Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Poisoned Proposal: A Pride and Prejudice Variation - Dark Darcy Mysteries #3 - cover

The Poisoned Proposal: A Pride and Prejudice Variation - Dark Darcy Mysteries #3

Penelope Swan

Publisher: Wisheart Press

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

A Regency mystery for Jane Austen fans! A retelling of Pride and Prejudice.. re-imagined with mystery and intrigue along the way! 
Book 3 of a Four-Part Series 
When Elizabeth Bennet arrives at Hunsford Parsonage to visit her newlywed friend, she is horrified to find Charlotte accused of poisoning her husband’s patroness, Lady Catherine de Bourgh. Determined to prove her friend’s innocence, Elizabeth begins her own investigation and soon discovers that Lady Catherine has many enemies. Would one of them stoop to murder? When her search for answers is challenged by the handsome, austere Mr Darcy, Elizabeth braces herself for a battle of wills, but he surprises her with a proposal of a very different kind… 
A romantic Regency mystery inspired by Jane Austen's Pride & Prejudice! This is the third book in the Dark Darcy series - a Pride and Prejudice variation combining suspense and romance. * Each book in this series features a standalone mystery which is resolved, but the overall story of Darcy and Elizabeth's courtship is told over the 4 books of the series. 
- The Netherfield Affair (Book 1) 
- Intrigue at the Ball (Book 2) 
- The Poisoned Proposal (Book 3) 
- Secrets at Pemberley (Book 4)

Who read this book also read:

  • Most Inconvenient Marriage (Ozark Mountain Romance Book #1) - cover

    Most Inconvenient Marriage...

    Regina Jennings

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Abigail Stuart Thought She was Jeremiah Calhoun's Widow.But Jeremiah Calhoun Is Very Handsome, Very Alive, and Very Perplexed.Most Inconvenient Indeed.With few options of her own, nurse Abigail Stuart agrees to marry her patient, a gravely wounded soldier calling himself Jeremiah Calhoun. They arrange a quick ceremony before he dies, giving Abigail the rights to his Ozark farm and giving Jeremiah the peace of knowing someone will care for his ailing sister after he's gone--a practical solution for both of them. After the war, Abigail fulfills her side of the bargain--until the real Jeremiah Calhoun shows up, injured but definitely alive, and wastes no time in challenging Abigail's story. Abigail is flummoxed. After months of claiming to be his widow, how can she explain that she's never seen this Jeremiah Calhoun before? How can she convince him that she isn't trying to steal his farm? And will she find a way to stay, even though this practical arrangement has turned into a most inconvenient marriage?
    Show book
  • Regency Romance: The Duke’s Dark Secret (Truth & Lies) (CLEAN Historical Regency Romance) - cover

    Regency Romance: The Duke’s Dark...

    Jessie Bennett

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A Lady dying for love. A marriage of convenience. A selfish father. A Duke's dark secret. Will she gets to marry the man of her dreams? 
     
    Only $0.99 for a very LIMITED TIME OFFER only. 
     
    She never wanted to feel ignored by her father, sent away to live with her aunt. 
     
    The man she loves believes her absurd, the type of woman no man should be forced to marry. 
     
    Beautiful Jessica Davenport loves her Aunt Georgette—who mostly raised her—and her father, successful businessman Maxwell Davenport, but she often feels alone in the world. On her twentieth birthday, her father makes a surprise appearance, one that could make or break her chance to marry Benedict Percy, the love of her life. However, nothing goes according to plan and her heartbreak could be just the catalyst for a new life, if only she can overcome the grief and depression. 
     
    To make things worse, her father has now promised her in marriage to the aloof but handsome Duke Alexander…and promised her again to the abhorrent Marquess Elliott. How could she marry twice? What scheme could they possibly have that involved two weddings? Jessica is distraught—she must get to the bottom of this quickly, because more than her reputation is at stake now! 
     
    Will Jessica find the right man at the right time—and will he love her despite her differences from the average genteel, well-rounded, but dull females amongst the peerage? 
     
    Can Alexander find a way to change his mind, and his heart, concerning the woman that he’s been forced to marry? 
     
    This is a clean historical regency romance novel.
    Show book
  • Loving the Marquess - Landing a Lord #1 - cover

    Loving the Marquess - Landing a...

    Suzanna Medeiros

    • 1
    • 18
    • 0
    She is on the verge of losing everything… 
    To save her home and keep her two younger siblings safe, Louisa Evans must turn to the head of the family that ruined hers. 
    He needs an heir… 
    The Marquess of Overlea is starting to show signs of having inherited the same illness that killed his father and older brother. To prevent the marquisate from falling into the hands of an unscrupulous cousin, Overlea must secure an heir before that illness also claims him. 
    But he is determined not to be the father of that heir… 
    Overlea’s plan is simple—marry the practical, yet desperate, Miss Evans and hold Louisa to her promise to provide him with an heir. But he waits until after they are married to tell his wife that he intends to have another man father that heir. His careful plan becomes complicated by an almost desperate need to claim Louisa for himself and an outside threat that proves even more dangerous than his illness.
    Show book
  • For All Eternity - cover

    For All Eternity

    Heather Cullman

    • 2
    • 14
    • 0
    Desperate circumstances force a willful Regency heiress to become a servant at a grand country estate, where she finds herself in the employ of the nobleman she once scorned  With all of London at her feet, Sophie Barrington could have any man she desires. But the pampered heiress is in love with the foppish Julian, Lord Oxley, and is completely uninterested in the man her family is pressuring her to wed—Nicholas Somerville, the wealthy Earl of Lyndhurst. Then she discovers why her family is so set on Nicholas: She’s penniless. She must either marry the odious Lord Lyndhurst or face debtor’s prison. A clever scheme to save herself erupts in scandal, forcing her to flee town.   Nicholas always imagined that the wife he chose would possess sense and sensibility. Instead, he finds himself courting a spoiled society chit who’s far too beautiful for her own good. When Sophie publicly humiliates him, Nicholas returns to his ancestral manor to regroup. There he discovers that the newest servant at Hawksbury Manor is the object of his desire—and mortification—and he plots to pay her back.   Witty, sensual, and filled with powerful emotion, For All Eternity is romance at its most beguiling.  
    Show book
  • The Determined Bachelor - A Regency Classic - cover

    The Determined Bachelor - A...

    Judith Harkness

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A COUNTERFEIT GOVERNESSAnne Calder was a headstrong young woman bent on earning her own living as novelist, preferably in London. Before she could follow her first successful book with a second, however, Anne had to find an entree into London society. And what better method than to assume the guise of a governess and secure employment with Sir Basil Ives, the noted statesman and diplomat? Chaperoning his ward allowed Anne to mingle with the upper crust while closely observing Sir Basil himself. Handsome, arrogant, icily formal, and sought after by every London hostess, Sir Basil would make a perfect character for her next novel…But Anne's amusing little masquerade soon became a more serious affair as she fell under the spell of Sir Basil, who, as everyone knew, was not the marrying kind...Fans of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer will delight in the reissue of another classic Regency Romance by Judith Harkness. With a light touch and witty eye for human foibles, Harkness paints the fashionable world of Regency England, when styles were dictated by Beau Brummel, the Duchess of Devonshire held court, and dandies paraded in their phaetons and four. Groomed by their mamas to capture the hearts of the most eligible bachelors of the day, fashionable young ladies passed the Season at Bath, where they were presented at the Assembly Rooms in all their finery and feathers. Brimming with period detail, The Determined Bachelor will delight readers craving a good, old-fashioned romantic story in the tradition of Pride and Prejudice.Judith Harkness is the author of five classic Regency Romances: The Montague Scandal, The Admiral’s Daughter, The Determined Bachelor, Contrary Cousins, and Lady Charlotte’s Ruse, all originally published by Signet. She is the co-author of a screenplay, EMMA in New York, an updated version of the classic Jane Austen novel set in contemporary Manhattan. As J.H. Richardson, she writes non-fiction on subjects ranging from children with learning and developmental issues to profiles of notable creative artists. She lives in Rhode Island with her husband, Will Taft.Jane Austen Alert!—Carla Sarett, Ph.D. Radnor, PA . Author, “Nine Romantic Stories.”
    Show book
  • The Alexandrian Embassy - cover

    The Alexandrian Embassy

    Robert Fabbri

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Rome, AD 39: Rome. Marcus Salvius Magnus, leader of the Crossroads Brotherhood, is buying a dangerous cargo of illegal weaponry. When a deal which will ensure Magnus's dominance over Rome's criminal underworld goes sour, Magnus must regain the shipment by any means necessary... 
    As the rival West Viminal Brotherhood threatens his whole operation, Magnus fights to outwit his opponents whilst juggling the threat of the law and the demands of his patron. With enemies, plots and intrigue on all sides, can Magnus manage to evade death long enough to emerge victorious? 
    A VESPASIAN NOVELLA
    Show book