"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Story of a Goat - cover

The Story of a Goat

Perumal Murugan

Translator N Kalyan Raman

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Perumal Murugan is the star of contemporary Tamil literature and one of the most important living writers in India, having garnered both critical acclaim and commercial success for his work. Grove published his American debut, One Part Woman, to a great reception last fall, and the novel was longlisted for the inaugural National Book Award for Literature in Translation. 
One Part Woman received glowing reviews from major publications. In the New York Times, Parul Sehgal raved, “I’m hoping for a whole shelf of books from this writer,” and the New Yorker wrote, “Subtly subversive . . . The novel considers the constraints of tradition.”
Murugan was featured in a New York Times profile in 2016, and we are expecting a New Yorker profile to coincide with the publication of The Story of a Goat. 
The Story of a Goat joins the ranks of such novels as The Guest Cat and The Friend in its literary exploration of the rich inner life of an animal.
The Story of a Goat is an allegorical examination of power, abuse, surveillance, and greed, based on Murugan’s own experience of the autocratic and conservative Modi regime. However, Murugan chose to approach these topics through the lens of an animal instead of a human given the controversy and backlash in India to One Part Woman’s publication in 2015; in his preface, he writes, “I am fearful of writing about humans . . . [but] there are only five species of animals with which I am deeply familiar . . . Therefore, I have chosen to write about goats.” 
The English translation is a bestseller in India and has been translated into ten Indian languages (as well as Korean). The novel was shortlisted for the first annual JCB Prize for Literature, whose jury—which includes the writer Vivek Shanbhag—wrote, “Funny and warm . . . Perumal Murugan is a master story-teller who reflects profoundly on our transactional society and its inequities and struggles . . . A powerful modern fable.”
Murugan was recently elected one of the Vice Presidents of PEN International, joining a list of international luminaries that includes Margaret Atwood, Toni Morrison, and J.M. Coetzee.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Lucky Dress - The perfect feel-good romance for 2020 - cover

    The Lucky Dress - The perfect...

    Aimee Brown

    • 4
    • 41
    • 0
    We all have our lucky dress... an irresistibly hilarious rom-com! 
     
    Emi Harrison hasn't been feeling particularly lucky lately. Ever since her ex-fiancée, Jack Cabot, successfully shattered her heart into a million pieces. She's managed to avoid him for a whole year, but all that's about to change at her brother Evan's wedding... 
     
    She will have to face Jack, Jack's sister, Jack's parents, and Jack's new girlfriend: a mean girl that just won't quit. What could possibly go wrong? 
     
    With her lucky dress on, all bets are off, and maybe Emi will find her happily-ever-after at last? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Anna Bell, Jo Watson and Sophie Kinsella. 
     
    Praise for The Lucky Dress: 
     
    'One of my favorite books this year, maybe even ever' Michelle Harris. 
     
    'I was sucked in from the start and pretty much devoured the book' Nikki Newcomb. 
     
    'Perfect beach reading book' Danielle Dobson. 
     
    'Funny, relatable story' Erin Butler. 
     
    'I enjoyed this frothy, funny rom-com and read it in one sitting. Perfect beach read!' Amanda Driver.
    Show book
  • I Am A Cat - cover

    I Am A Cat

    Aiko Ito, Natsume Soseki

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "A nonchalant string of anecdotes and wisecracks, told by a fellow who doesn't have a name, and has never caught a mouse, and isn't much good for anything except watching human beings in action…" —The New Yorker Written over the course of 1904-1906, Soseki Natsume's comic masterpiece, I Am a Cat, satirizes the foolishness of upper-middle-class Japanese society during the Meiji era. With acerbic wit and sardonic perspective, it follows the whimsical adventures of a world-weary stray kitten who comments on the follies and foibles of the people around him. A classic of Japanese literature, I Am a Cat is one of Soseki's best-known novels. Considered by many as the greatest writer in modern Japanese history, Soseki's I Am a Cat is a classic novel sure to be enjoyed for years to come.
    Show book