Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
One Part Woman - cover

One Part Woman

Perumal Murugan

Translator Aniruddhan Vasedevan

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Perumal Murugan is the star of contemporary Tamil literature, having garnered both critical acclaim and commercial success for his work. One Part Woman sold 100,000 copies in India, and Grove’s edition will be his American debut. One Part Woman deals with questions of gender, caste, and ethnicity, offering a view into South Indian life and society. The novel sparked controversy in India as the plot centers around a festival that celebrates the half-female half-male god Maadhorubaaghan (from whose name the novel gets its title)—on the eighteenth night of the festival, men and women are allowed to sleep with people other than their husbands or wives. The couple’s mothers decide that this might be the solution to their children’s fertility problems. The depiction of this rite (which still goes on in Southern India today) led to calls to ban the book from certain circles, and led to Murugan’s being dubbed “the Tamil Irvine Welsh” by the Guardian. But the Madras High Court upheld Murugan’s right to free speech and he continues to have a very high profile in India, regularly speaking at festivals and commenting on contemporary matters from folklore to politics. The New York Times introduced Murugan to American readers with a glowing profile in summer 2016, declaring him “a major Indian writer . . . neither sentimental nor harsh,” but no work of Murugan’s has ever been published in the United States or UK, only within India. Very few works by contemporary Indian writers, especially those not writing in English, are published in the U.S. and we expect reviewers and booksellers to support this book and writer. Murugan plans to visit the U.S. in connection with the book for select events in New York and elsewhere TBC and will be available for interview. For readers of Ghachar Ghochar and those who enjoyed Kiran Desai’s Hullaballoo in the Guava Orchard or Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things, One Part Woman is a powerful portrait of rural, working-class India, an important counterpart to books that explore the urban experience. PEN International recently featured the book as part of its “Read the Resistance” campaign. They will support publication, as will organizations such as the Asian American Writers Workshop. We are approaching authors including Karan Mahajan, Anuk Arudpragasam, Katharine Boo, Min Jin Lee, and Aravind Adiga for blurbs.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Handsome Monk and Other Stories - cover

    The Handsome Monk and Other Stories

    Tsering Dondrup

    • 2
    • 11
    • 0
    Tsering Döndrup is one of the most popular and critically acclaimed authors writing in Tibetan today. In a distinct voice rich in black humor and irony, he describes the lives of Tibetans in contemporary China with wit, empathy, and a passionate sense of justice. The Handsome Monk and Other Stories brings together short stories from across Tsering Döndrup’s career to create a panorama of Tibetan society. 
    With a love for the sparse yet vivid language of traditional Tibetan life, Tsering Döndrup tells tales of hypocritical lamas, crooked officials, violent conflicts, and loyal yaks. His nomad characters find themselves in scenarios that are at once strange and familiar, satirical yet poignant. The stories are set in the fictional county of Tsezhung, where Tsering Döndrup’s characters live their lives against the striking backdrop of Tibet’s natural landscape and go about their daily business to the ever-present rhythms of Tibetan religious life. Tsering Döndrup confronts pressing issues: the corruption of religious institutions; the indignities and injustices of Chinese rule; poverty and social ills such as gambling and alcoholism; and the hardships of a minority group struggling to maintain its identity in the face of overwhelming odds. Ranging in style from playful updates of traditional storytelling techniques to narrative experimentation, Tsering Döndrup’s tales pay tribute to the resilience of Tibetan culture.
    Show book
  • Blood Bond: 6 - cover

    Blood Bond: 6

    Helen Hardt

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Dante Gabriel needs Erin Hamilton’s blood. The hunger is all-consuming, and his health and life are in danger, as well as hers. Still, he refuses to force her to feed him. She must come to him willingly. Once she does, they will be bound for eternity.
     
    Erin feels like she’s been transported into another world. Ghosts, werewolves, and vampires are all real? Even her best friend is not what she seems. Erin tries to escape this new reality by delving further into the mystery at the hospital. When she asks one question too many, she finds herself in jeopardy…and she fears Dante may be a part of it.
    Show book
  • Habitat 762 - cover

    Habitat 762

    Valery Keith

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In Deep Space, Nobody Wants to be Left Behind. 
     
    In the last few days of a two-year assignment, a survey team, isolated on a beautiful but toxic planet, finds out that mistakes and accidents can extract a brutal price. Now, things are coming apart at every turn as their equipment and shelter begins to break down all around them, despite the efforts of Ms. Betty, their habitat's self-aware, artificial intelligence. 
    Lindsey, the team's biology tech, begins to wonder about the causes of the accidents. Are they simply because of worn-out equipment, or are the hostile conditions of the planet to blame? 
     
    Now the clock is ticking. Will she survive long enough to learn the truth?
    Show book
  • THE ADVENTURES OF JOSEPH ROULETABILLE: The Mystery of the Yellow Room & The Secret of the Night (Thriller Classics) - One of the First Locked-Room Mystery Crime Novels Featuring the Young Journalist and Amateur Detective Joseph Rouletabille - cover

    THE ADVENTURES OF JOSEPH...

    Gaston Leroux

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This carefully crafted ebook: "THE ADVENTURES OF JOSEPH ROULETABILLE: The Mystery of the Yellow Room & The Secret of the Night (Thriller Classics)” is formatted for your eReader with a functional and detailed table of contents:
    "The Mystery of the Yellow Room” is one of the first locked-room mystery crime fiction novels. It is the first novel starring fictional detective Joseph Rouletabille, and concerns a complex and seemingly impossible crime in which the criminal appears to disappear from a locked room. Leroux provides the reader with detailed, precise diagrams and floorplans illustrating the scene of the crime. The emphasis of the story is firmly on the intellectual challenge to the reader, who will almost certainly be hard pressed to unravel every detail of the situation. Also included in this edition is the thriller novel "The Secret of the Night”.
    Gaston Leroux (1868-1927) was a French journalist and author of detective fiction. In the English-speaking world, he is best known for writing the novel The Phantom of the Opera (Le Fantôme de l'Opéra, 1910), which has been made into several film and stage productions of the same name. His novel The Mystery of the Yellow Room is also one of the most famous locked-room mysteries ever.
    Show book
  • Your Wife VS My Brat - The Winner's Man Dominates The Loser In The Ring - cover

    Your Wife VS My Brat - The...

    Ariadne Vice

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I always thought my mom's boyfriend Evan was hot. Even -- or maybe because of -- as a man so much older and more experienced than I am. But I had no idea he ran an underground catfighting ring. For stakes. Mom fought for him regularly, and they talked me into it as well. I thought maybe the winner would get Evan. Unfortunately, that's not how it works. The losing girl gets taken, plowed, enjoyed by the man who brought the winning girl. And tonight, I've been picked to go up against a housewife who has a long string of brutal catfighting victories behind her. If I can't take this MILF in the ring, then I'd better watch out for her husband's massive staff!
    Show book
  • Doomsday Conspiracy - The New Novel - cover

    Doomsday Conspiracy - The New Novel

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Handpicked by the NSA to track down and identify the ten known witnesses to the recent crash of a weather balloon, Robert Bellamy searches for clues in Rome, Budapest, and Texas.
    Show book