Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
One Part Woman - cover

One Part Woman

Perumal Murugan

Translator Aniruddhan Vasedevan

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Perumal Murugan is the star of contemporary Tamil literature, having garnered both critical acclaim and commercial success for his work. One Part Woman sold 100,000 copies in India, and Grove’s edition will be his American debut. One Part Woman deals with questions of gender, caste, and ethnicity, offering a view into South Indian life and society. The novel sparked controversy in India as the plot centers around a festival that celebrates the half-female half-male god Maadhorubaaghan (from whose name the novel gets its title)—on the eighteenth night of the festival, men and women are allowed to sleep with people other than their husbands or wives. The couple’s mothers decide that this might be the solution to their children’s fertility problems. The depiction of this rite (which still goes on in Southern India today) led to calls to ban the book from certain circles, and led to Murugan’s being dubbed “the Tamil Irvine Welsh” by the Guardian. But the Madras High Court upheld Murugan’s right to free speech and he continues to have a very high profile in India, regularly speaking at festivals and commenting on contemporary matters from folklore to politics. The New York Times introduced Murugan to American readers with a glowing profile in summer 2016, declaring him “a major Indian writer . . . neither sentimental nor harsh,” but no work of Murugan’s has ever been published in the United States or UK, only within India. Very few works by contemporary Indian writers, especially those not writing in English, are published in the U.S. and we expect reviewers and booksellers to support this book and writer. Murugan plans to visit the U.S. in connection with the book for select events in New York and elsewhere TBC and will be available for interview. For readers of Ghachar Ghochar and those who enjoyed Kiran Desai’s Hullaballoo in the Guava Orchard or Arundhati Roy’s The God of Small Things, One Part Woman is a powerful portrait of rural, working-class India, an important counterpart to books that explore the urban experience. PEN International recently featured the book as part of its “Read the Resistance” campaign. They will support publication, as will organizations such as the Asian American Writers Workshop. We are approaching authors including Karan Mahajan, Anuk Arudpragasam, Katharine Boo, Min Jin Lee, and Aravind Adiga for blurbs.

Other books that might interest you

  • Tales From The Perilous Realm - cover

    Tales From The Perilous Realm

    J.R.R. Tolkien

    • 2
    • 13
    • 0
    Available for the first time in one volume, this is the definitive collection of Tolkien’s five acclaimed modern classic ‘fairie’ tales in the vein of ‘The Hobbit’, fully corrected and reset for this edition.
    The five tales are written with the same skill, quality and charm that made The Hobbit a classic. Largely overlooked because of their short lengths, they are finally together in a volume which reaffirms Tolkien's place as a master storyteller for readers young and old.
    
    • Roverandom is a toy dog who, enchanted by a sand sorcerer, gets to explore the world and encounter strange and fabulous creatures.
    • Farmer Giles of Ham is fat and unheroic, but - having unwittingly managed to scare off a short-sighted giant - is called upon to do battle when a dragon comes to town;
    • The Adventures of Tom Bombadil tells in verse of Tom's many adventures with hobbits, princesses, dwarves and trolls;
    • Leaf by Niggle recounts the strange adventures of the painter Niggle who sets out to paint the perfect tree;
    • Smith of Wootton Major journeys to the Land of Faery thanks to the magical ingredients of the Great Cake of the Feast of Good Children.
    
    World-renowned Tolkien author and expert, Tom Shippey, takes the reader through the hidden links in the tales to Tolkien's Middle-earth in his Introduction, and recounts their history and themes.
    
    Lastly, included as an appendix is Tolkien's most famous essay, "On Fairy-stories", in which he brilliantly discusses fairy-stories and their relationship to fantasy.
    
    Taken together, this rich collection of new and unknown work from the author of The Children of Húrin will provide the reader with a fascinating journey into lands as wild and strange as Middle-earth.
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 3
    • 48
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • Beyond: Technology - cover

    Beyond: Technology

    Scott Overton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Three tricky tangles with technology:
    
    
    
     
    Once
    Upon A Midnight
    
     
    A woman whose job at a bio-weapons lab is
    to calculate the destructiveness of the world’s most deadly organisms is
    overwhelmed by a personal calamity. And the results could be catastrophic.
    (First published in In Poe’s Shadow, Dark Opus Press, 2011 and Tesseracts 16:
    Parnassus Unbound, Hades Publications, Inc., 2012.)
    
     
    Democracy
    
     
    A small tropical island claims to have
    perfect democracy thanks to technology enabling every citizen to vote on every
    issue of governance. When cynical reporter Jayne Connor investigates, the truth
    is stranger than anything she could have imagined.
    
     
    Shakedown
    
     
    A top gaming competitor seems like the
    perfect choice to pilot a virus-sized submersible through the bloodstream by
    virtual reality. But can the human mind exist in two realities at one time?
    (First published in Canadian Tales of the Fantastic, Red Tuque Books, 2011.)
    
    
    
     
    Praise
    for Scott Overton:
    
     
    “A storyteller of boundless skill…a writer
    to watch.”
    
     
    “A gifted wordsmith.”
    Show book
  • Fertile for Aliens Bundle - cover

    Fertile for Aliens Bundle

    Jade Bleu

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     3 stories of women being fertilized rough by alien princes!
    A trio of tales where aliens claim females who are ripe and ready to have seed planted hard and deep inside. Includes Fertile for Aliens 1-3, Chance, Anabel, and Iris. Get the bundle and save!
    
    A bundle of erotic alien takeover stories featuring fertile fun with hungry, multi-limbed aliens and DP with rear entry. 
    Show book
  • Exit Stage Left: A contemporary police procedural set in London and Paris - cover

    Exit Stage Left: A contemporary...

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Detective Chief Inspector Brock investigates the murder of a well-known actorWhen the body of Lancelot Foley, a well-known actor, is discovered in an excavation in a fashionable Chelsea street one snowy February morning, Detective Chief Inspector Harry Brock is assigned the case.Is the dead man’s wife, fellow actress Vanessa Drummond, as innocent as she would like the police to believe? As Brock – aided by Detective Sergeant Dave Poole and Kate Ebdon, his Australian-born detective inspector – investigates, the case takes him from London to Paris, and there will be more than one death before the shocking case is solved.
    Show book
  • The Rogue Retrieval - cover

    The Rogue Retrieval

    Dan Koboldt

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the tradition of Terry Brooks' Landover series, Piers Anthony Xanth books, and Terry Pratchett's Discword novels, scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval.  
    Sleight of hand…in another land 
    Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he’s about to make the big-time. 
    What he doesn’t expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real. 
    That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He’s after an employee who has gone rogue, and that’s the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians…and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out. 
     
    Show book