Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Cat's Pajamas and Witch's Milk - cover

The Cat's Pajamas and Witch's Milk

Peter De Vries

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Twin tales of middle-class hilarity and despair from the writer who was dubbed “America’s preeminent comic novelist” by the New York Times When college professor Hank Tattersall sees his former flame, Lucy Stiles, at a campus concert, it sets off a chain reaction that results in one of the funniest and most unforgettable exit scenes in American literature—involving a locked door, an alcoholic dog, and a punning doppelgänger. The Cat’s Pajamas is the story of how Tattersall, a scrupulous self-reflector, falls from point A to point Z, rushing through a host of identities and indignities along the way. The unexamined life may not be worth living, he discovers, but the examined one is hardly a bed of roses. In Witch’s Milk, Tillie Seltzer has her own trials to attend to. Chief among them is her marriage to Pete, the kind of guy who tucks a cigarette behind his ear and calls everybody Frisbee. When they first met, Tillie had more sophisticated tastes—dark strangers, homburg hats—but she was also a thirtysomething virgin whose prospects weren’t getting any better. When she cracked a joke about the honeymoon being over, Pete believed her. Now stuck in suburbia with a sick child and a philandering husband, Tillie takes a hard look in the rearview mirror. Her search for an escape route will lead her to the most unexpected place of all. These short novels are linked by Tillie’s cameo appearance in Hank’s narrative and by the thrilling blend of satire, tragedy, and philosophy that defines the one-of-a-kind fiction of Peter De Vries. 
Available since: 10/21/2014.
Print length: 234 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Reinhart in Love - cover

    Reinhart in Love

    Thomas Berger

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Pulitzer Prize–nominated author of Little Big Man proves that sometimes war doesn’t change a person, but the world he lives in.   Carlo Reinhart returns home from his service in Germany expecting the Ohio he left not too long ago. What he finds instead is new technology, old attitudes, and people he’s not sure he can relate to anymore.   As Reinhart stumbles back into life as a civilian, he finds camaraderie in the most unlikely places. A former classmate, Splendor Mainwaring, a man too smart for his lot in life as a mechanic, becomes a new and eccentric friend. His boss isn’t just the most over-eager real estate agent in town; he’s also a seasoned con man. Not even settling down comes easy to the gentle Reinhart. Duping him into marriage, his new wife Genevieve Raven is a force to be reckoned with.   Endlessly surprising, this funny, sharp-edged narrative is Pulitzer Prize–finalist Thomas Berger at his very best. With an over the top cast of characters, it’s impossible not to fall in love with the exact people that make Reinhart’s life impossible.   “Picture Fielding’s Tom Jones in a 20th century landscape and you’ll have some idea of Reinhart in Love.” —The New York Times
    Show book
  • Affair to Dismember An - cover

    Affair to Dismember An

    Elise Sax

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three months has been Gladie Burger's limit when it comes to staying in one place. That's why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her Grandma Zelda — who is more than a little psychic — recruits her into the family's matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What's more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has her clairvoyant "gift." But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.When Zelda's neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family's drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor's death was murder. It's not too long before she's in way over her head — with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she's unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued — either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?
    Show book
  • Flirtation or Faceoff - cover

    Flirtation or Faceoff

    Leah Brunner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After getting my heart broken, I’ve sworn off athletes forever. Then my best friend has to go and marry an NHL player, and his teammate, Colby Knight, won’t leave me alone. Colby is a master at scoring (on and off the ice), and he’s not used to being told no. So he takes my disinterest as an invitation to pursue me even harder. I ignore him…until I realize I can use his expertise to help me get my crush’s attention. But now that he’s my dating coach, and we’re spending so much time together, I’m growing more and more distracted. I mean, those dimples? Very enticing. Just when I think he might be more than just a playboy hockey player, a blast from the past comes back and reminds me why I swore off athletes in the first place. Can I trust Colby, or is he just another jerk who will break my heart? Trigger warnings: cheating exes; mild language
    Show book
  • Stories - An Audio Collection - cover

    Stories - An Audio Collection

    Garrison Keillor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "I think people have an absolute ear for what is true," Garrison Keillor told an interviewer. It is this rare and marvelous sense of truth—of laughter, joy, and compassion and situations—that makes Keillor such a brilliant and beloved storyteller. 
    The collection includes: Your Book Saved My Life, Mister, End of the Trail, Meeting Famous People, Family Honeymoon Al Denny, Basketball, After A Fall, The Babe, We Are Still Married, Drowning, Attitude, Letter From Ruth Luger to Joanne Leinenkranz, Nu Er Der Youl Igen, The Chuck Show of Television.
    Show book
  • Discount - A Novel - cover

    Discount - A Novel

    Casey Gray

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “[A]n acerbic spoof of corporate retail giants . . . the novel displays . . . considerable storytelling gifts...the result is an eye-opening romp of narrative.” —Publishers Weekly (starred review) 
     
     
     
    Set in the American Southwest, Casey Gray’s ambitious tragicomic debut novel follows a group of customers and employees through the twenty-four hour work cycle inside a classic American institution—The Superstore. With a cast of characters including Ernesto, a local gang member struggling to choose his day job over a desultory life as a drug dealer; Wilma, a grandmother working double shifts to support her family; and Keith, a high school student with a penchant for filmmaking, Gray offers a humane and contemporary portrait of life on the suburban fringe. Discount is a triumphant and big-hearted novel you won’t soon forget. 
     
    “Fans of Jonathan Franzen and T. C. Boyle, Sam Lipsyte and Jonathan Tropper will flock to Gray’s hearty satire of rampant consumerism and corporate arrogance.” —Booklist (starred review) 
     
    “With this novel, Casey Gray leaps into the American literary landscape as an author who cannot be ignored.” —Robert Boswell, author of Tumbledown, Mystery Ride, Crooked Hearts, and Century’s Son 
     
    “By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, personal and political, and all in the very best ways.” —Antonya Nelson, author of Funny Once 
     
    “Unsentimental but huge-hearted, Discount is concerned only with literature’s bottom line—honesty and empathy.” —Chris Bachelder, author of U.S.!, Lessons in Virtual Tour Photography, and Bear v. Shark 
     
      
     
    “This book is an Altman film. . . . Gray combines a complex vision of the wide heart of America with an eye for all the things that are constantly wounding it.” —David MacLean, author of The Answer to the Riddle Is Me
    Show book
  • Oh Well You Know How Women Are and Isn't That Just Like a Man! - cover

    Oh Well You Know How Women Are...

    Irvin S. Cobb

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This warm, affectionate duet of essays by two of the early twentieth century's most popular writers is a bit dated but still entertaining.  Summary by David Wales.
    Show book