Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Topsys and Turvys Number 2 - cover

Topsys and Turvys Number 2

Peter Newell

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A timeless classic, Topsys and Turvys Number 2 is the perfect interactive book for people of all ages.It's been 120 years since Peter Newell's enduringly popular Topsys and Turvys 2—the sequel to his bestselling Topsy and Turvys—was first published in the United States. Using the same ingenious style and imagination, he invents worlds of confusion and fun as he transforms hunters into bears, has a buffalo converse with a tree frog, or creates and illustrates pure nonsense. The story changes depending on whether you are holding the action book "upside-down" or "right-side-up."These beautiful classic books reproduce all of the brilliant color and charm of the originals while ensuring that Topsys and Turvys can be shared and enjoyed anew by future generations.Peter Newell (1862-1924) began his career as an artist drawing portraits, using crayons as his medium. In his fantastic humor, many believe, is the first appearance of the gentle comedy of the absurd which The New Yorker has subsequently developed to such a high level. Tuttle Publishing has kept Newell's retro books in print for the new generation to enjoy a whimsical, thought-provoking look at life.

Who read this book also read:

  • Cart and Cwidder - cover

    Cart and Cwidder

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Cart and Cwidder is the first in the best-selling Dalemark Quartet of books and tells the story of Moril and his brother and sister who are travelling musicians journeying through Dalemark, until one day they pick up a mysterious passenger. Somehow Moril's family and the stranger are becoming bound together in terror, flight, and music.
    Show book
  • Eat Brains Love - cover

    Eat Brains Love

    Jeff Hart

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A laugh-out-loud funny, surprisingly romantic, zombie road trip novel filled with heart—and brains. Eat, Brains, Love is perfect for fans of Isaac Marion's Warm Bodies. 
    The good news: Jake's dream girl, Amanda Blake, finally knows his name. 
    The bad news: it's because they both contracted a mysterious zombie virus and devoured the brains of half their senior class. Now Jake and Amanda are on the run from Cass, a teen psychic sent by the government's top-secret Necrotic Control Division to track them down. As Jake and Amanda deal with the existential guilt of eating their best friends and set off in search of a cure for the zombie virus, Cass struggles with a growing psychic dilemma of her own—one that will lead all three of them on an epic journey across the country and make them question what it means to truly be alive. Or undead.
    Show book
  • Fins Are Forever - cover

    Fins Are Forever

    Tera Lynn Childs

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    On Lily Sanderson’s eighteenth birthday she’ll become just a girl—still a mergirl, true, but signing the renunciation will ink Princess Waterlily of Thalassinia out of existence. That leaves plain old Lily living on land, dating the boy she loves, and trying to master this being-human thing once and for all. 
    Now that Lily and Quince are together, mer bond or not, she’s almost content to give up her place in the royal succession of Thalassinia. But just when she thinks she has everything figured out, the waves start to get rough. Lily’s father sends a certain whirlpool-stirring cousin to stay with her on land. What did Doe do to get herself exiled from Thalassinia and stuck in terraped form when everyone knows how much she hates humans? And why why why is she batting her eyelashes at Lily’s former crush, Brody? 
    The seafoam on the raging surf comes when a merboy from Lily’s past shows up—Tellin asks Lily for something that clouds her view of the horizon. There’s a future with Quince on land, her loyalty to the kingdom in the sea, and Lily tossing on the waves in the middle. Will she find a way to reconcile her love, her duty, and her own dreams? 
    Tera Lynn Childs’s sequel to Forgive My Fins offers another tail-flicking romance with plenty of fun, sun, and underwater adventure.
    Show book
  • Uninvited - cover

    Uninvited

    Sophie Jordan

    • 2
    • 6
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Confessions of a Murder Suspect. 
    Davy had everything—a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard—but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school, avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become. 
    Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions—not the code embedded into her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself?
    Show book
  • The Society - Spy Girl #3 - cover

    The Society - Spy Girl #3

    Jillian Dodd

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the third book in sizzling series filled with action and adventure. Fans of The Selection and The Hunger Games will discover a heart-pounding thrill ride of espionage and suspense set in glittering high society. 
    Sent to London for their next mission, Huntley and Ari are guests at Malcolm Prescott’s home, where Ari is asked to join a secret group called The Society, and Huntley learns more about her “father” Ares Von Allister.  
    Spy Girl was trained not to have emotional entanglements, but Huntley is learning that it’s hard to survive in the real world without them. As she uncovers hidden truths about her past, the knowledge leaves her reeling and questioning everything. She’s going to have to trust someone, and it’s not going to be Black X. So she goes against her training and forms relationships—caring, trusting, and, maybe, even loving.  
    But relationships are dangerous for a spy. Particularly one who will be facing her most challenging mission to date. Tasked with getting close to the illusive Money Man, she will be forced to delve into a seedy underworld that will threaten her very existence.
    Show book
  • Autumn Unlocked - Summer Unplugged #2 - cover

    Autumn Unlocked - Summer...

    Amy Sparling

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The sequel to Summer Unplugged. This is a novella at approx 17,000 words. 
     
    After a summer grounded from technology, Bayleigh is back home and rebuilding her relationship with her mother. Her boyfriend Jace keeps his promise and stays in Texas, where he works at a local motocross track. 
     
    Knowing her relationship with Jace is something special and not like all the guys before him, Bayleigh is determined to keep their love strong, despite his notorious fame in the motocross world and the dozens of girls throwing themselves at him in his new job. 
     
    The Entire Series 
     
    Book 1 - Summer Unplugged 
    Book 2 - Autumn Unlocked 
    Book 3 - Winter Untold 
    Book 4 - Spring Unleashed 
    Book 5 - The Beginning of Forever (a novel) 
    Book 6 - Autumn Adventure 
    Book 7 - Winter Wonderful 
    Book 8 - The Girl with my Heart (a novel from Jace's point of view) 
    Book 9 – Autumn Awakening 
    Book 10 – Winter Whirlwind 
     
    Plus the spin-off series: 
     
    The Summer Series 
    Summer Alone 
    Summer Together 
    Summer Apart 
    Summer Forever 
     
    Jett’s Series 
    Believe in Me 
    Believe in Us 
    Believe in Forever
    Show book