Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Woman Who Took in Parcels - And Opened One - cover

The Woman Who Took in Parcels - And Opened One

Penny Kline

Publisher: Accent Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Miss Seymour is growing a little tired of taking in other people’s parcels. As one of the residents of Faraday Road remarks, “What would we do without you, Jane?” What indeed! 

While signing for yet another of her neighbour’s online orders, she can’t help noticing how badly wrapped it is and how easy it would be to peel off the sticky tape, check the contents, then reseal it. 

Someone else’s parcel.

The day the nightmare began.

Other books that might interest you

  • Winter King The - A Hawkenlye 13th Century British Mystery - cover

    Winter King The - A Hawkenlye...

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    All Saint’s Eve, 1211. An overweight but wealthy nobleman, desperate for an heir, dies at the celebration feast he’s thrown in his own hall. A natural death . . . or at the hands of his reluctant new wife?Sabin de Gifford, an apothecary and healer of note, is called to examine the body, and concludes that he died of a spasm to the heart. But she is troubled, all the same, and beset by suspicions. Did the man really die of a heart attack? Or was something more sinister to blame?There is only one person Sabin can turn to for help: fellow healer Meggie, daughter of Sir Josse d’Acquin. But what she requires of her is dangerous indeed . . .
    Show book
  • Naked Flames - cover

    Naked Flames

    Graham Ison

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    DCI Harry Brock’s leisurely Saturday afternoon is shattered when he receives the news that Robert Sharp, a charming, good-looking man in his thirties, has been found dead in a suspicious fire in his hut at the Pretext Club, a nudist club near Harrow. 
    
    Besides being a philandering husband, it seems Robert Sharp was a conman on the wanted list of three different constabularies, a chameleon who managed to escape the police’s clutches and justice . . . until now. Plunged into a deadly mix of deception, betrayal and fraud, Harry and his colleague DS Dave Poole soon uncover a number of people with a grudge against Robert, but can they unmask his killer?
    Show book
  • Music of the Distant Stars - cover

    Music of the Distant Stars

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The new 'Lassair' mystery from the author of the 'Hawkenlye' books - Very early one summer morning, Lassair slips out of her Fenland village on a deeply personal mission and discovers the body of a young woman, hidden where it has no place to be. The girl's identity is quickly discovered but, as she wonders who killed her and why, Lassair swiftly becomes mystified and frightened. Why did a sweet-natured seamstress have to die? Suspicion soon creeps uncomfortably close to home; then another body is found . . .
    Show book
  • Task Lyst - cover

    Task Lyst

    Scott Hylbert

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Techno-Thriller:  Set in the heart of Silicon Valley, this thrilling story illustrates the endless possibilities that technology has in making our lives easier, but as we invite strangers in so do we invite danger.
    
    
    
     
    Convincing:  Apps are commonplace in many different facets of our every day life and everyone will relate to the fears behind these remote transactions.
    
    
    
     
    Suspenseful:  Filled with action and intrigue, this book will leave you at the edge of your seat.
    Show book
  • The Pastor and the Private Eye - cover

    The Pastor and the Private Eye

    T.H. Pine

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “You have a right to remain silent…” the police officer directed at Pastor Vint Montrose as he bundled him into the back of the patrol car. Faced with a rape/murder charge he can’t get out from under and, with his small-town pastorate crumbling around him, things looked grim until a spunky, self-reliant private investigator from Philadelphia, named Cilla Stephenson, arrived at his door. He accepts her help and sets in motion a series of events that uncover secrets that shatter the once-peaceful, rural community of Bronson, Pennsylvania.The Pastor and the Private Eye is a murder mystery that delves into the dark side of human nature. It tells a story of hate, suspicion and unspeakable acts, as well as one of trust, redemption … and love. It examines the lengths to which people will go to hide the truth and the resourcefulness and determination others will employ to uncover it. It also explodes the myth that rural communities lay beyond the reach of the heinous horrors of the big city. Through it all, two people discover that they are never beyond the love of God. Mix equal parts of mystery, dark doings, criminal investigation and forensic medicine with a dash of romance and, above all, faith and you have the formula for The Pastor and the Private Eye.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book