Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Hacienda - How Not to Run a Club - cover

The Hacienda - How Not to Run a Club

Peter Hook

Publisher: It Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The acclaimed and wildly outlandish inside account of England’s most notorious music club, The Hacienda, from Peter Hook, the New York Times bestselling author of Unknown Pleasures and co-founder of Joy Division and New Order—a story of music, gangsters, drugs, and violence, available for the first time in the United States. 
During the 1980s, The Hacienda would become one of the most famous venues in the history of clubbing—a celebrated cultural watershed alongside Studio 54, CBGBS, and The Whiskey—until its tragic demise. 
Founded by New Order and Factory Records, The Hacienda hosted gigs by such legendary acts as the Stone Roses, the Smiths, Bauhaus, Grandmaster Flash, Run DMC, Kurtis Blow, and Happy Mondays; gave birth to the “Madchester” scene; became the cathedral for acid house; and laid the tracks for rave culture and today’s electronic dance music. But over the course of its fifteen-year run, “Madchester” descended into “Gunchester” as gangs, drugs, greed, and a hostile police force decimated the dream. 
Told in Hook’s uproarious and uncompromising voice, The Hacienda is a funny, horrifying, and outlandish story of success, idealism, naïveté, and greed—of an incredible time and place that would change the face and sound of modern music. 
The Hacienda includes 32 photographs in 16-page four-color insert. 

Who read this book also read:

  • Can't Forgive - My 20-Year Battle with OJ Simpson - cover

    Can't Forgive - My 20-Year...

    Kim Goldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Don’t tell her she needs to find closure. Don’t ask her to forgive and forget.When Kim was just 22, her older brother, Ron Goldman, was brutally killed by O.J. Simpson. Ron and Kim were very close, and her devastation was compounded by the shocking not guilty verdict that allowed a smirking Simpson to leave as a free man.It wasn’t Kim’s first trauma. Her parents divorced when she was young, and she and Ron were raised by their father.  Her mother kidnapped her, telling her that her father didn’t love her any more. When she was 14, she was almost blinded from severe battery acid burns on her face during an automobile accident, requiring three reconstructive surgeries.But none of these early traumas compared to the loss of her brother, the painful knowledge that his killer was free, and fact that she could not even grieve privately—her grief was made painfully public. Counseled by friends, strangers, and even Oprah to “find closure,” Kim chose a different route. She chose to fight.Repeatedly, Kim and her family pursued Simpson by every legal means. Foiled over and over again, they ultimately achieved a small measure of justice.Kim’s story is one of tragedy, but also of humanity and, often, comedy. Living life as one of America’s most famous “victims” isn’t always easy, especially as a single mother in the dating market. She often had bizarre first date experiences, with one man even breaking down into tears and inconsolable with grief after realizing who she was.Ultimately Kim’s story is that of an ordinary person thrown into extraordinary circumstances at a very young age, and who had the courage—despite the discouragement of so many—to ignore the conventional wisdom and never give up her fight for justice.
    Show book
  • Alex - The Life of a Child - cover

    Alex - The Life of a Child

    Frank Deford

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A father’s moving memoir of cystic fibrosis “captures a brave child’s legacy as well as the continuing fight against the genetic disease” (TheNew York Times). In 1971 a girl named Alex was born with cystic fibrosis, a degenerative genetic lung disease. Although health-care innovations have improved the life span of CF patients tremendously over the last four decades, the illness remains fatal. Given only two years to live by her doctors, the imaginative, excitable, and curious little girl battled through painful and frustrating physical-therapy sessions twice daily, as well as regular hospitalizations, bringing joy to the lives of everyone she touched. Despite her setbacks, brave Alex was determined to live life like a typical girl—going to school, playing with her friends, traveling with her family. Ultimately, however, she succumbed to the disease in 1980 at the age of eight. Award-winning author Frank Deford, celebrated primarily as a sportswriter, was also a budding novelist and biographer at the time of his daughter’s birth. Deford kept a journal of Alex’s courageous stand against the disease, documenting his family’s struggle to cope with and celebrate the daily fight she faced. This book is the result of that journal.Alex relives the events of those eight years: moments as heartwarming as when Alex recorded herself saying “I love you” so her brother could listen to her whenever he wanted, and as heartrending as the young girl’s tragic, dawning realization of her own very tenuous mortality, and her parents’ difficulty in trying to explain why. Though Alex is a sad story, it is also one of hope; her greatest wish was that someday a cure would be found. Deford has written a phenomenal memoir about an extraordinary little girl.
    Show book
  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book
  • Don't You Know Who I Think I Am? - Confessions of a First-Class Asshole - cover

    Don't You Know Who I Think I Am?...

    Justin Ross Lee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Who is JRL?
    
    How dare you not know! Justin Ross Lee is a completely self-created, self-inflated Internet celebrity; “Jew Jetter”; and social media virtuoso. When he’s not causing trouble on Bravo or headlining VH1, you’ll find Justin having red-carpet run-ins with A-list celebrities, getting blacklisted from airlines and nightclubs, and monopolizing the tabloid pages with his boisterous bad-boy behavior. Famous for being famous? He’s famous for telling you he’s famous.
    
    So how did this privileged prick from Scarsdale become a jet-setting, luxury-loving, travel-hacking aristo-brat with an army of followers on social media? Don’t worry, JRL is here to tell you. Love him or loathe him—he doesn’t care—he promises to make you laugh so hard you’ll cry, whether it’s at him or with him. Is this book satire or the instructional manual for the modern narcissist? Either way, Don’t You Know Who I Think I Am? is a story of how one man was dubbed “The ego that attacked NYC” by the New York Post and what that man can teach you so you’ll never have to wait in line again.
    Show book
  • Shadowhunters and Downworlders - A Mortal Instruments Reader - cover

    Shadowhunters and Downworlders -...

    Cassandra Clare

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Explore the world of the Mortal Instruments with Cassandra Clare and moreJoin Cassandra Clare and a Circle of more than a dozen top YA writers, including New York Times bestsellers Holly Black, Rachel Caine, and Kami Garcia, as they write about the Mortal Instruments series, its characters, and its world.Inside you’ll read:• A cinematic tutorial on why the best friend (Simon) always loses out to the bad boy (Jace)• The unexpected benefits of the incest taboo• What we can read between the lines of Alec and Magnus’ European vacation• The importance of friendship, art, humor, and rebellion• And more, from the virtues of Downworlders to the naughty side of Shadowhunting
    Show book
  • Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir - cover

    Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir

    Dave Mustaine, Joe Layden

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n’ roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insider’s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.
    Show book