Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
30 Days in Sydney - A Wildly Distorted Account - cover

30 Days in Sydney - A Wildly Distorted Account

Peter Carey

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

After living abroad for years, novelist Peter Carey returns home to Sydney and attempts to capture its character with the help of his old friends, drawing the reader into a wild and wonderful journey of discovery and rediscovery as bracing as the southerly buster that sometimes batters Sydney's shores. Famous sights such as Bondi Beach, the Opera House, the Harbour Bridge and the Blue Mountains all take on a strange new intensity when exposed to the penetrating gaze of the author and his friends.

Other books that might interest you

  • Through the Eye of a Needle - A Story of Survival - cover

    Through the Eye of a Needle - A...

    Brian Moore, Alec N. Mutz

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Alec Mutzs childhood came to an end in 1939, when Nazi soldiers marched into his hometown of Tarnobrzeg, Poland. His life would never be the same. Within a matter of months his family was torn apart, and ten-year-old Alec found himself struggling to survive alongside his father, Samuel.
    
    Through the Eye of a Needle chronicles the life of a child who is forced to come of age in some of Hitlers most notorious concentration camps. Witness to countless acts of barbarity, he endures slave labor, beatings, starvation, and forced marching during his six years of incarceration. Yet with the support of his father, he lives to see the end of one of historys most epic human tragedies.
    Show book
  • Generation Robot - A Century of Science Fiction Fact and Speculation - cover

    Generation Robot - A Century of...

    Terri Favro

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    A history of robotics and technology told from Terri Favro's experiences growing up with robots on TV to today's technological reality. 
    
    
    
    
    For fans of Mary Roach and Jon Ronson, written from the point of view of the late-boomer generation known as Generation Jones (born 1954 to 1962). 
    
    
    
    
    Covers a century of science fiction, fact, and speculation –– from the 1950 publication of Isaac Asimov’s I, Robot, to the release of Tesla’s self driving car, to the 2050 Singularity when artificial and human intelligence is predicted to merge. 
    
    
    
    
    Generation Robot addresses hard science, technological innovation, and pop-culture in a fun and accessible voice that will appeal to a wider readership, not just for serious scientific readers . 
    
    
    
    
    Terri Favro has published several works of science fiction in Canada, this is her non-fiction debut
    Show book
  • The Little Book of Mary Queen of Scots - cover

    The Little Book of Mary Queen of...

    Mickey Mayhew

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Mary Queen of Scots is perhaps one of the most controversial and divisive monarchs in regal history. Her story reads like a particularly spicy novel, with murder, kidnap, adultery, assassination and execution. To some she is one of the most wronged women in history, a pawn used and abused by her family in the great monarchical marriage game; to others, a murderous adulteress who committed regicide to marry her lover and then spent years in captivity for the crime, endlessly plotting the demise of her cousin, Queen Elizabeth I of England. This book covers the entire breath-taking scope of her amazing life and examines the immense cultural legacy she left behind, from the Schiller play of the 1800s to the CW teen drama Reign. Temptress, terrorist, or tragic queen, this book will give you the lowdown on one of history’s most misunderstood monarchs.
    Show book
  • The Client Decides: : A Litigator's Life - Jackie Onassis Vice President Spriro Agnew Donald Trump Roy Cohn and more - cover

    The Client Decides: : A...

    Martin London

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A fascinating trial lawyer's memoir in which renowned litigator Martin London takes the reader inside cases of national importance, like the one involving his client Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis in a precedent shattering First Amendment case, and representing her son John Kennedy Jr. as well. The breezy narrative also describes his trial work as part of the team that won a record-breaking jury award on behalf of valiant physicians who refused to buckle under to the murder threats of a group of anti-abortion extremists, and the author reveals why the government’s criminal case against his client Vice President Spiro Agnew ended the way it did. London also represented Agnew’s predecessor, Vice President Hubert Humphrey in the political-legal battle that led to Humphrey’s winning the1968  Democratic nomination but losing the election to Richard Nixon. For a change of pace,  London reveals the strategy and tactics that produced a record jury verdict in a nationally followed case against CBS and its Chicago TV anchor Walter Jacobson. That victory was affirmed all the way up to the Supreme Court. In another matter, the author describes his defense of his lawyer-friend who was sued by Donald Trump for $105,000,000! London’s work in that case was so successful, that in the end, Trump paid London’s fees! The book also reports the details of the author’s pro bono work that led to the disbarment of Roy Cohn, and the removal and sanction of unfit judges and lawyers. A great assortment of other criminal and civil cases are described, some of which were legally and physically challenging, and some are just interesting and funny. Indeed, throughout the entire book, London displays an easygoing sense of humor, no matter how serious the subject. Finally, London gives a quick view of the events leading up to his to career as a trial lawyer, including his legal and other adventures during his tours of duty in the U.S Army, and the unsuspecting help he received in that process, from The Godfather author Mario Puzo. In sum, this book is an inviting read for lawyers and non-lawyers alike. 
     
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • Mary Queen of Scots - cover

    Mary Queen of Scots

    Jacob Abbott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sorry, we have no synopsis for this book right now. Sign in to read it on 24symbols.com
    Show book