The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Story of a Goat - cover

The Story of a Goat

Perumal Murugan

Translator N Kalyan Raman

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Perumal Murugan is the star of contemporary Tamil literature and one of the most important living writers in India, having garnered both critical acclaim and commercial success for his work. Grove published his American debut, One Part Woman, to a great reception last fall, and the novel was longlisted for the inaugural National Book Award for Literature in Translation. 
One Part Woman received glowing reviews from major publications. In the New York Times, Parul Sehgal raved, “I’m hoping for a whole shelf of books from this writer,” and the New Yorker wrote, “Subtly subversive . . . The novel considers the constraints of tradition.”
Murugan was featured in a New York Times profile in 2016, and we are expecting a New Yorker profile to coincide with the publication of The Story of a Goat. 
The Story of a Goat joins the ranks of such novels as The Guest Cat and The Friend in its literary exploration of the rich inner life of an animal.
The Story of a Goat is an allegorical examination of power, abuse, surveillance, and greed, based on Murugan’s own experience of the autocratic and conservative Modi regime. However, Murugan chose to approach these topics through the lens of an animal instead of a human given the controversy and backlash in India to One Part Woman’s publication in 2015; in his preface, he writes, “I am fearful of writing about humans . . . [but] there are only five species of animals with which I am deeply familiar . . . Therefore, I have chosen to write about goats.” 
The English translation is a bestseller in India and has been translated into ten Indian languages (as well as Korean). The novel was shortlisted for the first annual JCB Prize for Literature, whose jury—which includes the writer Vivek Shanbhag—wrote, “Funny and warm . . . Perumal Murugan is a master story-teller who reflects profoundly on our transactional society and its inequities and struggles . . . A powerful modern fable.”
Murugan was recently elected one of the Vice Presidents of PEN International, joining a list of international luminaries that includes Margaret Atwood, Toni Morrison, and J.M. Coetzee.

Other books that might interest you

  • Macho Meditations - cover

    Macho Meditations

    Thomas W. Cathcart, Daniel M. Klein

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    An uproariously funny daily inspirational guide for manly men. Ralph and Reggie—two regular, blue-collar buds from Boston—offer one-a-day mcnuggets of affirmation, inspiration, manly wisdom and earth-shaking epiphanies from the end of the bar on the inner issues that truly matter—everything from sex to sports to sex to imported vs. domestic to sex to the meaning of life.
    Show book
  • In Dog Years I'm Dead - Growing Old (Dis)Gracefully - cover

    In Dog Years I'm Dead - Growing...

    Carol Lynn Pearson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Here  are quips and jokes for that vast half of humanity that is on the  inevitable road to aging and knows that sharing laughter with friends is  one of the best ways to live until you die. Samplings:When did my wild oats turn to prunes and All-Bran?Happy hour is naptime now.I finally got all of my stuff together and now I can't remember where I put it.
    Show book
  • Love Me Like You Do - an emotional story of love and finding yourself - cover

    Love Me Like You Do - an...

    Aimee Brown

    • 3
    • 28
    • 1
    A runaway bride. A handsome stranger. Two pasts to put behind them. 
     
    Parker is ready to marry the man of her dreams. But he isn't ready to marry her. When she's dumped moments before walking down the aisle, she didn't expect to run into the arms of a handsome stranger. The southern drawl, the dreamy eyes, she can't fall for another man after being left at the altar – can she? 
     
    When Liam agreed to go on yet another blind date, he didn't expect his escape would lead him to the emergency room with a runaway bride. She might have just been left at the altar, but he's immediately drawn to her fiery spirit, kind heart and beautiful smile. Liam's got a whole host of problems and a past that's haunting him, now can't be the time to fall in love, but Parker might just be the one to break down his barriers and let him live a little – if she'll let him in. 
     
    Will these two strangers allow serendipity to force them together, or will their fears keep them apart? 
     
    From the bestselling author of The Lucky Dress comes a story about love, finding yourself and living your dreams.
    Show book
  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book