers, critics, reviewers, and fans and have been honored with glowing reviews, “best of” citations, and numerous awards, including the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, a Newbery Honor, the Andre Norton Award shortlist, and the Mythopoeic Fantasy Award. Discover and rediscover the stand-alone companions, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, A Conspiracy of Kings, and Thick as Thieves, all epic novels set in the world of the Queen’s Thief.  
    This edition of The Queen of Attolia includes "Knife Dance," an exclusive story about Eugenides by Megan Whalen Turner, an introduction to the characters from the world of the Queen’s Thief, and a map of the world of the Queen’s Thief. 
    A Booklist Top 10 Fantasy Books for Youth 
    ALA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults 
    A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Age 
    Parent’s Choice Gold Award  
    A Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books Blue Ribbon Book 
    “The Queen’s Thief books awe and inspire me. They have the feel of a secret, discovered history of real but forgotten lands. The plot-craft is peerless, the revelations stunning, and the characters flawed, cunning, heartbreaking, exceptional. Megan Whalen Turner’s books have a permanent spot on my favorites shelf, with space waiting for more books to come.”—Laini Taylor, New York Times-bestselling author of the Daughter of Smoke and Bone novels and Strange the Dreamer 
    "Unforgettable characters, plot twists that will make your head spin, a world rendered in elegant detail—you will fall in love with every page of these stories. Megan Whalen Turner writes vivid, immersive, heartbreaking fantasy that will leave you desperate to return to Attolia again and again."—Leigh Bardugo, New York Times-bestselling author of the The Grisha Trilogy and Six of Crows 
    “Megan Whalen Turner proves to be one of the brightest creative talents. With each book, she continues to add new levels and new luster to her sparkling imagination.”—Lloyd Alexander, Newbery Medalist and National Book Award-winning author of The Chronicles of Prydain  
    “Readers will be spellbound.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) 
    “Turner’s storytelling is so sure that readers will want to go along with her—and discover whatever it is that Eugenides will do next.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) 
    “[An] intense read . . . thoroughly involving and wholly satisfying on all fronts.”—The Horn Book (starred review)
    Show book
  • Liza the Flower Girl - cover

    Liza the Flower Girl

    Speedy Publishing

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Liza is as excited as she can possibly be. Her aunt Lowell is getting married and Liza is going to be a flower girl. She is four years old and " a very big girl now." as Aunt Lowell tells her. Aunt Lowell is marrying her long time boyfriend, a man that Liza just loves and she can't wait to be in the wedding with her mother, Susen, who is a bridesmaid. She is very proud of her new white leather shoes. They look just like ballet slippers and the dress that Aunt Lowell bought her is light purple, her very favorite color. Her cousin Elly is going to be the ring bearer. She gets more and more excited until the evening of wedding practice. When the organ begins to play, her feet will just not move. They seem just stuck in place. Her aunt Lowell looks sad and her mother's lips got that firm set that they got just before she asks her if she is going to be ill. Liza wants to walk down that aisle to make Aunt Lowell proud but her legs feel like rubber. Aunt Lowell steps up to Lowell and asks her softly if she can speak to her. Liza nodded yes. When she returns, she has a secret smile and her legs are no longer feeling weak. What did Aunt Lowell say to her that helped her to be able to walk down the aisle and not be afraid?
    Show book
  • A Walk in the Rain - Jimmy's Picture Books - cover

    A Walk in the Rain - Jimmy's...

    Jimmy Brown

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sara loves to walk in the rain with her Mommy. Sometimes they go to the forest to see all the animals and birds. On todays walk, something magical happens. It's the best walk ever for Sara
    Show book
  • A PACK OF RAGAMUFFINS - An English Children’s Tale - Baba Indaba Children's Stories - Issue 149 - cover

    A PACK OF RAGAMUFFINS - An...

    Anon E. Mouse

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ISSN: 2397-9607 Issue 149
    In this 149th story in the Baba Indaba’s Children's Stories series, Baba Indaba narrates a tale about a hen, a cock, a duck, a needle, a pin and an inn-keeper who counted his chickens before they’d hatched.……. Download and read this story to find out exactly what happened to the characters in this frivolous tale.
    
    Baba Indaba is a fictitious Zulu storyteller who narrates children's stories from around the world. Baba Indaba translates as "Father of Stories".
    
    Each issue also has a "WHERE IN THE WORLD - LOOK IT UP" section, where young readers are challenged to look up a place on a map somewhere in the world. The place, town or city is relevant to the story, on map. HINT - use Google maps.
    
    33% of the profit from the sale of this book will be donated to charities.
    INCLUDES LINKS TO DOWNLOAD 8 FREE STORIES
     
    Show book