What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Woman Who Took in Parcels - And Opened One - cover

The Woman Who Took in Parcels - And Opened One

Penny Kline

Publisher: Accent Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Miss Seymour is growing a little tired of taking in other people’s parcels. As one of the residents of Faraday Road remarks, “What would we do without you, Jane?” What indeed! 

While signing for yet another of her neighbour’s online orders, she can’t help noticing how badly wrapped it is and how easy it would be to peel off the sticky tape, check the contents, then reseal it. 

Someone else’s parcel.

The day the nightmare began.

Other books that might interest you

  • I Know You Know - A Novel - cover

    I Know You Know - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Gilly Macmillan comes this original, chilling and twisty mystery about two shocking murder cases twenty years apart, and the threads that bind them. 
    Twenty years ago, eleven-year-olds Charlie Paige and Scott Ashby were murdered in the city of Bristol, their bodies dumped near a dog racing track. A man was convicted of the brutal crime, but decades later, questions still linger. 
    For his whole life, filmmaker Cody Swift has been haunted by the deaths of his childhood best friends. The loose ends of the police investigation consume him so much that he decides to return to Bristol in search of answers. Hoping to uncover new evidence, and to encourage those who may be keeping long-buried secrets to speak up, Cody starts a podcast to record his findings. But there are many people who don’t want the case—along with old wounds—reopened so many years after the tragedy, especially Charlie’s mother, Jess, who decides to take matters into her own hands.  
    When a long-dead body is found in the same location the boys were left decades before, the disturbing discovery launches another murder investigation. Now Detective John Fletcher, the investigator on the original case, must reopen his dusty files and decide if the two murders are linked. With his career at risk, the clock is ticking and lives are in jeopardy…
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book
  • Rabid - cover

    Rabid

    Kris Rimmer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rabid is to humans what King's Cujo was to dogs...
     
    Nestled among shady pines, a pair of brothers splash in a babbling brook, their faces lit up with childlike glee. Around them, squirrels frolic in trees, and rabbits nibble on grass. Birds sing a symphony of harmony.
     
    Shortly after their father’s death, Adam and his 14-year-old brother embark on a camping trip. Because their father was an abusive alcoholic, they both struggle with a myriad of sentiments—sadness that he’s gone, relief that the abuse is over, sorrow that they’ll never experience fatherly love or pride. Surely therapeutic nature can remedy their afflictions.
     
    Precipitously, horror replaces their tranquil panorama. Thrashing wildly, Adam spews obscenities, and foam bubbles from his lips. In a paradox of iniquity, brothers become enemies, as their inner demons spring to life. 
    Show book
  • Unto Us a Son Is Given - A Comissario Guido Brunetti Mystery - cover

    Unto Us a Son Is Given - A...

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Donna Leon’s previous novel, The Temptation of Forgiveness, was a New York Times national bestseller and a regional bestseller for many weeks across the country, as well as a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice.
    Her books have sold over two million copies in North America.
    All of Leon’s recent Brunetti books have appeared on the New York Times Bestseller List. Earthly Remains debuted at #12, and The Waters of Eternal Youth reached #10. Falling in Love debuted at #5 in hardcover fiction, her highest debut ever. By Its Cover and The Golden Egg both reached #7.
    In recent years Leon’s sales and critical esteem have only risen. These are fantastic books that just keep getting better.
    Donna Leon has been named one of the 50 Greatest Crime Writers of all time by both Time and the Times of London.
    Leon has fans everywhere; Ruth Bader Ginsburg is a close friend and supporter, and both Hillary Clinton and R.L. Stine named Leon as a favorite writer in the New York Times Book Review’s “By the Book” section.
    Show book
  • Max O'Brien Mysteries 3-Book Bundle - The Kashmir Trap The Roma Plot The Tanzania Conspiracy - cover

    Max O'Brien Mysteries 3-Book...

    Mario Bolduc

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    It’s not easy to have enemies everywhere … but con artist Max O’Brien is a man of the world. Read all three of Max's adventures in this special ebook collection. 
     
    
    
    The Kashmir Trap — Book #1 
    
    Professional con man Max O’Brien is on the run from police when he learns that his diplomat nephew has been assassinated in New Delhi. Eleven years earlier, Max’s brother mysteriously disappeared while serving as an ambassador. Determined to find answers this time, Max goes to India, on the verge of war with Pakistan, to unravel a violent past. 
     
    
    The Roma Plot — Book #2 
    
    When con man Max O’Brien hears that one of his best friends is wanted for the murder of twenty-three people in Romania, he heads to Bucharest to uncover the truth. As Max uncovers secrets reaching back to Europe’s darkest days, he ends up with one foot in the present and the other in the past, scrambling to save his friend?s future. 
     
    
    The Tanzania Conspiracy — Book #3 
    
    Max O’Brien travels to Tanzania to solve a friend’s murder, but finds himself wrapped up in the murky history of a killing spree of African albinos, and facing the possibility that his friend may have been collateral damage of a gruesome slaughter. Could the connection be real? Even in the face of horror, Max will stop at nothing to find out.
    Show book
  • Blood of the Oak - Duncan McCallum #4 - cover

    Blood of the Oak - Duncan...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The year is 1765, at the beginning of the Stamp Tax dissent, the first organized resistance to English rule.
    
     
    Duncan McCallum is drawn into the mystery of a series of murders and kidnappings that are strangely connected to the theft of an Iroquois artifact. In following the trail, he uncovers a network of secret runners supporting the nascent "committees of correspondence," engaged in the first organized political dissent across colonial borders. 
    
     
    When he is captured and thrown into slavery with the kidnapped runners, Duncan encounters a powerful conspiracy of highly placed English aristocrats who are bent on crushing all dissent. Inspired by an aged Native American slave and new African friends, Duncan decides not just to escape but to turn their own intrigue against the London lords.
    
     
    The fourth instalment of the Bone Rattler series moves ever closer to the beginning of the American Revolution.
    
     
    Blood of the Oak takes a fresh view on the birth of the new American nation, suggesting that the "freedom" that became the centerpiece of the Revolution was uniquely American, rising not just from unprecedented political discourse but also from the extraordinary bond with the natural world experienced by frontier settlers and native tribes.
    
     
     
    
     
    Praise for Blood of the Oak:
    
     
     
    
    "The fourth in Pattison's Bone Rattler series combines well-drawn fictional and historical personages in a vivid portrayal of a pivotal year in American history. Historical mystery at its best." — Booklist (Starred Review)
    
     
    "The fourth instalment in Pattison's Bone Rattler series is another complexly plotted historical mystery written in a baroque style highly suggestive of the period and unblinking in its portrayal of American history's dark lessons." — Kirkus
    
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of a Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, Bone Rattler, Eye of the Raven and most recently, Original Death. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book